View from the 18th tee at Talamore Golf Resort
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
521 Reviews (521)
5 Stars
326
4 Stars
144
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
9
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.5
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
94.9%
Recommend this course
485 out of 521 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
36 Reviews (36)
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.7
91.7%
Recommend this course
33 out of 36 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
90 Reviews (90)
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.7
93.3%
Recommend this course
84 out of 90 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Resort
Par 71
Length 6840 yards
Slope 132
Rating 72.4
Book a Tee Time at
Talamore Golf Resort
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1991
Fairways Champion Bermuda Grass
Greens Champion Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Rees Jones (1991) Greg Muirhead (1991) Shapemasters (2016)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker No
Caddies No
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

Reviews

4.6
521 Reviews (521)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
19th Hole Scenic Views 8
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 37
Elevation Changes 37
Forced Carries 24
This course/club is great for:
Locals 23
A Weekend Splurge 20
Advanced Golfers 20
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 23
Worth the Drive 23
At a Resort 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 10 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Don't skip Talamore on your trip to the NC Sandhills

No doubt Talamore is one of the Sandhills hidden gems and better values. Renovated in 2016, this Rees Jones layout is solid in every way and in excellent shape, including the year-old Champion Bermuda greens. With plenty of elevation change, doglegs and terrific bunkering (adding sod wall bunkers were part of the renovation), Talamore is a really nice championship level course that is truly playable by all levels of golfers. It’s also a great starting or ending point for any trip to this year. For those on somewhat of a budget, Talamore Golf Resort offers terrific packages that can also include Talamore’s sister course, the wonderful Mid South Club, as well as nearby gems like Mid Pines and Pine Needles, which have also been perfectly restored. In addition, those staying at the resort get free breakfast and barbecue pork dinner on Thursday evenings.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from on 10/24/2017:
Thank you for your amazing review, Mike! We appreciate your recommendation for other golfers visiting the Sandhills and your feedback from your round. Glad you enjoyed the Breakfast and BBQ, as well!
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Talamore golf Southern pines

Nice large greens that are very fast. Pretty layout. Moderate difficulty unless you go to blue tees

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/02/2022

Hello, gc1017188293. Thank you for visiting us at Talamore Golf Resort. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Central Pinehurst

Greens were very good, some dormant rough, overall a good test. No snack bar operating the day we were there, perhaps due to Easter?

Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/22/2022

Hi, rodfarmer. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Disappointing and overpriced

Very disappointed with the overall condition of the course which was supposed to be one of the best conditioned courses in the area. Tees and fairways were fine but the rough was brown and crusty and the greens had splotches on them. Layout was ok with very little water and not many memorable holes.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/08/2022

Hi, kwinegrad! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. Please know the current conditions are by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We will continue to work towards a 5-star experience and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Ok, but not again

We decided to make Talamore the high-end course this year and it definitely back fired on us. First of all, they moved our tee time back to accomodate a Women's Golf Association outing and it took us nearly three hours to play the first nine holes. Layout is ok, but the greens aren't worth what you're paying for.
The staff could certainly stand to have some customer service training as they have the biggest impact on perceived value. I got the feeling that the cart assistant out front either doesn't like his job or really didn't want to be there that day. The pro shop attendant was mildly better in that he wasn't outright rude.
I recommend a hard pass on this course as completely over-priced for the area as there are too many better options from clubs who seem to genuinely want you there.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/07/2022

Hi, Birdwell49. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are sorry to hear your customer service experience was not up to par. Please reach out to our management team at (910) 692-5884, and thanks for visiting Talamore Golf Resort. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/28/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u4602811! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great place!

Very enjoyable layout in great condition. Friendly staff and had a timeless feel. Been wanting to play for a long time and did not disappoint. Thanks!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/28/2022

Hi, u314162509157. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/28/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Brewster46! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 28
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always great

One of my favorite courses in the area. Greens are pure, and the complexes are interesting. Plus you get to see llamas!!

Pace was right on 4 hours, and we had a blast.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/23/2022

Thank you for your review, u787194556. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Talamore Golf Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

So much potential..

Played this course today after getting a hot deal tee time for $50! And lets just say, I’m glad I did because I wouldnt have been too happy if I had paid $100. I know this course can probably justify that price in the spring/summer but it was very wet and muddy today. The layout was great however and if you can snag a tee time for $50 here, I would recommend.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/23/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences, BrendanZielanski. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/18/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u000007689640! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/16/2022

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us, Brewster46. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round at Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Value!

What a treat getting to play here earlier this week, it’s February, it’s been wet and the course is still amazing, cannot wait to go back! The New bunkers are looking great and the range when completed will be fantastic.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/16/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, Mike1788491! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Good Value In Southern Pines

We live in Raleigh and have done a day trip to Talamore twice recently. On a decent winter day, this is a great value, and a fun course to play. The owner is investing in the course and facilities, and it shows. Currently, the practice range is closed as they upgrade it, but come Spring in will be nice. They are adding pot bunkers to several holes, which gives them a great look. It is a good track, with a mix of difficult holes and a few that are scoreable. If you decide to stay nearby, there are several additional great options for playing.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/27/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Kenbass! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/24/2022

Hi, u00000169127. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great time

Though the course is putting in a new driving range, so no pre-round practice, the course was is great shape for winter golf. Will go back again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/11/2022

Hello, GOlfn23. Thank you for visiting us at Talamore Golf Resort. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

First time, won’t be the last

Had first tee time of the day, course staff were great, helped me understand how to play the course a bit. Greens are the defense of this course, practice on the putting green before going out for sure! Not too much crazy about the layout but it’s challenging in shot making on approach. New pot bunkers are a great feature, avoid at all costs! Definitely a place to put on your list for the area!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/20/2022

Hi, u3011426. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 28
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Always good

The new short game area and top tracer range will be awesome. The new bunkers are fantastic with the sod faced riveting. Pace was right on four hours, and the greens were pure. My brother and dad had a great time too.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/20/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, u787194556! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 28
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Awesome day

The stay is always super friendly and happy to have you there. They are installing a new shortcake area and top tracer range, which will be awesome. The greens were super fast, and I was leaving it above the hole all day. Yikes.

The llamas were out, and my brother and dad had a great time too.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/18/2022

Your feedback is important to us, u787194556. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Best off-season experience you could have!

Played here on Valentines Day and could have asked for a better overall experience. The staff was incredible, all very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. I was the first group out and paired with another first-time visitor to the course. The conditions were great considering all the bad weather recently. Greens very well taken care of, fairways right and rough challenging but not rage inducing lol. Waited for my ride in the beautiful clubhouse and bar looking out over the course. I will definitely be back the first chance I get! Also if you get a hot now deal it feels like you’re stealing from them, this place is amazing!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/16/2022

Your feedback is important to us, AndrewC151. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Talamore Golf Resort.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Rained out

Course too wet. Golf course canceled play before I tees off.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/10/2022

Thank you for your review, u000008034273. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Talamore Golf Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby Courses
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Semi-Private
4.3939
278
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Semi-Private
4.0
3
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Private
5.0
3
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Semi-Private
3.0
4
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Resort
0.0
0
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Resort
3.326
39
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Resort
3.9250470588
37
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Private
4.6964176471
79
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Resort
3.7450941176
5
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Resort
3.6527833333
26
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Private
5.0
3
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Resort
3.75
8
Golf Packages
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $227 (USD)
ASHEVILLE, NC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations and 1 round of golf at Maggie Valley Club & Resort.
FROM $207 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
Now Reading