View from no.18 on Champions Course at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
654 Reviews (654)
5 Stars
216
4 Stars
220
3 Stars
120
2 Stars
61
1 Stars
37
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.3
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.2
66.8%
Recommend this course
469 out of 654 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.4
40 Reviews (40)
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.1
Value
2.9
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.4
55.0%
Recommend this course
22 out of 40 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.4
92 Reviews (92)
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
20
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
11
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.0
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.3
58.7%
Recommend this course
54 out of 92 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 7151 yards
Slope 140
Rating 75.1

Located north of San Diego in Carlsbad, Omni La Costa Resort & Spa is a legendary golf and wellness getaway in southern California. The resort, which opened in the 1950s, has hosted 37 elite PGA Tour events. The Champions Course features a serene setting that meanders through peaceful wetlands over landscaped bridges and rolling hills. The course underwent a significant renovation in 2011 by Steve Pate, Damian Pascuzzo and Jeff Brauer, which included four brand new holes and improved irrigation and soil for improved course conditions year-round.
Formerly known as Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - North Course

Book a Tee Time at
OMNI La Costa Resort Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1965
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Joe Lee Dick Wilson (1965) Damian Pascuzzo (2011) Steve Pate (2011) Jeff Brauer (2011)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "La Costa Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Cafe

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities, Spa

Available Activities

Swimming, Billiards

Available Sports

Tennis

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Off-course amenities in the U.S. (2017 #21)

Reviews

3.6
654 Reviews (654)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 31
19th Hole Scenic Views 24
Patio Dining 23
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 44
Water Hazards 37
Undulating Greens 31
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 26
Entertaining Clients 24
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 21
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 49
Convenient to the City 19
Worth the Drive 17

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Shelley Archibald Review

My overall experience of this course was supurb. Dustin Irwin recommended my son and I to golf at Omni La Costa. We had a great breakfast at Vue in the resort before our round. All of the staff was exemplery, from valet to starter. Every member of the La Costa staff greeted us with warm welcomes and made the experience relaxing and luxurious. The course was in excellent shape and our round of the Champions Course was perfect. I would recommend this resort and course to anyone.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/02/2017

Thanks for playing with us Shelley! Glad you enjoyed your experience and looking forward to having you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Pricey for the cost

This is a very challenging course.. Tee boxes were good. greens were a little beat up for the price. I think course maintenance has fallen since the lost the LPGA tour. I would rather spend the extra money and play Torrey Pines. Restaurant is extremely pricy. Pace of play was great because of the cost. Plan on spending some cash if you want to play the 2 courses.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/16/2022

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear your experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Good Conditions Champion Course

Played Champions yesterday. Course in good shape now. Some sand on greens, most sand bunkers are hardpan, so the irony there. Always a pretty area to play.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/17/2022

Thank you for visiting us at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/15/2022

Thank you for reviewing us. We see you rated the course 3-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve before your next round. Feel free to comment on this review or reach out to the team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course, and we hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Omni LaCosta

Played the Champions course, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Just what I expected from a premier course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/11/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/04/2022

Thank you for the awesome rating! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another great experience, and thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 21
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love Playing La Costa Champions!

Beautiful day and course is in really good condition! Greens were rolling quite well! Will definitely be back to play again!!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/08/2022

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun

Enjoyed round of golf and great starters and all friendly

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/03/2022

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course, and pride ourselves on delivering the best experience possible.

We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Just all around amazing!

Solid course with amazing EVERYTHING!
The course was beautiful and well kept.
I was most impressed with the staff.
From the valet, the clubhouse, to the bar, hands down top notch service and warm vibes from all employees.
The food at the bar was high quality and worth the money.
The resort is NICE and worth a look for spa services, shopping and dining too!
I will definitely be coming back to OMNI at La Costa.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/03/2022

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again soon. Thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course!

Played On
Reviews 7
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/04/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single-star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The service was excellent from the valet to the pro shop to Jacques the starter. The golf is in great shape. My compliments to Dustin Irwin and the entire staff at La Costa. I’ll make sure to spread the word to all my golf friends!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

We are beyond happy to hear you enjoyed a great day at our course. Positive experiences make lifelong golfers. We look forward to many good times ahead with you, and we will pass on your kind words to those responsible so they can continue to help others enjoy great experiences at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A great course!

A great course. Not to busy. Well maintained and friendly staff.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/19/2022

Thanks for the amazing review and for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course. We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 21
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love Playing La Costa Champions!

Beautiful day, and wasn’t crowded so pace of play was great! Course and greens are in good condition! Some of the bunkers lack sand so play the bounce. Will definitely be back to play again!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/06/2022

Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 0-4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Champions Course is in good condition

Despite the ambiguity of some of the recent reviews, the Champions course is in good condition. The greens may not look it, but it is rolling smooth and quick. It's bent grass so they're firm, but unlike Torrey North, rolling quick. Tee boxes can be a little rough, unless you tip it out. Fairways were a little dry, but still green and soft to hit off. Pace of play is great. Again, this is for the Champions Course!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Don't go!

Course is in terrible shape. Greens are diseased,
bumpy, slow and bad shape. Fairway doesn't have much grass and surrounding area are not well kept. It should be under $100 to play. Use to ve awesome.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. Please know the current conditions are by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We will continue to work towards a 5-star experience and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/17/2022

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit.

We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind.

Played On
Reviews 21
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love Playing La Costa Champions

Beautiful day, course was in good condition and the greens were rolling well! The greens on the Champions course are much better than Legends right now. Will definitely be back to play the Champions course again!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/22/2022

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your round at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course. Please visit us again soon!

Played On
Reviews 21
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Love Playing La Costa Legends!

Beautiful day! Course is in good condition, but the greens were in poor condition. Looks like they were recently punched, still recovering so the greens were a bit shaggy, slow and bumpy. Love the course, will be back and hopeful the greens will be in better condition next time!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/17/2022

Thanks so much for the review and for the 4 stars! The greens will be healed soon and in pristine condition. We look forward to welcoming you back to our course. Thanks for choosing Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

What Happened?

I haven't played these courses in 10 years and thought I would head out to Legends on Memorial Day. What has happened to this place? Looks like golf has taken a back seat to other amenities at the resort.
With the course conditions, this place should not be priced over some public tracks. From tee to green the place looks like Dad Miller or Willowick. Not to be critical of those courses, they are not charging 150 - 250 to play.
If you are coming to this resort for golf. Skip it, cancel the reservation and go to Ojai Valley Inn and Spa!

Way overpriced course!!

Cheers

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/03/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Your feedback helps us do better. Thank you for visiting Omni La Costa Resort & Spa - Champions Course. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Request A Vacation Quote From OMNI La Costa Resort and Spa
Please provide your information below and a staff member at OMNI La Costa Resort and Spa will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Carlsbad, California
Resort
3.6252470588
654
Carlsbad, California
Resort
1.5791666667
161
San Marcos, California
Resort
4.4023588235
468
Carlsbad, California
Public
3.5759411765
338
Carlsbad, California
Public
3.5080294118
187
Encinitas, California
Public
1.9401
38
Lake San Marcos, California
Semi-Private/Resort
3.9534705882
680
Oceanside, California
Private
0.0
0
Vista, California
Private
3.0
3
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Private
5.0
1
Oceanside, California
Private
0.0
0
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Private
5.0
1
Golf Packages
FROM $617 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, Golf Club & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at Aviara Golf Club.
FROM $437 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the OMNI La Costa Resort & Spa and 3 rounds of golf at the OMNI La Costa Golf Club (Legends & Champions Courses) & The Grand Golf Club.
FROM $617 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 4 nights’ accommodations at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar and 3 rounds of golf at The Grand Golf Club, Maderas Golf Club, and Aviara Golf Club.
FROM $437 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 6 total nights' accommodations at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar (3 nights) and Silverado Resort (3 nights), along with 4 rounds of golf at The Grand Golf Club, Aviara Golf Club, and Silverado Resort (North & South Courses).
FROM $557 (USD)
ORANGE COUNTY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at the Waldorf-Astoria Monarch Beach and 2 rounds of golf at Monarch Beach Golf Links.
Now Reading