GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
776 Reviews (776)
5 Stars
520
4 Stars
176
3 Stars
51
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
10
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
89.3%
Recommend this course
706 out of 776 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
60 Reviews (60)
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.8
Value
3.8
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.5
80.0%
Recommend this course
48 out of 60 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
147 Reviews (147)
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.0
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.7
85.0%
Recommend this course
125 out of 147 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort/Semi-Private
Style Desert
Par 71
Length 6917 yards
Slope 142
Rating 72.9

The Boulders Golf Club & Resort complex features two outstanding 18-hole courses. Both courses are very well maintained, and the scenery is incredible. Boulder's South Course is exactly the type of desert course people come to the Phoenix-Scottsdale resort corridor to play. A round of golf on the South kicks off on the par-4 first hole, which measures 421 yards from the blue tees, which is quickly followed by a short par 3, measuring 150 yards from the blue tees. Things get long on the fifth hole, a 545-yard par 5, which is just a warm-up for the 11th hole, a par 5 that measures 601 yards from the blue tees. It doesn't get much easier to finish: The 18th is a par 5 that measures 513 yards from the blue tees.

Book a Tee Time at
The Boulders Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1984
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jay Morrish (1986) Jay Morrish (1991)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes - "Boulders Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt required, no denim

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Spa

Available Activities

Swimming, Billiards

Available Sports

Fitness, Tennis

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
776 Reviews (776)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 34
Patio Dining 16
19th Hole Scenic Views 14
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 85
Forced Carries 61
Undulating Greens 52
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 84
Advanced Golfers 64
A Weekend Splurge 62
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 81
At a Resort 72
In the 'Burbs 31

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Top Five

Its evident the first time you step on the tee, you are at a special place. This is simply in my top five that includes Pebble Beach, Firestone, Ocean Course, Whistling Straits, and Prairie Dunes. South Course is vastly superior in design and beauty to the North. As they switch on alternative dates, just make sure you time it right.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Boulders

Great day , not easy be prepared to lose a ball,saw bunnies,bobcat and quail
A great day
Cart guys not very respectful of lefthanders....joking

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great golf experience

a beautiful and challenging Desert course.excellent accommodating staff. A real class operation.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/21/2022

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Glad you enjoy the round. See you again soon

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice layout but pace was an issue.

Our tee time was 12:40 and we finished at 5:25. 4:45 can’t be the normal pace.

Greens condition were not as nice as I was expecting for an upscale course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/14/2022

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We would like to apologize for the course conditions. Looking forward to you giving The Boulders a second chance. Hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 23
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

North Course

We played the South Course before and enjoyed the layout and scenery a lot better than North course. The putting greens was not as good as expected. Overall, it is a nice golf club.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/12/2022

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Glad you enjoy the round. See you again soon

Played On
Reviews 13
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 26
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Played On
Reviews 26
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the price

Lots of pitch marks on the green.
Couple quirky holes.
Worth playing the south course one time.
No need to play here multiple times.
Stayed at the resort, and booked on here.
Multiple people told me the south course is better so I didn’t bother to play the north.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/20/2021

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We would like to apologize for the course conditions and staffing not living up to your expectations. Please contact the Head Golf professional Dean Ballard to further discuss. Looking forward to you giving The Boulders a second chance. Hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always a good play

I read some of the previous reviews of the course that it was not in that great of shape. I have played this course in the past and it is definitely not as good as it used to be. I know they had some trouble in the summer with some sort of grass growing in apparently.
The Superintendent's job is maybe on the line the way he tore a strip off of me when I was parked on the wrong side of the cart directional signs well over 100 yards from the green. In my defense they were cart directional signs, not "no carts" signs. A friendly reminder would have been better than the way he interacted with me.
I do love this course and will be back in the future, the Superintendent might not be....

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/20/2021

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We would like to apologize for the course conditions. Looking forward to you giving The Boulders a second chance. Hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Horrible

I have played this course multiple times and it has been great in the past. This time it was absolutely horrible bunkers were like hitting off of concrete every green on every hole was in terrible condition and not to mention the staff was rude from start to finish. Wish I could write a better review because the views are great! I will never be playing here again wish I could get my money back!

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/15/2021

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We would like to apologize for the course conditions and staffing not living up to your expectations. Please contact the Head Golf professional Dean Ballard to further discuss. Looking forward to you giving The Boulders a second chance. Hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 29
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Boulders North

Even though they are getting ready to over seed the course it was very good condition. Like most courses the bunkers needed work & golfers still don't think they leave ball marks. Always enjoy the challenge & sights at the Boulders. Staff was very friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/06/2021

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Glad you enjoy the round. See you again soon

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Wild life

Course was fun. Some blind shots especially for a first time playing this course. Little upgrades are being done so couldn’t use putting green and very wet greens in the morning. A few sand traps had only mud in them. The wildlife was great! Coyotes, snakes, hawks, found a deer hoof on fairway and a dead bobcat by a green. If the greens were consistent speed I would give a 5 star..

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/01/2021

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Glad you enjoy the round. See you again soon

Nearby Courses
Carefree, Arizona
Resort/Semi-Private
4.4873529412
776
Scottsdale, Arizona
Private
5.0
1
Scottsdale, Arizona
Private
5.0
1
Scottsdale, Arizona
Private
5.0
1
Carefree, Arizona
Private
5.0
2
Scottsdale, Arizona
Public
4.4240529412
996
Scottsdale, Arizona
Private
4.5
2
Cave Creek, Arizona
Semi-Private
4.3301058824
1324
Scottsdale, Arizona
Private
5.0
1
Scottsdale, Arizona
Semi-Private
4.5050235294
755
Scottsdale, Arizona
Semi-Private
4.5050235294
755
Golf Packages
FROM $277 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at The Boulders Resort & Spa and 3 rounds of golf at Troon North Golf Club Pinnacle Course, The Boulders South Course and North Course.
FROM $197 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at a Private Condo or House Rental and 4 rounds of golf at Troon North Golf Club, Eagle Mountain Golf Club, Longbow Golf Club & Boulders Golf Club.
FROM $187 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations in a Private Condo or Home rental and 4 rounds of golf at Troon North Golf Club, Westin Kierland Golf Club, The Phoenician Golf Club and Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club.
$69,750 (USD)
SCOTTSDALE, AZ | This exclusive golf experience includes a 3 nights's stay at Four Seasons Troon North, 2 rounds of golf at Troon North Golf Club and a day with Colin Montgomerie.
FROM $357 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Four Seasons - Scottsdale and 3 rounds of golf at Troon North Golf Club, Boulders Golf Club and Quintero Golf Club.
Now Reading