A view from a tee at Stonewall Golf Club from Lake Manassas.
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
756 Reviews (756)
5 Stars
435
4 Stars
241
3 Stars
50
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
14
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.3
94.7%
Recommend this course
704 out of 756 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
121 Reviews (121)
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Pace
3.8
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
95.0%
Recommend this course
115 out of 121 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
200 Reviews (200)
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
69
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
96.5%
Recommend this course
193 out of 200 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7002 yards
Slope 145
Rating 73.8
Book a Tee Time at
Stonewall Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tom Jackson (2001)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, MC, AMEX
Dress code No Denim, Collared Shirt And Bermuda Shorts Required

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
756 Reviews (756)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 10
19th Hole Scenic Views 9
Dinner 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 19
Water Hazards 15
Thick Rough 12
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 15
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 14
A Weekend Splurge 10
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 13
Worth the Drive 13

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 25 Contributor
Virginia Advisor
Previously Played
Used cart

A Very Pretty Course…

While there are better values to be had in Northern Virginia golf, there’s no disputing Stonewall Golf Club is a beautiful course.

The layout and location is the selling point here, with multiple holes having great views of Lake Manassas. You can even see glimpses of its prestigious neighbor, Robert Trent Jones Golf Club. Stonewall’s layout meanders through the woods and along the shoreline with a wide variety of holes. Some very narrow holes are often followed by some wide open ones but be sure to bring plenty of balls with you. Between the water hazards, the woods, the adjacent houses and the thick rough, you’re likely to lose a few or more during your round.

The course conditions are excellent with smooth, rolling fairways, soft tee boxes, groomed bunkers, and fast greens. The course was still a bit soggy when I played and was cart-path only and there were signs of heavy use on the green. The slow pace of the day at least gave me ample time to repair several ball marks.

There’s a full staff on hand (the beverage cart girl was very attentive although the young starter was having a bit of an off day not knowing who was out and who was waiting) and the facilities at Stonewall are what you’d expect for a premium club that charges over $100 a round. I paid $70 for a twilight rate and even in early September, there’s not much of a window if you want to pay less than triple digits and get 18 holes in. It was a 5-hour round on the dot for me, but I’m sure the cart-path-only had a lot to do with it.

Overall, Stonewall is a great course if you can afford it. The course conditions are exponentially better than nearby Virginia Oaks but you certainly pay for what you get.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/28/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 12
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/25/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Stonewall Golf Club at Lake Manassas.

Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Amazingly Beautiful

I played this course for the 1st time yesterday. The course was in fantastic conditions with some of the best fairways I have ever played on. The staff both inside and out were friendly and courteous, The course was quite challenging but very fun to play. The layout as well as scenery was breathtaking. I spent more time admiring the houses on the course than I did looking for my shanked shot. I would definitely recommend this course. I drove an hour to get here but will be back again. A+++

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/12/2022

Thank you for your review. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Stonewall Golf Club at Lake Manassas. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 28
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Round

The course was in great shape, the staff was helpful and friendly, and it was priced right.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/08/2022

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 6
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/08/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/14/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/07/2022

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round at Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/01/2022

We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share your favorite part of your experience and what we can do to earn that last star! Thanks for golfing at Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pretty course but too slow

I love this course, has a pretty layout and a well kept course but you can't finish it if you go out in the afternoon because of the traffic no matter hao fast you play. . You should give more intervals between the tee time. Also, the starters never know what the pin position is that day.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/08/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Review

Course is in great condition and the staff is very helpful.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/01/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Stonewall Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/30/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club at Lake Manassas!

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

October Golf

What a gem. The grounds were magnificent. The pace of play was slowed down by a passing thunderstorm. But for October it was in great shape. Give this place a try.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/28/2022

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/28/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/28/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/27/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single-star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Aeration yhis week, front closed and back aerated last week

We had to play the back twice and it was just punched a couple days earlier. I like the course and usually its a good track to play, I just hate playing the same 9 twice and it being newly punched.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/28/2022

Hello. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course. We work hard to maintain the course for everyone's benefit, which means aerifying the greens as part of our regular maintenance schedule and keeping them in pristine condition. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Layout/Terrible Service

I have played at Stonewall more than ten times. The observations here are consistent with all of my experiences there. The course is a very good layout that generally is in very good condition for a public course. It is definitely worth playing. But be prepared for TERRIBLE service. It starts at the bag drop. I have never been met there or offered assistance moving my clubs to the area where you can get a cart. And it continues. I have never been told what the pin placement is on the course. If you don't ask for range balls, they will not be offered (although they are included in the price). When you finish the round, no one will offer to clean your clubs or help carry them to the bag drop. There always are a number of young employees milling around outside the clubhouse, but from what I can tell, they sit around looking at their cell phones and get paid for doing nothing. It's unprofessional and disappointing. Yet, it is the same every time I play there.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Pace of Play and Aeration

1. The foursome ahead of ours was convinced it was the only group on the course, and took forever to play each shot. There were no groups in front of it, and no marshals to tell them to speed up or allow others to play through.
2. The back nine was closed due to aeration, which is fine, but we didn't learn this until we saw the "Closed" sign on the path to the 10th tee. They did not tell us this while checking in at the pro shop, nor include this information on the website while making the reservation. Utterly poor communication by the staff and management.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your business. We will pass along your experience and feedback to our team. Thanks for choosing Stonewall Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First Visit

Snack bar was closed so that was a disappointment as we had a 12:30 tee time and we’re hoping to get something to eat before we went out.

The threesome in front of us routinely hit two and three balls per golfer off the tee so it would’ve been nice if a marshal had come around to speed them up.

I liked the course layout and it was in pretty good shape for mid October. If the course was closer to me I would play it more often.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/20/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Stonewall Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

One of the best in NoVa

Stonewall is one of my favorite courses in Northern Virginia. Great layout and always in top shape. Worth the hour drive from Stafford every time.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2022

Thank you for your review. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Stonewall Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby Courses
Gainesville, Virginia
Private
5.0
2
Nokesville, Virginia
Public
4.2446705882
341
Gainesville, Virginia
Private
5.0
1
Haymarket, Virginia
Private
4.6667
3
Haymarket, Virginia
Private
5.0
2
Haymarket, Virginia
Private/Resort
0.0
0
Haymarket, Virginia
Public
4.4506647059
698
Bristow, Virginia
Public
4.2634857143
100
Haymarket, Virginia
Private/Resort
5.0
1
Bristow, Virginia
Semi-Private
4.2244647059
821
South Riding, Virginia
Semi-Private
3.4137058824
521
Centreville, Virginia
Private
4.6190571429
4
Golf Packages
FROM $247 (USD)
LEESBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Lansdowne Resort and 2 rounds of golf at The Golf Club at Lansdowne - Greg Norman & Robert Trent Jones Jr. courses.
FROM $217 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection and 2 rounds of golf at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club - Gold & Green Courses.
FROM $247 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
FROM $447 (USD)
HOT SPRINGS | Experience the ultimate Buddy Golf Captains getaway at the iconic Omni Homestead Resort, September 30 - October 2.
FROM $197 (USD)
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Seaview, A Dolce Hotel and 2 rounds of golf at Seaview Golf Club - Bay & Pines Courses.
Now Reading