A view from Windy Knoll Golf Club.
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
408 Reviews (408)
5 Stars
238
4 Stars
138
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.5
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.0
93.7%
Recommend this course
383 out of 408 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.6
100.0%
Recommend this course
16 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
47 Reviews (47)
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.5
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.5
93.6%
Recommend this course
44 out of 47 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Links
Par 71
Length 6834 yards
Slope 135
Rating 73.2

Windy Knoll Golf Club is known among locals as being one of Springfield's best public golf courses. The course was built in 2001, though you would not be able to tell from its traditional links design. It manages to be a classic links golf course while still being a challenge. The site was originally a horse farm and the design incorporates some of the features from the terrain's former use. Water hazards come into play frequently throughout the golf course and there are trees and rough lining the fairways. Golfers will find many risk-reward opportunities on the course, one good example being the par-4 eighth. This hole plays into the prevailing wind and if you miss your drive, you may find yourself in one of the eight bunkers surrounding the undulating green.

Book a Tee Time at
Windy Knoll Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Architect Brian Huntley (2001)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "The Down Under Par Golf Academy at Windy Knoll"
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire must be worn at all times in The Stables, on the golf course, and on the practice facilities. T-shirts, bathing attire, gym and tennis shorts, cut-offs, short shorts, tank tops, halter tops and other similar dress are not permitted.

Food & Beverage

Snacks, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
408 Reviews (408)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
19th Hole Scenic Views 7
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 21
Bunkers 19
Undulating Greens 17
This course/club is great for:
Locals 14
Advanced Golfers 13
A Weekend Splurge 10
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 19
Convenient to the City 16
Near Local Attractions 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day in the links !!!

Windy Knoll is a beautiful links style course. The course is in great condition for this early in the year. The sand traps were all raked and in good condition ( unfortunately I was in them more than I wanted to be). The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The rate of play was very good. It has a nice facility if you care for a beverage or food after your game.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/16/2022

Hi, u000004249970. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/11/2022

Hi, scramer54. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sun… no, it’s Friday

Pro shop was very flexible and friendly. Course had interesting undulating fairways, doglegs definitely make you think about club selection. Has a great Friday with friends! Definitely enjoyed the course!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/27/2022

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, u269568368. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again soon. Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 20
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2022

Hi, adamgolf12. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Windy Knoll Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you on the course soon for another 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 62
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor

Must play

If you haven’t played Windy Knoll you are missing out

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/16/2022

Hi, KirkDI. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 17
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/16/2022

Hi, DougFig13. We would love to hear more about your 4-star experience on our course. Please tell us what we can do to earn that last star, and thanks for golfing at Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/07/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The course looks great!

Tee boxes, fairways and greens all beautiful, and in great shape! Price was very good this level of course and condition. Will play again here for sure.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/15/2022

We are so happy you enjoyed your round, jmcgee84! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice surprise

Excellent greens. The holes themselves are cut as sharply as I've seen on a public course. Nice clean edges. Only negative was the snack bar was closed and we played a morning round. Fun layout.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/31/2022

Hello, JTS58. Thank you for visiting us at Windy Knoll Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Back nine is always an issue. Foursomes taking 30 min at the turn then you have 5 groups backed up on 10. Has happened repeatedly.

Nice course just lacking some course management and amenities. The ranger is there for free golf.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Windy Knoll

We were delayed by two and a half hours after very heavy rains and wind, but the course was in great shape. We’ll be playing here again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

Hello, Deedygirl. Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at Windy Knoll Golf Club. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/02/2022

Hello Ohioson93. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating! We really appreciate your business. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future to earn that last star and thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Windy Knoll

Good condition. Good layout. Nice place for a beer afterwords.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

Kcannon, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Windy Knoll

The course really, really needs to get the geese under control. Holes number 1 and number 5 are a mess. Also did not care for the fact that carts are no longer allowed in the parking lot

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/21/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us, jmcelroy. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting Windy Knoll Golf Club, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/18/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences, ssmith5759. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 96
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Lovely day at windy knoll

Along with a friend and an excellent early rate and time from golfnow, we ventured to windy knoll for a morning of great weather golf. We were pleasantly surprised to see that WK continues to look after their course. The greens were excellent and tee boxes we’ll laid out. I cannot believe I am saying this but they have left the heather grow so that the course truly resembles a links style of course which is the upside. The downside is if you hit an errant shot you are severely punished by losing your ball in the heather, which is impossible to find it is so thick with undergrowth. But, that is the way it should be. The greens were fast and play moved right along. Worth the 45 minute drive at $4.50/ gallon of gas.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/06/2022

Hello, Dan6813388. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the pristine course conditions. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it's very satisfying to hear from golfers like you who appreciate our efforts. We will inform the entire team so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2022

Hi, OSU4JR. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at Windy Knoll Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 2
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Amenities poor

By stopping players from going to there car because some people would carry on coolers stopped everyone, and there restrooms on the course, there wasn’t any, or should I say all out of order for weeks, if that’s true then I’m would of bought in port- e -pots, I don’t plan on playing this course again unless amenities improve, too
Many nice course around to put up with all windy knolls lack of serves

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/06/2022

Hi, garysizemore. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Amenies

There is no restroom in working order on the whole course, although we rented a cart we had to carry our bags from the parking lot to the cart, the parking lot was block so we couldn’t take the cart to the car, was told it’s to keep people from carrying coolers on to the course , I asked how much was a beer and was told, $3.75, I didn’t buy any, too high of price, I wish I could of bought a gatorade or a water but was afraid to ask what the price was, I don’t drink beer anymore, there too many courses around here to put up with this, I’m going back to read, woodland, Lakeland, liberty hills, and I’m sure I’ll try other courses but I won’t be back to windy knol, didn’t have a good time, felt like I was being watched, not for me

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/30/2022

Hello, garysizemore. Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear your experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course Design

Wow, this course is designed really well. Even when there aren't trees, they use some higher grass to really frame each hole. The greens were smooth and rolled well. We were paired with another duo which was fine because it was a foursome pace all day on Father's Day.

My friend and I were really impressed and definitely want to play here again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/24/2022

Your feedback is important to us, bassplayer7770. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Windy Knoll Golf Club.

Nearby Courses
Springfield, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Springfield, Ohio
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Springfield, Ohio
Public
4.3995470588
157
Springfield, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Springfield, Ohio
Public
4.1634058824
120
Springfield, Ohio
Public
3.0
3
South Charleston, Ohio
Public
4.9074
10
Springfield, Ohio
Public
4.0952
42
Springfield, Ohio
Public
4.0952
42
New Carlisle, Ohio
Public
1.46795
183
Urbana, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Saint Paris, Ohio
Public
3.9881
82
Golf Packages
FROM $167 (USD)
WHEELING | Enjoy 3 nights’ accommodations at Oglebay Resort’s Wilson Lodge and 2 rounds of golf at Oglebay Resort – Palmer & Jones Courses.
Now Reading