Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
311 Reviews (311)
5 Stars
226
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.6
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.0
96.2%
Recommend this course
300 out of 311 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
47 Reviews (47)
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.6
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.6
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.6
97.9%
Recommend this course
46 out of 47 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
65 Reviews (65)
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.6
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.6
95.4%
Recommend this course
62 out of 65 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6998 yards
Slope 136
Rating 74.1
Book a Tee Time at
Bear Slide Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1989
Golf Season Open: 3/01 Closed: 12/23
Architect Dean Refram

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

Reviews

4.7
311 Reviews (311)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 18
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 35
Water Hazards 33
Thick Rough 31
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 41
Locals 31
A Weekend Splurge 23
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 39
In the 'Burbs 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Excellent shape

The service and snack bar are very well managed and efficient. The course itself is always in tip top shape. Regardless if your are in the middle of a 60 consecutive day drought, or it is raining, or you are playing in late November, their maintenance staff makes the course perfect every time. The also have an excellent green fee for seniors. I play all over central Indiana and Bear Slide rates up there with the best.

Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/30/2020

Hi, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We greatly appreciate your kind words and will make sure to inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2020

Hello, Wade. Thanks for the review. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Bear Slide Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Love this place!

I've played here for years. The staff, course & beauty speaks volumes! Mark Wisman is the PRO such a great professional, he will help in any way from a simple lesson to planning an event outing for 100+ After playing here, if you"re bot impressed, chances are, nothing will!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/28/2020

Hi, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 22
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

This course has great layout.

Was a fun course to play. The only draw back was when we checked in, we were informed it was cart path only and greens were recently aerated. Unfortunate for us, because this course is truely a BEAR under these conditions Course was wet, causing the course to play longer, and requiring a lot more waking then if we would have had a pull cart. The course was in excellent condition except for being wet and recently aerated, has a great layout and was fun to play. Look forward to play it again when course conditions are dryer and green are normal.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2020

Hi, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will make sure to inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Bear Slide Golf Club!

Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/25/2020

2.5 inches of rain overnight does sorta causes wet conditions which is why there were very few mowers and other equipment out. It is aeration season at courses all over as well.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great Course

We went on a very raining morning and the course was still in great shape. There were a few wet spots obviously but that can’t be helped with the amount of rain the night before.

The course conditions were still amazing and the combination of a great layout, elevation change, and some tricky hazards really made for a wonderful round of golf.

I highly recommend this course to anyone and will most certainly be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/20/2020

Hi, we appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/19/2020

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us! Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round!

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

No discount after aerification

I realize that it's the time of the year for aerification and top-dressing, but when we were charged $75 per player when we booked online, I thought maybe they had not started theirs yet. We were very disappointed to pay a premium price for less than premium conditions.

I have always been a huge fan of this course and the variety of holes it offers; just disappointed that the first timers in my group did not have the opportunity to experience the table greens it usually has to offer. I don't know of a course that doesn't offer discounts immediately following aerification.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/27/2020

Hi William. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim to provide our golfers nothing short of a 5-star experience, so we always welcome your feedback for improvement. Please be advised that we will use your comments to make the necessary changes. Thank you for playing Bear Slide Golf Club. We hope you'll join us again for another round again soon!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/22/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Must Play

The course could use a Marshall. We waited on every shot. There were at least two holes open ahead of the group in front of us. Except for that, it was a very enjoyable round. All the staff we interacted with was great. I played the course five years ago and it is every bit as nice now as it was then. I would absolutely recommend this course to the better than average golfers.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/06/2020

Hi Ron. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course was generally in good shape, but Very wet in some places. Need to work on their drainage in some fairways.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2020

You played Monday. After letting the course dry down for a tournament over the weekend the fairways got extra water Monday morning. Isaac Newton called it gravity. Knobs very dry as water runs down hill making lower spots wet. Even more difficult during a DROUGHT. Sprinklers turn in circles thus not providing even coverage.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2020

Hi Stu. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Bear Slide Golf Club and we hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/30/2020

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Beautiful Course

It is a scenic course in excellent condition, especially at this time of year. Extremely challenging; a shot makers course. The layout of the back nine is very contrived. It seems like they really struggled with the topography.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/30/2020

Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/21/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating of us! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/30/2020

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round!

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

One of the Best Courses in Central Indiana

This course is just perfection. Wonderful links style front nine with a back nine that's more of what you would see in America.

It's well-maintained. Pace of play is excellent. Overall one of the best courses to play in Central Indiana.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/29/2020

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/17/2020

The course has a great layout with great sight lines which test every club in the bag. Must hit fairways and greens or pay the price. Greens were in pretty good shape that rolled with great pace. Enjoyed the round and will be back.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/17/2020

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us! Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round!

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/21/2020

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us! Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round!

Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Walked

Bear Slide still a gem

Not sure I've ever seen the fairways in as pristine shape as today. Greens soft . . . maybe too much so? Regardless, this is my favorite piece of property in the state of IN. Walking in mid to upper 80s was a workout but we were ready for it. The closing holes were the tough stretch to walk.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/11/2020

Thanks for the great feedback. The crew really appreciates when I pass the comments along. Have to water a little heavier sometimes as our college and high school kids are gone. Not enough staff to back off on the water and drag hoses to hit the dry knobs etc. like we can when in the summer.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/09/2020

Hi, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Bear Slide Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Walked

Beautiful course

Love this course set up with the front nine a links style course to the back side like a western (US) golf course. Plenty of tee options for the difficulty level you would like. Greens and fairways in great condition. Even in the world of covid the bunkers were in great condition.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/09/2020

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Request A Vacation Quote From Hamilton County
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Hamilton County will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Noblesville, Indiana
Private
0.0
0
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
3.3362857143
114
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
3.3362857143
114
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
3.3362857143
114
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
4.1482941176
169
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
4.5
4
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
4.0179176471
198
Westfield, Indiana
Semi-Private
4.3571428571
3
Noblesville, Indiana
Public
4.4245588235
238
Westfield, Indiana
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Noblesville, Indiana
Semi-Private
3.2142857143
5

Stay & Play Offers

From $219
Valid dates: Apr 01, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
Bring your game and Make it Grand when you stay on the Stay and Play Golf package. Experience The Brute, a stunning 7,300-yard American classic or The Highlands, a picturesque landscape of scenic hills, trickling creeks and lush foliage.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE