3800 Airline Highway, Hollister, California 95023, US
(831) 637-8151
Location Map

About Ridgemark Golf Club & Resort

The Ridgemark Golf Club and Resort is 40 minutes from both San Jose and Monterey, hidden between the mountains and foothills of the Gabilan and Diable ranges. The 32-room boutique lodge features rooms with patios, fridges and microwaves. The Ridgemark Bar & Grill in the clubhouse serves meals all day long, including woodfired pizzas and prime rib specials. 

Facts

Price Range$$
Property Class★★★
Year Opened1974
Number of UnitsLess than 100

Amenities & Services

RestaurantsCasual
Room TypesRoom
Practice FacilityYes
Banquet SpaceYes

Rules

Is the resort pet friendly?Yes
Is resort stay required for a tee time?No

Golf courses at Ridgemark Golf Club & Resort

Reviews

2.9
242 Reviews (242)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 24
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Ridgemark Golf Course

I had fun playing golf there. I had to zip out to the tee quickly because the pro was nice enough to get me going before two foursomes. So it took me two holes to get warm. The round was nice had to wait for some people in front of me that I caught up to but very nicely on several occasions they all let me play threw. Very nice golfing people out there. I had some tremendous shot on 17 my second shot I hammered with a 7 wood believe or not. It looked like it when to the left over and off the green from where I was just in front of the 200 marker. When I got up to the green WOW there my ball was 6 inches from the hole.Tap in for birdie :). A good day out there and some really well read green putts as well.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from on 07/27/2017:
Hello Scott, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ridgemark Golf & Country Club in the San Francisco area. We are sorry to see that the course may have not been in the best shape when you played. It looks like you had a great experience with our staff and that you had a smooth round, so we are happy to see that. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 08/02/2017:
Hi Janet, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Ridgemark Golf & Country Club Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff, layout and the pace of play. We hope to see you again soon in the Hollister area.
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from on 06/09/2017:
Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and rating our course. We regret to hear the overall experience you received was less than enjoyable. We strive to enhance the quality of golf we offer to our community and hope to have you back soon to exceed expectations. Thank you for stopping by Ridgemark Golf & Country Club and have a great day!
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Hard to see the deterioration

This used to be a great place to play. Now it's average at best. Greens we're okay but fairways we're terrible.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from on 06/05/2017:
Hello Steven, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course. We are sorry to hear about your subpar experience at our golf course. We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to earn your business again.
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course! Sure would of liked it if they kept the other 18 hole course. I enjoy playing at Ridgmark

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great shape!

The course is in great shape from all the rain. Try to play this course while the fairways are still green.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

I wish...

I wish that it was back to 2 courses and they bring back all of the really good and fun holes. Also snack shake is only open on weekends and there is no beverage cart, not good. But you get the vest bang for your buck.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 94
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
San Francisco Advisor
First Time Playing

Better than a muni but definitely not a "Resort" course

Think of Ridgemark as a muni course. If you go there thinking it's a resort course you will be disappointed. However, if you arrive with the mindset you're about to play a muni course then you'll enjoy the experience. I was surprised at how nice the greens were. They rolled smooth and true. The greens are definitely the best part of the course (condition wise).

Fairways are average and tee boxes are a little less than that. Sand traps are horrible.

Now for the course layout. I would like to preface this by saying that I had NO control of my driver today so I'm trying to take that into consideration. I never played here when it was a 2 course layout so I can't comment on which holes were good and which ones weren't.

The track has a decent mix of dog leg right and lefts to make you work (or try to) your ball in both directions. Landing areas are decent with only a few fairway traps to get in the way. The fairway bunkers looked fairly easily to escape from.

I was a bit disappointed that on two of the par 5's I needed to lay up off the tee in order to avoid a ditch/gully/hazard . I thoroughly enjoy a second shot that teases you with a go for it or lay up hazard but I want to grip it and rip it off the tee (not that that was happening today anyway). Also 3 of the 4 par 3's are highbred length holes.

Overall it's a decent "muni" quality course with above average greens.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from on 05/24/2017:
Hi Alex, thank you for the valuable feedback and for rating our course. We regret to hear that the course conditions in general during your round were not enjoyable. We will pass this information along to the appropriate team in order to make improvements moving forward for future golfers. We take pride in offering each golfer a unique and quality experience each visit and we strive to enhance our course whenever we can. We thank you for the valuable feedback and support and hope to see you back again soon here at Ridgemark Golf & Country Club Resort - Gabilan Course. Have a great day!
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from on 05/08/2017:
Hello Brandon, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our course, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the pace of play. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Things are looking up

Ridgemark has been going thru some rough times. The previous owner promised a lot and gave very little. They sold the golf course in worse condition than they received it with a healthy profit. The new owner, about one and half years ago, with new management has done a very good job getting things right. Greens are so much better, fairways,bunkers etc still need some work but things are overall much better and looking up. Excellent bang for the buck.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

course was in good shape

Other than tee boxes moved around because of closing one course and gps not working right because of that. The course was fine . We had agreat round of golf for a very low price . For this time of year it was in great shape compared to other courses in monterey and santa cruz area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 28
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

great

the course is in excellent shape. the greens roll true and the fairways are drying out and give the roll in need.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good Value!

First time playing the course since it dropped to 18 holes. Course conditions were good -- greens were actually great for this time of year. Pay attention to the signs, the routing is a little odd. Seeing some of the old holes dying off as you drive by them is a little depressing, but at $40-ish, this course is a GREAT value.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

NICE

Thought it would rain on top of us we didn't even get a drop Tee off at 2 PM threesome for 15 each . Good course good time good price

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE