This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
28 Reviews (28)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.0
Value
4.1
Layout
0
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
4.6
Amenities
2.5
67.9%
Recommend this course
19 out of 28 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 71
Length 6837 yards
Slope 125
Rating 73.1

Editor's Note: Course closed for business in Dec 2015.

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Greens Bermuda Grass
Architect Mark Hayes (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Reviews

3.2
28 Reviews (28)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 9
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Review

This course is always a fun and challenging one. I just wish they would re open the clubhouse and grill.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/06/2015

We're really glad you enjoyed the course! Unfortunately didn't get the clubhouse from the previous owner. We hope you visit again soon.

Played On
Reviews 73
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Top 250 Contributor
Oklahoma Advisor
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

getting better

for the golfnow price, it is a viable option on a sunday, when looking for something to do. I thought the greens were in better shape than the last time I played the course.
With no wind, the holes were much easier for me to reach with that 2nd shot and that made for a lower than normal score :)

Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/06/2015

We love it when the wind is in our favor! We're glad you enjoyed the course, thanks for the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Sad day for what was once a beautiful course!

We called to make our tees times and ask about the condition of the course. We were told it was in good shape.
It is so sad to see a course that has such potential be in such poor shape. The greens were in terrible shape. Weeds and disease existed on almost all the greens. There has been no watering done on any of the fairways and tee boxes. The layout for the course is excellent. It simply has not been taken care of.
Unfortunately they must have not been able to continue using the pro shop. They have moved to a cart barn. Sad for them and for the golfers that enjoyed their food and the shop. The employees were very unprofessional.

We would like to believe that the golf course can make a come back. I'm not sure they can.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/06/2015

We appreciate your feedback, and we're really disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction a few months ago. We have been doing a lot of work to better the conditions in the past months, so hope your next visit would be more toward your standards. As for employees, we hold our staff to a very high level of customer service and are sorry to hear you experienced less than. We certainly hope that you pay us another visit in the future.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great potential, but...

Course has the potential to be gorgeous, but needs to be watered. Greens are in good shape for the conditions we have had in Oklahoma, but tee boxes and fairways crunch under your feet they are so dry. Front 9 and back 9 are a completely different course in terms of play, and overall I had a good experience for the price. Wish the tee boxes would at least have been watered though.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/06/2015

Thank you for the feedback. We're always working to improve conditions, we hope you will visit again.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Not worth the money!

Would not recommend this course. It is in bad shape! Needs some work done to the greens. Not worth the price, we all paid.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/06/2015

We've been working to improve course conditions, and apologize for your dissatisfaction. We hope you'll visit again.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Challenging

Course is a great value. Challenging golf, scenic views and friendly staff. I will be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2015

Thank you very much for your 4 star review and feedback regarding our course. We appreciate it. Visit us again soon!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great layout

The course layout is awesome. Scenery is good as well. Front 9 is fairly open and easy. Back 9 is challenging, hitting over valleys, and canyons, but good tee shots are usually rewarding. The greens are in really bad shape. Almost impossible to make a putt over 8 feet. They are very bumpy and patchy.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2015

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our course. We do our best to keep up with the conditions and always want to ensure everyone has a good time while visiting. Please do visit us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Good course

Challenging course. Pace of play was excellent. They need to get the country club back up and running and this place will be 5 stars all day long. As for the food? Snacks and refrigerator sandwiches. Other than that, still a great course to test your skills.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

Great layout; Poor Conditions

This was a great value but I expect the course to be in better shape. Greens were patchy, fringes were non existent, Fairway's had more weeds than my yard. The Layout of the course was impressive. I liked the canyon portion of the back 9. I just wish it was in a lot better shape.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 16
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great for the price

It's far to drive from Oklahoma City, but beautiful scenery. Very challenging back nine. Worth the drive for the price.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the drive.

1st of all they have a really nice clubhouse that is locked down and not in use. You check into a 10 x20 back door to the cart barn. Frozen sandwiches. No beer. Snickers or Milky Way is your choice for snack.

Greens were good but no grass on the tee boxes. Back nine is challenging. Front nine is pretty weak.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Sugar

The greens are in good shape, the rest need a little care. Good value, easy to get there, and very friendly staff.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

Fun

This course is awesome, I would play this every week is I lived close by.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Brutal fall from grace.....

Folks who are rating this anything above a 2 star are nuts. I had the privilege of playing this course about 4 times in the glory days (05-08) and was an absolute blast. Great club house and amazingly well maintained course....a true jewel in Western Oklahoma.....back then!!!

I was absolutely shocked about the condition. The nice clubhouse is completely overgrown and shuttered. Pro shop is stick in a maintenance building and the tee boxes are a mess. Fairways are starting to get away from them and greens are getting spotty and chewed up in spots. It is an absolute travesty that a course in Western Oklahoma...in the midst of the greatest economic boom in 40 years can't find an investor willing to restore this place to glory. It would be a perfect location for oil/gas industry events.

I paid $15....so I can't complain about the price but it is tragic to see how poorly maintained this once great course is today.

Conditions Poor
Value Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Sugar

This course is experiencing financial and management issues, and it is beginning to show. The tees and fariways were not cut for a Sunday, but very playable. The greens were pretty good and rolled true. The clubhouse in the pic is no longer a part of the course. There is no food service. It is showing signs of losing the battle of poor management/financing. Unfortunately because the layout of the back 9 is really special and demanding. Ttruly a shame to see this desgn fall to neglect.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Great Value

The tee boxes looked a little rough, but the fairways were great and the greens rolled very well. A few weeds in the traps, but this course is worth the trip from OKC. I did not expect much since the club was closed and auctioned. It has reopened and likely on a small budget, but it was really in pretty good shape. Biggest jackrabbits I have ever seen. I think I saw one snacking on a bobcat! You probably don't want to walk the back 9. Intimidating tee shots on the 15 and 16. Fun course and friendly staff.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great potential

The course is in a beautiful location (especially the back 9) but is poorly maintained overall. If they would take alot better care of tee box areas and a little better care of greens, it would be one of the most fun courses in Oklahoma, but until then I don't recommend it.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Great track, nice greens

Overall course was in pretty rough condition, but greens were nice. This is a great track and a lot of fun to gamble on. If tee boxes and fairways were nicer this course would be great.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

Great Course, Great Value

My buddies and I have played several of the courses in Central Oklahoma over the last year. Sugar Creek Canyon is one of the best combinations of challenge, great course conditions, and value that we've come across. The 18 holes are a great mix of difficulty level. Sugar Creek's "Amen Corner" was a blast. Number 15 was a brutal par 5 with a tee shot over a canyon that is exceptionally beautiful. Despite the drought in Western Oklahoma, the greens were in excellent condition. The fairways were green; the only thing missing was that some of the water hazards were completely dry. The round was extremely affordable for the four of us. Even driving out to Hinton was easier than we expected. All in all, it's definitely become a quick favorite for us!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Walked

what a shame...

So disappointed that this course is on its last leg, while i am sure the people running it are on a shoestring budget my displeasure.with the round centers around the impending end of getting to play what was once a very unique course for being such an easy drive from okc. Especially with two casinos just down the road for after round entertainment...

Difficulty Moderate
Nearby Courses
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Semi-Private
4.0
1
Fort Cobb, Oklahoma
Public
4.0
6

Stay & Play Offers

Now Reading