Resort, One, Dana Point, California 92629, US
(800) 722-1543
Location Map

About Monarch Beach Resort

The Monarch Beach Resort is a grand Mediterranean retreat that has earned AAA Five Diamond Awards since 2003 and Mobil/Forbes Five Star Awards since 2007. The first Miraval Life in Balance Spa in California debuted in 2016 as part of a $40 million refresh. The Monarch Bay Club is a private beach club across the street. Every day ends with champagne sabering at the Lobby Lounge to celebrate another spectacular SoCal day.

Facts

Price Range$$$$
Property Class★★★★★
Acres162
Year Opened2001
Number of Units300-500

Amenities

RestaurantsFine, Casual
Room TypesRoom, Suite
TennisYes
Fitness CenterYes
Beach AccessYes
Banquet SpaceYes
SpaYes

Services

Kids ProgramYes
Room ServiceYes
ConciergeYes

Rules

Is the resort pet friendly?Yes
Is resort stay required for a tee time?No
Featured Offers
Golf Packages
Orange County, CA
FROM $557 (USD)

Golf courses at Monarch Beach Resort

Reviews

4.3
173 Reviews (173)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 24
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Two fairways under repair

We had a great time and the course was in very good shape. The only disappointment (which we knew about) was fairways 6 and 7 were under repair and they made both holes very short par 3's. I understand these two holes should be back in operation in a month or so and we look forward to coming back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great way to spend Mother's day

The staff was extremely pleasant , the weather was perfect & the course was in great shape. Only downside was a couple of the fairways had major work being done but we warned ahead of playing so no big deal there. Will be returning in the near future.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Bob

very nice course, just 3 holes under construction so we lose a lot of fun, hopefully they can finish the construction in next couple month.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 04/29/2022

Thank you, Bob for taking the time to rate your experience. We will be completing the project within the next month so you'll have to come back and see the finished project!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Amazing experience. Greens were perfect! Views are outstanding. Challenging but VERY playable. ?Used every club in my bag. Highly recommend to others.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 04/13/2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and rate us 5-stars. Visit again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 04/13/2022

Thank you for rating us 5-stars!
Visit again soon,
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Cancellation policy is too strict

My wife and I get ill on the day (Mar 12th). Our TEE time was 13:10 PM. In the morning, I tried to cancel the booking, but failed. I made a phone call several times dire tly to the golf proshop, but failed to talk to the sraff working there.

We are very much disappointed to see that you charged full money.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 03/18/2022

Greetings,
We apologize for this experience as booking tee times through Golf Now has a stricter cancellation policy than booking directly with us. Additionally, booking directly with us allows for more flexibility and typically a better rate. We understand if you choose not to visit us again, but we do invite you to return at a heavily discounted rate. Simply connect with me, Jackie, if this is something you're interested in. Once again, we apologize for this experience and hope you and your wife are feeling better.
Regards,
Jackie Riegle, PGA
jriegle@monarchbeachgolf.com

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Wow! So much fun

What a great course. The staff is beyond friendly. From the valet to the course marshals. Customer service was impeccable.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 03/11/2022

Thank you for the stellar review. Visit again soon!!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 5
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 03/04/2022

Thank you for rating us 5-stars. Visit again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 03/04/2022

Thank you for rating us 5-stars. Visit again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 01/21/2022

Thank you so rating us 5-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 01/21/2022

Thank you so rating us 5-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 01/21/2022

Hello,
We are sorry to read you had a 2-star experience. We would like to understand why as are always striving to improve. Reach out to me if you'd like to discuss.
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Worth it !

From staff to course was impressed by all ! Great and difficult greens! Not very long , but the greens are the teeth of the course! Great views of the ocean and the vibe of Dana Point was spectacular. Hope this helps!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 03/11/2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review your visit with us. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played

Bare Dirt & Divots Everywhere

The course is in terrible condition. We were told it was because they did not overseed this year?? Love this course, but right now huge bare dirt spots and literally hundreds of divots near the greens. I recommend you go elsewhere until conditions improve.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 01/21/2022

Thank you so rating us 5-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 21
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 12/03/2021

We appreciate you rating us 5-stars! Though it seems you rated us twice (see reviews). We obviously like this one more than the 4-star review ;)
We hope you can visit us again & enjoy a 5-star experience!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A forgiving beauty

We played on a chilly overcast day but really didn't notice it as the greens were well kept and fairways layer out nicely before you. I'll bet on a usual SoCal type day it would have been awesome playing along the pacific.

The only knick would be that we got behind a scramble tournament which reminded us that it was very chilly (stood around a bit). But still a great course and I will definitely play again...soon!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 11/05/2021

Glad you were able to join us for a round! We hope you can return next spring/summer to catch us on a beautiful warm coastal day!
Thanks again,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thank you for taking the time to rate us 4-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/15/2021

Thank you for rating us 5-stars! Visit again soon,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser

It’s alright

Not worth $280. Cool hole on the water, some bare spots on fairways greens were in great shape. I thought it would have been better

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/01/2021

Greetings KyleWalker02840,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We understand your opinion, though we wish you felt it was more than a 3-star experience. We wish you well, and happy golfing.
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Now Reading