Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
1.5
29 Reviews (29)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
21
Conditions
1.5
Value
1.9
Layout
1.7
Friendliness
2.2
Pace
3.6
Amenities
1.5
12.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 29 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.6
12 Reviews (12)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
9
Conditions
1.6
Value
2.2
Layout
1.6
Pace
3.8
Amenities
1.6
StaffFriendliness
2.5
8.3%
Recommend this course
1 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
1.5
13 Reviews (13)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
10
Conditions
1.5
Value
2.2
Layout
1.7
Pace
3.8
Amenities
1.5
StaffFriendliness
2.3
7.7%
Recommend this course
1 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 11
Type Public
Style Executive
Par 54
Length 2286 yards
Slope 103
Rating 56.2

Little Bear Golf Club offers a unique concept, it is the first layout of its kind in the country. Rather than the traditional nine or 18 holes, Little Bear has an 11-hole layout. There is a 'front five' and 'back five' with a challenging additional hole that features an island green. The golf course was intentionally designed for those looking for a quick 40-minute round, perhaps after lunch or work. A bare soybean field was transformed into a rolling landscape with three large lakes, a meandering stream, and a stone waterfall. Over 1,000 trees and several sand bunkers were also incorporated into the layout. The bonus hole, which can be played individually or as a challenging end to a round, is a replica of a hole at the famed TPC Sawgrass.

Book a Tee Time at
Little Bear Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2007
Architect Dr. Michael Hurdzan (2007)

Rentals/Services

Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

1.5
29 Reviews (29)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The club house was closed and the course was under construction

Conditions Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Horrible course. Tee boxes and greens are fake grass. The layout is impossible to follow. Never played on such a bad course. Honestly, I wouldn’t come back if it was free.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Astroturf

All greens were turf. Value of $11 for 11 holes is phenomenal but the putting is brutal and is not enjoyable based on how unrealistic the greens are. Like putting on a carpet with the ball on roller skates. Good place for teens and golfers just looking for a laugh.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Rough conditions

Probably in the middle of reshaping the entire course , all greens were bad

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Don’t waste your time

AstroTurf tees and greens. No personnel. No Lay-out map. Just a waste of time.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Save your money

Couldn’t even play and if I was able to I’m not sure if I could even figure out what hole I’m on.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing

WIP

The course is being fixed up and is definitely a work in progress. Greens are fast!

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Awful

Greens and tee boxes are turf with weeds growing. No one in the shop. Not mapped out well, no clear directions to next holes. Not worth a dime

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This place was a lot of fun with little to no one around during play. The rough is extremely penalising due to work being done on the course. The setup has many water holes which adds pressure to hit a good shot. I will definitely go back soon.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 3
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Played On
Reviews 3
5.0

are they even open

call ahead first golf now knows nothing about this place make sure they are open before you spend $$

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
First Time Playing

Clubhouse wasn’t even open today. There was no scorecard, holes aren’t even numbered completely. Grass was super long, no flags in the holes. Multiple holes on each green. This course wasn’t worth paying even $2.00 for. Even for walking the course it wasn’t worth the money.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 27
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Tough little starter

Let's get the obvious out of the way. No this is not a full course and if you were expecting that you missed the executive part of the course.

It's a nice little par 3 within walking distance of the house. The Tee boxes are astro turf so don't attempt to actually tee off. The greens are equally astrology turf, your ball will run. There are some areas where a little maintenance would do the course some good as it does appear the place has seen better days.

That all being said it's still a nice place to learn your short game AND putting control. The staff was rather friendly with our group. Since it's a 5 minute walk from the house I would recommend it to anyone who's nearby and wants to kill a little time or realize your putting game is absolutely atrocious.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/10/2016

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We enjoyed hearing about your experience at our course and it's great to hear you enjoyed yourself. Thanks and we hope to hear from you soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Not Good

Course was in horrible condition! Turf tees and green are a joke. It felt like you were playing golf on an extended putt putt course. If you were lucky enough to hit the green, the ball would bounce clear off into the jungle they called the rough. I just felt duped after playing about 3 holes. My friend and I finally abandoned ship at hole number 5 knowing we would never get that time back.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/18/2017

Hi,
We are disappointed to hear about your latest visit to our course. We want every golfer to leave happy and obviously that did not happen in this case. We are working to improve the course every day. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future so you can see how nice the course can be.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

DON'T waste your time and money

I was aware the tees and greens are astro-turf. That was not a surprise. Unfortunately, they are matted and worn. It is not a good place to even take your daughter/son to learn the game. There are no fairways. It's either tee, green, or 4 inch rough. The greens are so matted down, they are not puttable. I know it's not supposed to be Muirfield, but it's not worth even going. There are plenty of other par 3 courses in the area.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/17/2015

We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the conditions of the course. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make it up to you.

Nearby Courses
Westerville, Ohio
Private
5.0
1
Columbus, Ohio
Private
4.0
1
Worthington, Ohio
Private
5.0
2
Westerville, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Westerville, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Powell, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Powell, Ohio
Private
4.4117647059
5
Delaware, Ohio
Public
4.2577058824
230
Columbus, Ohio
Private
4.0
1
Galena, Ohio
Private
5.0
2
Westerville, Ohio
Private
0.0
0
Powell, Ohio
Public
4.1759
276
Golf Packages
FROM $157 (USD)
NIAGARA FALLS, CAN | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at your choice of two hotels and 3 rounds of golf at Legends on the Niagara Battlefield and Usher's Creek courses, and Whirlpool.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE