Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
68 Reviews (68)
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.4
98.0%
Recommend this course
64 out of 68 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7010 yards
Slope 143
Rating 75.1

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Golf Season Year round
Architect Mike Young (2000)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - $18
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared Shirt, No Jeans

Available Activities

Swimming

Available Sports

Tennis

Accolades

Reviews

4.4
68 Reviews (68)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 10
Bunkers 8
Undulating Greens 6
This course/club is great for:
Locals 10
A Weekend Splurge 7
Advanced Golfers 7
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A must see!!

First of all....the range is free and unlimited balls already set out to golfers playing a round...second, pro shop was informative and a pleasure to deal with. First day it's been sunny and 70 out so it was busy, however the wait wasn't bad at all. Just long enough to let you think about your next move. 3rd, the golf carts have the GPS and layout of the course on the screen while you drive. You will always know where you are on the course along with an electronic score keeper. Restaurant was spot on with a full menu of Louisiana creole and a full bar that was keeping the players going. Fairways where well kept and greens a little rough but it is winter so that's expected. You gotta give it a round and see for your self!!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/06/2020

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our course, wonderful staff and everything else the club as to offer. We look forward to having you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/06/2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We value your feedback, and hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

The Island

Great course and we got it at a great price! I would travel the highway again to play this course. Great layout with multiple opportunities to score if you play what the course gives ya!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/06/2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We value your feedback, and hope you make the trip to see us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Big bargain

The Island provided a challenging and picturesque layout, but was doable from the right tee boxes. The course was tight in spots, with lots of water, but it was fair. The course was in excellent shape, and the 1 p.m. tee time enabled us to move around in relative seclusion. One drawback: They did not have "course" or "logo'" balls in stock, and I'm a collector. In that it is part of the Audubon Trail, and many people would want to collect all of the balls, that was a disappointment. Otherwise, this was an outright bargain and I would play there again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/06/2020

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are happy to see you enjoyed our course. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you back soon.

Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course layout

Fun course to play due to the rolling fairways with elevated tee boxes and greens. Wide fairways yet water and trees make for a challenging round of golf. The greens where in great condition and rolled smooth and broke as expected. Both pro shop staff and restaurant staff are very friendly and accommodating. Only 25 minutes from down town Baton Rouge. A must play if you live in the area or are visiting Baton Rouge.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for your review! Our course is so much fun to play for all the reasons you mentioned, but we sure do know how challenging that can be! We have a great staff and are so glad you had a good experience with them. Looking forward to having you back.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for the 5 star review. We take your feedback seriously and hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great day at the Island.

A very good layout. Fairways in good condition. Bunkers could use some work but also looked like rain the day before.. Golf course employees were nice. A fun course with lots of challenges.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thank you for leaving a 4 star for The Island. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Island Golf

Very nice course. All the greens were very consistent and good shape especially for july. I think the only green that was a little rough was the par 3 number 17 and that was only in one small section of green. Tee boxes where in good shape. Course overall is challenging but at the same time forgiving on on certain holes making it fun. This course allows an average golfer an opportunity to score and be challenged. Very good layout. Club house is very nice and the staff if very friendly. I plan to play here on my visits to Louisiana again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback. We appreciate your commentary and are glad you enjoyed your round. Looking forward to seeing you again next time you travel.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

One of my Favs

Really cool challenging course! Makes you hit shots to score. First nice course my son has played on and he loved it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review, Tony. We love a good challenge and are glad you do too! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Design great, greens poor, fairways great

We played the in under 3 hours, fairways were nice to hit from.
Greens were suffering, but otherwise condition of the course was great.
Loved the design, easy layout.
Food and lunch service was excellent!
Carts were old, but gps system did work.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/10/2019

Wow, great time! We are continually working to improve our course conditions so we appreciate your patience there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and hope to see you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great golf course

The island is the one of the top golf courses in the Baton Rouge area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/10/2019

We agree! Thank you for your review and feedback! Hope to see you back again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Bad Greens

Great course, tough challenge; however, greens were horrible. Normally, they are great, not sure why they were so bad.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are working to improve the customer experience. Hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very good for winter conditions

The course was typical winter conditions. Hardly any grass. But I thought it played very well for this time of year. Great friendly staff. I would play again when the conditions and grass returns. Looking forward to it.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/30/2019

Thanks for your review. We are so glad our staff met your expectations and hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Black Friday outing

Staff very friendly.
Nice practice range facilities.
Very good course layout.
I would definitely go again!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course.

The course was in great condition even with all the heat. The fish smell from the fish kill in the ponds was bad. Overall great course and will play again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great day of golf

Course was in great shape a few hard spots in the fairway. Greens putted true, teamed up with great guys. A good Sunday afternoon

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 32
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Worst Outing Ever!

Without a doubt, this was the most aweful golf outing I have ever had. There were only 2 good things to note. The young man in the pro shop was excellent; hats off to The Island as he is a true asset (my apologies for not remembering his name). The only other good thing about this day was the perfect weather.

I have seen this course in much better shape before. As a matter of fact, while on the range (it was ok at best), I heard one "member" tell another that they were lucky to be members because if they had to pay full price for this course as it was, they would not do it; for the record, I paid what I believed was a full price.

Most of the fairways were overrun with weeds and clover. There was areation all over the course; fringes, fairways and even some of the greens. However, the very worst thing was that I was under constant attacks by swams of bugs/gnats!

I played two other courses during this trip and neither of them had bugs/gnats of that magnitude. I don't know why they were so bad, but one guy asked me about the bugs and I said they were aweful. These folks need to do something to treat and/or get rid of those bugs; they do not make for an enjoyable day.

I am not certain that I will ever return to this course, especially in its current state.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Brusly, Louisiana
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Private
4.8333333333
2
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public
1.9451176471
116
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public/Municipal
3.7058823529
24
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public/Municipal
3.6312647059
140
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Private
4.0
1
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Private
4.0
1
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public/Municipal
4.4178705882
267
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public
0.0
0
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Public/Municipal
2.9934352941
75
Gonzales, Louisiana
Semi-Private
3.7895
19
Gonzales, Louisiana
Semi-Private
3.7895
19
Golf Packages
FROM $167 (USD)
GULFPORT, MS | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at Island View Casino Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Windance Golf & Country Club.
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Gulf Shores Golf Around Package
FROM $157 (USD)
Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 3 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, ONE Club Golf Course, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend or Cotton Creek Course).
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Best of Gulf Shores Golf Package
FROM $167 (USD)
Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 4 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, Rock Creek Golf Club, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend & Cotton Creek Courses).
FROM $157 (USD)
GULF SHORES, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 3 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, ONE Club Golf Course, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend or Cotton Creek Course).
FROM $167 (USD)
GULF SHORES, AL | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 4 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, Rock Creek Golf Club, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend & Cotton Creek Courses).
Now Reading