Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
191 Reviews (191)
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
73
3 Stars
49
2 Stars
31
1 Stars
26
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.5
Layout
3.7
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.6
70.5%
Recommend this course
127 out of 191 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.3
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
2.7
Value
3.9
Layout
3.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.3
81.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.1
47 Reviews (47)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
4
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.3
Layout
3.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.1
68.1%
Recommend this course
32 out of 47 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 5940 yards
Slope 113
Rating 67.9

Blue Heron Golf Course, formerly known as Carnation Golf Course, first opened in 1967 but underwent a major renovation, in addition to the name change, after it was bought in 2011. Located in the Snoqualmie Valley, the course would occasionally be overrun by the Snoqualmie River but thanks to improved drainage and irrigation features added in the renovation, the course is able to drain remarkably fast. At just a few yards shy of 6,000 yards, Blue Heron G.C. is on the shorter side but that is no indication of its level of difficulty. Golfers will face a variety of challenges including an abundance of bunkers strategically placed throughout. One of the toughest holes is the par-5 17th, which is a blind tee shot where a long iron might come in more handy than a driver.

Book a Tee Time at
The Blue Heron Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1966
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bob Tachell

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill, Restaurant

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #7)

Reviews

3.3
191 Reviews (191)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 27
Patio Dining 27
Dinner 19
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 16
Forced Carries 13
Thick Rough 13
This course/club is great for:
Walkers 29
Locals 23
Seniors 20
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 13
Worth the Drive 13
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/08/2021

Thank you for visiting us at Blue Heron Golf Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Blue Heron

The course is not good for water. Working hard to improve area with bush removal and opening up the course

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/08/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather

Blue heron golf course

Who reads this? I have told you more than once that it is not carnatirn?

Friendliness Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/29/2021

Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for visiting Blue Heron Golf Course!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great

It was a little wet but playable. Good condition on the greens

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 02/08/2021

Thank you for your review! We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Blue Heron Golf Course. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

9 holes

When I played they only The front 9 was open and only allowed the 9 holes even though the Deal paid for 18 holes

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/26/2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future. Thanks for choosing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Great little course

Beautiful scenic little course. Great for playing with family and friends etc. fun quiet course. Great value for the money.
Nice place to go have fun and practice.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/07/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We would love to know how we can earn those last two stars next time! Thanks for playing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/30/2021

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/26/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We would love to know how we can earn those last two stars next time! Thanks for playing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/08/2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful rating. We hope you had a great time!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/30/2020

Hello, Rbullock1111. Thank you for visiting us at Blue Heron Golf Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/30/2020

Hi hyunsook99. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Do you have any recommendations for us to implement to improve for your next round? Thanks for visiting Blue Heron Golf Course. We hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Walked

Poor Course Maintenance

Range is torn up , I used to come out here a lot to practice but the grass is very torn up and not taken care of compared to what it used to be.

I realize it's winter, but the conditions on this course are poor compared to other courses in the area. The Tee Boxes look unkempt , uneven ground, huge chunks of grass ripped out, and mushy. Greens look scared and damaged. Leaves all over the place and doesn't look like they make any effort to clean those up.

It really doesn't even look like they are trying to maintain anything except the restaurant.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/10/2020

Hi shotgunlebowski. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Blue Heron Golf Course. We hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Much Improved; A Pleasant Surprise

Used to play here years ago when it was the old Carnation golf Course. Now it's the Blue Heron and it is a good public course that we found maintained well and priced very well. It's a great course for beginners with a low-key feeling and yet also offers plenty of challenge for low handicapped players. We were glad we gave it a try and will be adding it to our places to play in the future.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/09/2020

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased to read you have added us to your list of places to play! We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Best kept secret in Seattle

The Blue Heron is under new ownership since 2012 which has rebuild the club house and offers premium food and drink. Best "Filet Mignon" in Seattle!. Best public golf course club house in Seattle with large outdoor deck for dining. The course track is one of my favorites in the Seattle area and quit challenging from the tips. Course maintenance by Superintendent Bill Schnieder is fantastic! A must play!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2020

Thank you for your great compliments! We love our Filet Mignon as well, you'll have to come back again soon and try another one of our favorite dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Walked

It is a basic course for a basic price

This is not the best maintained course, but it is good value for the money. The people are friendly and I enjoy playing there.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2020

Thanks so much for coming out to our course. We are glad you enjoyed your time, and we hope to see you back again soon!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/06/2020

Hello, macdaddy59. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Thank you for playing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Blue Heron GC - wet but playable

Course was rather rough, i.e. fairways needed mowing. Greens were satisfactory, Tee boxes need attention = lots of bare, chewed up spots. Pace of play was excellent.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/01/2020

We really appreciate your feedback. This is very useful for us to use to make great improvements for our golfers. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/14/2020

Hello, sbatra. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/08/2020

Hi, thanks for leaving us a rating! We're glad you enjoyed your time at Blue Heron Golf Course and hope you'll come see us again soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/08/2020

Thank you for visiting us at Blue Heron Golf Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Nearby Courses
Fall City, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Sammamish, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Fall City, Washington
Public
3.6516647059
221
Fall City, Washington
Public
3.6667
12
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Snoqualmie, Washington
Private
4.8333333333
2
Redmond, Washington
Public
3.2157
11
Bellevue, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
0.0
0
Snoqualmie, Washington
Public
4.2906294118
248

Stay & Play Offers

From $300
Valid dates: Jan 01, 2021 - May 30, 2021
We invite you to come and experience the serenity of Borrego and challenge of Rams Hill while benefiting from our package pricing as you select from 3 different lodging options.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE