A view from a fairway at Blue Heron Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.3
233 Reviews (233)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
60
2 Stars
36
1 Stars
29
Conditions
2.8
Value
3.5
Layout
3.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.5
69.2%
Recommend this course
157 out of 233 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
44 Reviews (44)
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.8
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.5
72.7%
Recommend this course
32 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.4
61 Reviews (61)
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.7
Layout
3.7
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
73.8%
Recommend this course
45 out of 61 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 5940 yards
Slope 113
Rating 67.9

Blue Heron Golf Course, formerly known as Carnation Golf Course, first opened in 1967 but underwent a major renovation, in addition to the name change, after it was bought in 2011. Located in the Snoqualmie Valley, the course would occasionally be overrun by the Snoqualmie River but thanks to improved drainage and irrigation features added in the renovation, the course is able to drain remarkably fast. At just a few yards shy of 6,000 yards, Blue Heron G.C. is on the shorter side but that is no indication of its level of difficulty. Golfers will face a variety of challenges including an abundance of bunkers strategically placed throughout. One of the toughest holes is the par-5 17th, which is a blind tee shot where a long iron might come in more handy than a driver.

Book a Tee Time at
The Blue Heron Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1966
Golf Season Year round
Architect Bob Tachell

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill, Restaurant

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #7)

Reviews

3.3
233 Reviews (233)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 27
Patio Dining 27
Dinner 19
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 16
Forced Carries 13
Thick Rough 13
This course/club is great for:
Walkers 29
Locals 23
Seniors 20
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 13
Worth the Drive 13
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

Fun Day!

Our 4some enjoyed the day. Owners improving the course throughout ... new cart paths, better maintenance of greens....fantastic club house with a yummmy happy hour...

One improvement would be getting a handle on the leaves. A bit too much time spent looking for our balls in the leaves... Use white balls and bring extras as you will need them

Enjoy the course and what it offers... will go back!

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Good Value

Several short forced carries. The rough can be thick so keep it close to the fairways.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good value course

You get why you pay for but it’s a fun track with nice clubhouse deck for apres golf

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

As growing golf enthusiasts, we love Blue Heron

My wife and I took up golf last year. We really love playing Blue Heron. The greens fees are reasonable. The course is interesting and challenging, without being as difficult as courses with tons of deep bunkers. We usually can play just the two of us, which is nice since we sometimes need to retake a shot. The area is beautiful and peaceful. We like this course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/10/2021

We're happy to learn you and your wife had a great time at Blue Heron Golf Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2021

We would love to hear more about your 4-star experience on our course. Please tell us what we can do to earn that last star, and thanks for golfing at Blue Heron Golf Course!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Could be great

8-2-21 They have the bones for a great course. Tee boxes are the worse I’ve played in for ever. Pretty brown all over but they are trying watering on the tees on most holes and we started at 8:30am. Heavy weed growth in the fairways. Had to play winter rules around the weeds.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2021

Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. Please know the current conditions are by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We will continue to work towards a 5-star experience and we hope to see you back!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poorly maintained course

It’s been a very dry summer in Washington so some browning can be expected. The course was generally hard especially on the back. The tee boxes are like concrete and most times it took serious effort to put your tee in the ground. The few sand traps were overgrown with weeds. The greens were soaking wet throughout the round and in very poor condition. The staff in the clubhouse and restaurant were very nice and the food was good.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Please bear with us as we work diligently to make improvements. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Good course for couples

Tee boxes extremely dry and HARD making it difficult to get tee into ground. Fairways and greens are satisfactory, although it's occasionally difficult to distinguish your ball from fallen leaves.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/17/2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the greens so may work on any necessary improvements. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course was good but a few things I would like to see

Overall the course is great and is very well maintained. Really good staff and very friendly. We played on a Sunday morning at 7:40 and ended around 12. There were people ahead of us and behind but (unlike other courses) they didn’t mind waiting until we were either on the green putting or off of the green completely to tee off. Very laid back and there’s no road noise or planes flying over like most courses here in Washington. The one thing that would have been nice is a snack and beverage cart that comes around. Had to wait until the 10th hole to get some beers. Other than that the course layout was great and some good tricky holes (if you play from blue tees). 10/10 would recommend playing this course at least once.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/17/2021

Hi, thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Blue Heron Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/13/2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating! We really appreciate your business. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future to earn that last star!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Review

The course played well and staff were great. 5.5 hour round was way too long.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great value for the money

We enjoyed our time there. For a public course, it was in good condition. We’ll be back! Thanks!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/29/2021

We look forward to your next tee time with us!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/02/2021

Thank you for visiting us at Blue Heron Golf Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Thick grass

Balls disappear on fairway due to long thick grass.
Beautiful setting though.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2021

Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at Blue Heron Golf Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2021

Thank you for visiting us at Blue Heron Golf Course. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Nearby Courses
Fall City, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Sammamish, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Fall City, Washington
Public
3.5946235294
263
Fall City, Washington
Public
3.6667
12
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Snoqualmie, Washington
Private
4.8333333333
2
Redmond, Washington
Public
3.5411764706
13
Bellevue, Washington
Private
5.0
1
Redmond, Washington
Private
0.0
0
Snoqualmie, Washington
Public
4.3360411765
309
Golf Packages
FROM $367 (USD)
DUPONT, WA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma DuPont and 2 rounds of golf at Chambers Bay Golf Club.
FROM $197 (USD)
BREWSTER, WA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at The Inn at Gamble Sands and 3 rounds of golf at Gamble Sands - Sands Course and the new QuickSands Short Course.
FROM $357 (USD)
WHISTLER, CAN | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa and 4 rounds of golf at Big Sky GC, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler GC, Nicklaus North GC & Whistler GC.
FROM $347 (USD)
WORLEY, ID | Enjoy 1 nights’ accommodation at Coeur d’Alene Casino Resort and Hotel, and 2 rounds of golf at Circling Raven Golf Club.
FROM $297 (USD)
BEND, OR | Enjoy 1 nights’ accommodation at the Huntington Lodge and 2 rounds of golf on the Jack Nicklaus Signature Course.
Now Reading