Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
321 Reviews (321)
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
111
3 Stars
69
2 Stars
42
1 Stars
29
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.4
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.5
96.6%
Recommend this course
230 out of 321 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.0
1 Reviews (1)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.0
Value
4.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 1 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
2 Reviews (2)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.5
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
2 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 6944 yards
Slope 134
Rating 74.2

Conveniently located less that 30 minutes from Cincinnati in the city of Lebanon, Shaker Run Golf Club offers 27 holes of championship golf. Arthur Hills designed the original 18-hole course in 1979 and the design team of Michael Hurzdan and Dana Fry added the Meadows nine 20 years later. Each nine has unique characteristics, providing three diverse 18-hole combinations when played together. The Lakeside/Meadows Course combines the nine with the most water, Lakeside naturally, and the longest nine. While it may be the lengthiest, Meadows is also the gentlest since it was added as a player-friendly complement to the other golf courses to make Shaker Run more approachable for a range of skill levels. The layout has a rolling landscape that is unique for an Ohio course, and in addition to the water there are also several strategically placed sand traps.

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes, Monday-Thursday after 2pm; Friday-Sunday after 3pm
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Food & Beverage

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Ohio (2020 #4)

Reviews

4.2
321 Reviews (321)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 20
19th Hole Specials 9
Patio Dining 7
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 38
Water Hazards 33
Elevation Changes 28
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 32
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 30
Locals 25
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 27
In the 'Burbs 20
Convenient to the City 18

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 21
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Shaggy Shaker

Played the lakeside/meadows. The conditions were on the shaggy side which was a bit disappointing. The fairways appeared to be in decent shape but just don't look like they've been mowed in a week. Very shaggy.

Greens rolled well.

Bunkers were full of sand (almost too much) which is a good problem to have this early in the season. I'm sure they'll get in better shape as the season moved along.

Overall wasn't completely disappointed but still a left wanting a little more. Hopefully this isn't a sign of how the course will be taken care of this season and just caulk it up the early season

Side note: the endless house construction on these two nines doesn't appear to be ending anytime soon which is little disappointing for the asthenic of the golf course currently

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked

Great experience

Played for first time! Friendly staff. Wonderfully maintained greens. Some very challenging holes . Only played front 9 . Will definitely come back to play all 18 !

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fantastic layout, course wasn't too packed on a Sunday morning

I played this course 4 years ago, kicking myself for not playing it since then. Really a fantastic layout on both 9s, hitting over water several times on Lakeside and Meadows is a fun and fairly open layout. You've got some short holes, a couple doglegs, par 3s over water, tiered greens, just a fun 18 holes without being crazy difficult..

Lakeside is in great condition. All of the bunkers on the Meadows 9 are dirt/clover, but the course itself is in decent enough condition. Really weird on the bunkers b/c all of the bunkers on Lakeside were in really great condition, hopefully they're renovating them or if not turn them into grass bunkers.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

New Ownership - Consistent Yearly Improvements

Ever since this place has changed ownership; you will see consistent improvements every year. My family eats at the restaurant twice a week and my son plays Golf here. I myself play work related tournaments here every year. The food selection has changed 4 times and keeps getting better with a nice mix of favorites for any taste. The course has improved dramatically with a full reconditioning of some parts with more plans to improve the entire course. Yes, housing has begin to take over parts but that just adds to the challenge. The entire staff is amazing; they remember you by name (you would expect this after going so often but in today’s world most businesses don’t), everyone always has a smile on their face, and we enjoy the small talk. I would highly recommend you give this course and clubhouse another try. Give it a few more years and it will be restored to its full former glory!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 29
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Disappointed

Wow! Is all I can say. 15 years ago this was one of Ohio’s top public courses... not anymore. We played the meadows/woodlands. The bunkers on the meadows are totally unplayable.... rocks and grass in the bunkers and the woodlands side Not much better. The course is under new management AGAIN... so we will see if anything changes.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Under construction

They are adding housing and they have changed how the course plays. I was extremely disappointed in the condition of the course and the pace of play was SLOW!

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from on 12/07/2017:
Hello, Dan. Thanks for taking the time to review us. The current construction while not visually appealing will be finished sooner than you can imagine. The team is working fast to get everything taken care of so things will return to normal. We also expect to see a lot of positive updates coming from the change and hope you can give us a second chance to enjoy the course. We apologize the pace of play was slow during your visit. We will escalate this to our team in charge. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Shaker Run

A really enjoyable and surprising course! ...met the new owner - she was so unassuming and personal. Golf shop and cart personnel were inviting... the atmosphere here oozes of hospitality and golf!
Sadly, on #3 and #4 they are doing construction... seems people want more houses in a place that should be secluded...

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from on 12/04/2017:
Hi, Marc. We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit. The team new and old are excited to hear they made your experience so memorable. We apologize for the current construction and look forward to it finishing up soon. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Condo construction an/around the course was definitely a distraction.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 12/05/2017:
Hello, Ed. We apologize for the current construction. We look forward to its completion soon. Thanks for your feedback!
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Shaker Run Is still one of the best around.

Construction, Shortened holes, Still one awesome place to play...Staff friendly...Everyone is happy there. I Loved It....I do recommend playing Shaker Run, Its very very nice. Thank You...Butch McKinney, LUCKY Member of class of 2015 Hall of Fame Wall, Dayton Ohio.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 12/05/2017:
Hi, Butch. Welcome back to Shaker Run! Thank you for taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We also appreciate your understanding the current construction and how little control we have over its effect on the course until it is complete. We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather

Shaker Run Expwerience

Some construction going on but the price is right so just deal with it.
Shouldn't effect the golfing experience that much.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 12/05/2017:
Thanks for taking the time to review the course. We take 2-star feedback very seriously. Your comment about the construction is important to us. We hope for a speedy finish so that we do not have to worry about the issue going forward. You rated the layout, value, and staff all to be fair or poor during your game. We will look to make improvements where we can to change these elements before your next game. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you soon.
Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Used cart

bad day on a good course

Weather colder than predicted (43F) and windy with a bit of rain on the last hold. Cart path only and greens aerated. Still, the course is good and challenging. Only general complaint with the course is that my GPS could not find the Woodlands portion of our round and yardage markers are not always easy to find. A character building round of golf.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from on 11/02/2017:
Thanks for reviewing us. We are sorry to hear the weather did not corporate while you were you playing and that your GPS had some trouble during the round. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the challenge and pace of play. We will escalate your feedback to our team. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Reviews 23
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good golf course

Course was in great shape, greens were iffy, a lot of sand, they have just been punched, so they were ok. Usually greens are in good shape. Played all 3 nines today, all were in good shape, except the meadows, every bunker was empty of sand and had weeds growing in them. Very ugly to see on a nice course, embarrassing really when you have expensive condos and houses on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Kelly. Thank you so much for the spectacular review. 4-star feedback is great to see. Your comment about the bunkers is important to us. We are in the middle of a project to re-tile them so rest assure they will be back to normal soon. We are glad you had an incredible time and hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The skinny on shaker run

Shaker run is currently in the process of building homes between the golf holes. Fairways are now a lot narrower.
Some holes are changing (shorter). The greens are the worst I’ve ever encountered on a course. They were airaited
But the sanding did not help. What sanding did occur has sunk into the holes leaving quarter inch deep holes, leaving
The greens unputtable. No matter how low a price you get, save your money.
Shaker run continues to let me down.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from on 11/01/2017:
Hello, Wiliam. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. The current renovations are only temporary and will offer our loyal golfers an even better way to become part of the Shaker Run family. We are also excited about how the new homes will help us become a better part of the community. The course was recently aerified. This is temporary and will keep our greens looking great. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice Course, But Could Be Great!

The course is fun to play and I would assume to be very nice back in the day. The course is maintained fairly well, but the bunkers are in desperate need of sand. Most bunkers are mud pits that are either holding water or the ground has split from the mud drying out. Their range is a great feature if you prefer to warm up before the round. The staff is extremely friendly and the course has a good lay out. There was some work being done on Lakeside so it was a little bit of a mess. It's not a big deal, just an effect of progress. All in all, I would recommend this course as a good one to play.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 12/07/2017:
4-star reviews are great to see and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We will work to continue to provide a memorable experience. We are glad you understand the current construction represents progress for us and the surrounding neighborhoods. We look forward to its completion. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again soon!
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not Impressed

The entire Lakeside course was under housing construction and we were not informed before booking tee time or even at the clubhouse before play. The construction made the course almost unplayable and very aggravating. There would be many blind shots for a first time player at the course which would end up out of play in the construction zones.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Response from on 10/24/2017:
Hello, Ryan. Thanks for the review. 1-star feedback is extremely important to us because it means we have serious changes to make. The current construction, while not ideal, is something we are working to complete to better our golfers and loyal visitors experience. We planned to have these additions help Shaker Run Golf Club become an even bigger part of the community. With golfers now joining our neighborhood, we hope to update the course and layout to best incorporate these changes to be seamless. Your comments are important to us and will be escalated to the team responsible. We look forward to seeing you at Shaker Run Golf Club again and hope you can give us a second chance.
Played On
Reviews 97
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Used cart

Buried in high grass and rock bottom bunkers

Lakeside course in under construction for the building of condos. The fairways in holes 3-8 are being revamped for the condos. Lots of dirt and machines can been seen on this course. Paid for Lakeside/Woodlands but as usual changed to Meadows/Lakeside. The bunkers and high grass roughs made for looking for a ball monotonous. The price for this day was not a good value it wasn't worth 20 dollars. They can keep their courses and their high prices.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from on 10/23/2017:
We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. We know that the current construction is not ideal for a round but we are working to complete these projects as soon as possible so that new residents can help grow the community, the game, and the experience at Shaker Run. We will provide your comments to our team so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fantastic Course

Nothing but good to say. Fairways beautiful, greens beautiful, tee boxes beautiful. Amazing course!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 10/12/2017:
Thank you for reviewing the course. We appreciate the 5-stars and are going to notify the teams responsible, so they know their hard work is paying off. We hope to see you for another round soon. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Played On
Reviews 24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Hmmm

Played this course several times on Lakeside and very disappointed with the construction. The Lakeside course , holes 3-8 are horrible no due to new town homes coming.the course was beautiful before , now Lakeside has lost its luster. I played the meadows for the first time ever and loved it, even both par 3's over 100 yards or so worth of water. Pared them both. Only issue was the bunkers. I will be playing the woodlands and meadows.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from on 10/13/2017:
We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Shaker Run Golf Club, we hope to see you again in the future.
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

a morning walk

Received the first tee time, played as a twosome in about 3 hours. Played Lakeside/Woodlands. Woodlands was our last nine and came upon two foursomes who allowed us to immediately play through, which does not happen at many courses. The course was in great shape, we felt the greens were slower than they looked, and slower than normal, yet they held shots coming into them. They did putt very true to the line we choose.yardage markers were also very true and findable in the fairways. So all was very good. If a negative exists it was not on the course, but the work being done for new housing, which on most holes seem to run very close to the course, so until the housing is finished, it will be difficult to say how the visual, not the course itself, changes. I would play there every day if possible.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from on 09/25/2017:
We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us 5-stars! We are going to pass on your feedback to our team, so they know their hard work is not going unnoticed. It is great to hear that the efforts we have put in helped provided a memorable and enjoyable experience for you. We hope the new homes are finished sooner than later and add to the aesthetic of the course. Time should tell but we appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Shaker Run Golf Club, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Don't let Dayton Daly news article fool you

Once a great course is not the case now, you went to shaker for the great scenery no houses just nature,,, well now all you see is houses and earth movers, the greed to pay off debt they sold land on lakeside so you will be surrounded by houses, when we made the turn to woodlands they put a outing in front of us no excuse for that just poor management! Lambert the retired owner should be proud, he ruined moss creek and now shaker? Save your money and frustration. I will never go back there again

Robert

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Fair
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from on 09/26/2017:
Hello, Mr. Comer. Thank you for taking the time to review the course. We understand your frustrations and are looking to see what we can do to improve. The way you have provided your feedback does not offer us any room to grow or change. Making comments that cut down the course are not helpful to us or any golfers reading your review. Our partnerships are meant to bring truly passionate golfers one step closer to being a part of our great scenery. Our teams are working hard to get everything completed in a timely manner. We encourage you to update your review to fit a more constructive form so we can use your experience to make changes. Thanks for playing Shaker Run Golf Club.
Nearby Courses
Lebanon, Ohio
Semi-Private
4.2302823529
321
Lebanon, Ohio
Semi-Private
4.2302823529
321
Lebanon, Ohio
Public
3.4845
97
Lebanon, Ohio
Semi-Private
3.4915176471
50
Franklin, Ohio
Public
4.1190714286
8
Middletown, Ohio
Private
5.0
1
Springboro, Ohio
Public/Municipal
4.8450117647
91
Liberty Township, Ohio
Public
3.6337666667
61
Liberty Township, Ohio
Private
5.0
2
Mason, Ohio
Private
5.0
1
Middletown, Ohio
Public
3.6345647059
393
Golf Packages
FROM $597 (USD)
LAKE GENEVA, WI | Discover Lake Geneva’s premier must-visit destination at Geneva National Resort & Club. Located off the wooded slopes and shores of Lake Como, the semi-private Geneva National presents 54 holes of legendary golf designed by Arnold Palmer, Gary Player and Lee Trevino, along with on-course lodging at the Cottages & Suites at Geneva National.
Now Reading