A view of the 17th green with water coming into play at Blue Mash Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
390 Reviews (390)
5 Stars
218
4 Stars
136
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
10
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.1
92.2%
Recommend this course
359 out of 390 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
64 Reviews (64)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.5
95.3%
Recommend this course
61 out of 64 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
118 Reviews (118)
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.5
91.5%
Recommend this course
108 out of 118 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Links/Parkland/Woodland
Par 71
Length 6885 yards
Slope 134
Rating 73.0

Blue Mash Golf Course is the Rockville area's premier public offering. This Arthur Hills design combines links-style, parkland, wooded, and water holes. With such an interesting variety, the course is enjoyable for golfers of all different tastes and skill levels. With no forced carries, it's even a manageable course for beginners and high handicappers, while more seasoned golfers will be challenged by the length from the back tees, the well protected elevated greens, and the plentiful strategically placed bunkers. Water also comes into play on a few holes. The diverse mix of holes makes Blue Mash G.C. a true shotmaker's layout. In addition to the golf course, Blue Marsh is known for having one of the best practice facilities in all of Maryland. It features a 10,000-square-foot putting green, an all-grass-tee driving range, and a separate area for practicing your short game.

Book a Tee Time at
Blue Mash Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arthur Hills (2001)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper attire is required.

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
390 Reviews (390)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 17
Patio Dining 14
Watching the Game 14
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 25
Bunkers 24
Water Hazards 24
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 24
Locals 17
Walkers 16
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 21
Worth the Drive 20
Convenient to the City 12

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Veteran’s day golf

I’ve played here ever since the course first opened up 20+ years ago. After all these years they maintained it in a good condition. Only thing I didn’t like about this round was that our g.p.s system kept on buzzing and reminding us to bring the carts in by 5 pm. This is unnecessary, because nowadays it gets dark around 5:15 pm and golfers have no choice to stop to playing but to return the carts back in (we’re only talking about 15 minutes here!!).. my playing buddy and I felt this buzzing reminder is unnecessary and in someways really rude to the paid customers..

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/13/2021

Sorry about that. You are right and it won't happen again. Rogue staff member.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A top MD course.

A well kept course. Challenging but fair. Open fairways, and true rolling greens.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/10/2021

Thank you Maurice!

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Be aware!!

For weekend, they want you to finish 18 holes in 3 hrs 30mins. If you are behind, they will keep ask you to catch up the pace and ask for skip the hole.

I played here today with my friends, handicap between 6-10, at Blue tee. It was first time for two of them. We finish up 4hrs 10mins.

So guess what! We kept getting alert from marshall. And their attitude was very rude.
We spent $99 for tee time and they treat us like ****.

Please be aware! Go this place if your group can finish up the round in 3hrs 30mins. 18 holes.
We wont go back. There is no respect for customer.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/25/2021

We are sorry you were not able to enjoy your round. We ask that all weekend rounds played before 8 am maintain a four hour pace, which is what we explained - nicely we thought. Your groups were well behind that pace and ended up cathcing up some, and finishing in 4 hours 19 minutes. We respect all of our customers - including all of those that played behind you that day. Thank you!.

Played On
Reviews 5
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Absolutely loved it

We played here for the very first time and we loved the course! The course layout was nice, it was maintained well, the pace was excellent, and my favorite part of the play is the GPS cart.

The only thing I wasnt too happy was that the course was aerated just before we played, which made our clubs super muddy. We were though notified the night before that the aeration would happen. Super friendly msg - it was cute.

We encountered the great blue herons a couple of times during our play. It casually just walked behind us as we play.

I absolutely love their GPS cart. I wish every courses had these. The gps also tells you if you are late in the pace. That was awesome.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/25/2021

Thank you so much for the nice review!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course. Great deal.

Great shape and lots of character. Fairly challenging and fun.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/21/2021

Thank you!!

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
1.0

horrific pace, no marshall

we teed off a little before 1 PM yesterday 9/11. the pace of play was absolutely terrible. I clocked our round at a little over 5 hours. I called in to report slow play, got left on hold, then called back again, and still never saw a marshall. while the course itself is nice, everything else needs to be managed better.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/12/2021

We are very sorry about the pace Saturday. You are right and there is no excuse except we did not do our job the way we should have. Our sincere apologies.

Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Overcast day but still had a great time

It was a very overcast day and some rain came through but we were able to finish all 18 holes and thoroughly enjoyed it. Course was in great shape, some evidence of airation on the greens but still able to play normally. Will definitely be back again hopefully on a sunnier day

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/07/2021

Thank you - glad you were able to get in your round!

Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 23
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Nearby Courses
Laytonsville, Maryland
Private
4.7142857143
2
Laytonsville, Maryland
Public/Municipal
3.2442285714
63
Rockville, Maryland
Private
4.5714285714
4
Derwood, Maryland
Public
3.9592705882
56
Derwood, Maryland
Public
3.9592705882
56
Rockville, Maryland
Private
5.0
2
Silver Spring, Maryland
Private
4.5
2
Wheaton, Maryland
Public
3.8762
95
Glenwood, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Silver Spring, Maryland
Private
5.0
1
Wheaton, Maryland
Public
3.8762
95
Golf Packages
FROM $277 (USD)
LEESBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Lansdowne Resort and 2 rounds of golf at The Golf Club at Lansdowne - Greg Norman & Robert Trent Jones Jr. courses.
FROM $187 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection and 2 rounds of golf at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club - Gold & Green Courses.
FROM $207 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
FROM $147 (USD)
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at Seaview Dolce Hotel & Courtyard Allentown Behtlehem/Lehigh Valley and 4 rounds of golf at Seaview Pines Course, Seaview Bay Course and Architects Golf Club.
FROM $217 (USD)
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Seaview, A Dolce Hotel and 2 rounds of golf at Seaview Bay & Pines Courses.
Now Reading