Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
299 Reviews (299)
5 Stars
102
4 Stars
147
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.7
92.3%
Recommend this course
276 out of 299 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
62 Reviews (62)
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.3
91.9%
Recommend this course
57 out of 62 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
81 Reviews (81)
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.4
93.8%
Recommend this course
76 out of 81 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Municipal
Par 70
Length 6015 yards
Slope 123
Rating 68.3
Book a Tee Time at
St. Clair Shores Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1975
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round, weather permitting
Architect Bruce Matthews (1975) Jerry Matthews (1975) Jerry Matthews

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Caddies No
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted MasterCard Visa card(s) Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

4.2
299 Reviews (299)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 11
Water Hazards 9
Thick Rough 7
This course/club is great for:
Locals 13
9-Hole Rounds 9
Walkers 9
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 12
In the 'Burbs 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great little course

The course was in excellent shape. Greens were airated top dressed earlier in the week, but were still playable.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the money

Slow slow pace of play. Course so wet nearly unplayable

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/19/2021

Thank you for your comment. Unfortunately the high amount of rain we've received this fall has made the course wet for much of fall. We will be working to add drainage in the offseason. If you're completely unsatisfied please reach out to Rob at 586-294-2000 ext. 2 for possible compensation.

Thank you

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun course

Always have a good time playing at this course not difficult but some fun holes, especially the par 3s

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 35
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 18
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best conditions around

Amazing per usual. Best course conditions you can find without paying for a 100$ round of golf. Go to course for me!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun course

Fun course from the tips to challenge your driver, and greens that allow you to use your skills.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice Day

Course was in good shape. The greens were in good shape but they were running a little slow. Front name plate in less than 2 hours. Back nine was a little slower cuz they let out people off the back time while we were making the turn. Ruff was very long

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Previously Played

Good course bad staff

Solid course but you won't find a more unfriendly staff anywhere. Several bad experiences here with the course staff/rangers. Unfortunately there's just not many golf options on the east side so I find myself coming back.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/27/2021

Please call Rob at 586-294-2000 ext. 2 to discuss issues you've had with the staff. I'd like to address them if need be but I do need you to come forward to help me. My goal is to provide the best customer service possible and most reviews have reflected that so this concerns me that it has been multiple times.

Thank you.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Day at SCS!

Course was in great shape, took my 9 year old son, had a lot of fun!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow play too many golfers on the course

Could be a fun course for average golfers, if the management would just spread tee times out a little more.
They also need to hire some rangers to keep slow players moving.
Teed off at 4:20 and didn’t finish up till 9PM.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/02/2021

Hi David,

Sorry to hear that you didn't have the experience you were expecting. Our tee times are spaced at 9 minutes with occasional buffer times in-between. Normally that is sufficient but we apologize it wasn't on your date of play. We do provide a ranger throughout the day and hopefully you spoke with him about the slow play in front of you. If you'd like to reach out to me to discuss possible compensation please call Rob at 586-294-2000 ext. 2.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great course, always kept up.

I have been playing at the shores for a while now. It’s one of our home courses we enjoy playing the most. Two par 3’s on the front make it challenging because their right next to the freeway. Distance control is a must, both greens have quite a bit of slope. I would say it’s not a easy course for any caliber player. It’s worth the money and it’s fair priced, they don’t rip you off. I’ve played the bigger courses that cost more coin and I get the same at the Shores for cheaper rates. If you haven’t played here, give it a chance. I would highly recommend playing here, if your looking for a course that takes pride in their work.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great short course

Man great little course. Not long but tight with large good greens. I am new to the area and am trying new courses. This is a definite play. The bartender @ Cranks was awesome and really helped us with some local knowledge. I’d go back for her alone.
Play this course. ⛳️

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 30
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Had Fun

Course pretty good considering all the rain we’ve been having. Car path only which slows down pace. But still fun.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Fraser, Michigan
Public
5.0
1
Clinton Township, Michigan
Public
3.3600705882
300
Mount Clemens, Michigan
Private
5.0
3
Mount Clemens, Michigan
Public
5.0
2
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
4.0000294118
7
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
4.0000294118
7
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
2.7903882353
61
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
4.3137117647
8
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
2.9098705882
54
Harrison Township, Michigan
Military
3.0714285714
3
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Public
2.9236235294
49
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Private
0.0
0
Golf Packages
FROM $157 (USD)
NIAGARA FALLS, CAN | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at your choice of two hotels and 3 rounds of golf at Legends on the Niagara Battlefield and Usher's Creek courses, and Whirlpool.
FROM $167 (USD)
Savor the marvelous destination that is Northern Michigan and enjoy up to 36 holes a day during the long summer days! Our Boyne golf package features exceptional flexibility and selection thanks to two of the state's finest multi-course golf resorts.
FROM $617 (USD)
KOHLER, WI | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at The American Club or Inn at Woodlake, and 3 rounds of golf at Blackwolf Run and Whistling Straits courses.
FROM $557 (USD)
KOHLER, WI | Enjoy 3 nights’ accommodations at The American Club or Inn at Woodlake, and 4 rounds of golf at Blackwolf Run and Whistling Straits courses.
Now Reading