GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
63 Reviews (63)
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
6
Conditions
3.9
Value
2.9
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.8
72.3%
Recommend this course
53 out of 63 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
5.0
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.0
Layout
5.0
Pace
5.0
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
5 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
8 Reviews (8)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
3.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.9
87.5%
Recommend this course
7 out of 8 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Municipal
Par 71
Length 6680 yards
Slope 129
Rating 72.4
Book a Tee Time at
Baylands Golf Links
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2018
Golf Season Year round
Architect Forrest Richardson (2018)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, Mastercard, American Express
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Bar, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities

Available Activities

Swimming, Billiards

Reviews

3.7
63 Reviews (63)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 11
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 138
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Walked

Must PLay

Great course. Fairways get a lot of roll, sand traps had sand and the greens were in great shape. This is a well maintained course. I will definitely play this course again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 138
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Walked

First Time

First time playing this course, really liked it. The course was in beautiful condition, fairways run a little better and for me that is great. Greens were in great shape, fast and very tricky. Liked their bunkers, had sand. I will definitely play this course again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great links style course

This course blew us away. It took a while but we finally got to play this course. Tee times at 15 minute intervals made sure groups weren’t bunched up and not hurried. Pace of play was just right. Fairways were great. Greens were challenging but not slippery. The afternoon bay winds figured into the club selections. We had a great time and will definitely come back

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 10
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Walked

Confusing course

The staff was excellent, very friendly. We experienced a lot of difficulty figuring out the direction of each fairway to the green. There are times when fairways overlap with one another, and greens as well. There are times when you are looking for the flag and you may see up to three different flags that are possible candidates. I used the 18 birdies mobile app and this did not help much. The fairways are kept very trim, too short in many areas. The rough is horrible, if you hit it into the rough either send out the search party or say your fairwells. I lost at least six balls on this round. I went to a cheaper ball after nine holes.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/08/2023

Hello Brian,
Thank you for your feedback. While glad that our staff was friendly and excellent, I'm sorry that you had difficulty navigating the course. Since our maintained turf is all fairway cut, I assume you are referring to the native grass areas on the perimeter of the course that are very healthy, as designed, after our wet winter. To save time, we do employ the local E-5 Rule which allows you to drop a ball in the fairway with a two-stroke penalty.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Over Priced

I flew in from Maryland in the morning and played Baylands in the afternoon. I don’t post reviews much but thought it was worth it this time. I was safely disappointed with the course based on the price. the greens were really good but the rest of the track was in horrific shape and for $195 plus another $15 for range balls (I had rental clubs) it was incredibly disappointing. When I say dog track I am not referring to them letting people bring their dogs to the course while they play (I actually loved that and wish I would see that at more courses) but I am talking about the terribly maintained rough, fairways, bunkers, and tee boxes. for that kind of $$$ I expect more. In comparison I went and played Half moon bay the next day which cost $200 with rentals and let me tell you I was more then happy to pay that for a course of that caliber. I would expect Baylands to be $40 to play and $60 for rentals (as the rentals were in rough shape as well). I will say the staff was very pleasent which i always appreciate. Anyway as I said I don’t complain ever but thought it was worth putting this out there

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/31/2023

Hello Mr. Krasics,
Thank you for your comment. I do apologize for your experience. Our area has received historic amounts of rainfall this winter and received another 1" of rain the day prior to your arrival resulting in the sloppy conditions. I assure you the course is normally in wonderful condition. With that being said, I'd like to make things right with you. Please contact our general manager to discuss further.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/30/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review our course. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/06/2022

Thanks for sharing your opinion. Our new superintendent has the course in fantastic condition and if you are looking for value check out the daily deals.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We hope to see you again and have the opportunity to improve.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Walked

Too expensive for what it is

Overall the layout of this course is pretty easy, wide fairways, mostly flat. It would be a good track to walk if it wasn't for the price. The course condition is pretty good and usually the greens are in great shape. That being said, the price is absolutely bonkers. There are plenty of other similar difficulty courses in good condition in the area for half the price.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/15/2022

Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to improving your experience.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

$$$$$

Greens in good shape. $143 to play before 3pm (very unlikely to finish 15 holes never mind 18) is crazy money for what this course offers. Very slow, marshals non existent.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/28/2022

Hello Steve,
Thank you for sharing. We're sorry that you had a negative experience. I'd like for you to contact us directly (ask for GM) so that we can make this up to you.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/02/2022

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you found the greens in good shape. Very sorry you weren't able to complete your round. Please contact us for additional action.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

fair course set-up, but this is a pet farm

Played the course on a weekday. Pace of play was very slow. A dog kept running up on us while we were hitting shots. The dog belonged to another golfer in proximity to us and was chasing rabbits, geese, squirrels, etc. No marshall the entire time we were on the course. Told the pro shop when we finished our round. They said dogs are allowed on the course and acted like it was no big deal. If you want a zoo-like atmosphere where the animals run free, then this is the place for you. If you want to play golf, there are better, less expensive options

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Walked

Overpriced

Nice course that was redone several years ago but, boy, are they proud of it. Ridiculously expensive for what it is. You can play any public course within a 75-mile radius at a much better value. The links card used to be a decent value when they would give everyone in the foursome the cardholder rate. That is no longer true.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 03/02/2022

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the course. By the way, we do offer a frequent player discount card that can dramatically lower the green fee.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/06/2022

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. We strive to deliver an exceptional and fun experience for all.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great course

Had a lot of fun here with a friend. Great links course with wide open fairways. Greens are fast! This is easily one of my favorite courses in the Bay Area. Fun but challenging.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/12/2021

We’re thrilled to hear you had a positive experience. We’d love to learn more about what we did to earn it!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Slow (S-L-O-W-W-W) pace of play

Pace of play is often horribly slow, even on weekdays. As a regular customer, I've frequently spoken about the slowness with several employees. It turns out Baylands' (OB Sports') director Matthew Malloy prohibits their marshals/rangers from trying to keep a reasonable pace of play. The marshals are not allowed to say anything to the slow groups that are holding up the rest of the course. NOTHING. Apparently Malloy/OBS thinks having active marshals would result in bad experiences for the people in the slow group... but in reality all of the players BEHIND the slow group are actually the ones who end up having bad experiences due to the excruciatingly slow pace of play. It's just a really poor management decision by Malloy and OBS executives. I dread playing there knowing that a 5+ hour round is very likely.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/28/2022

I can attest they have done a 180 degree turn on this policy. Unfortunately it went from lax enforcement of pace of play, to draconian enforcement. One of their marshals, Jim, came up to several people in our group and very rudely told us we were playing too slowly, stupidly did NOT suggest ways we could speed up (ready play, skip a hole, etc), was just interested in verbally attacking us, and then with the third person in our group he approached, got physically aggressive. The most unprofessional experience I've had on a golf course in 40 years. Management refunded out green fees to try to make it right, but the memory still remains, my friends now refuse to play here, and this marshall is still employed here and still unfriendly at best.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/10/2021

Thanks for the info about slow play. Given the fee amount and then you add slow play... I think I'll pass for now.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/17/2021

Thank you for the review, I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. While we do struggle at times with pace of play on busy days, I assure that prohibiting staff from identifying and managing slow play is simply not true. In fact, additional resources were added to the budget this year to increase the staff presence on the course for this very reason. It is one of our top priorities for the operation as we value our players time and know that pace of play is directly tied to the overall experience and value. I am not sure where the miscommunication and misinformation has come from, but I would certainly like to discuss this with you personally. I can assure you that what you were told is the exact opposite to the actual operational direction for the team. Please contact me mmolloy@obsports.com and we can set up a time to discuss this further. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to speaking with you.

Nearby Courses
Mountain View, California
Public
3.3201176471
618
Palo Alto, California
Private
4.75
4
Sunnyvale, California
Military
4.1031352941
81
Menlo Park, California
Private
0.0
0
Sunnyvale, California
Public/Municipal
3.5412588235
628
Palo Alto, California
Private
4.0
1
Woodside, California
Private
0.0
0
Los Altos, California
Private
0.0
0
Redwood City, California
Public
3.2978588235
159
Sunnyvale, California
Public/Municipal
4.1581352941
294
Cupertino, California
Public
4.1140705882
367
Cupertino, California
Public
3.8430705882
510
Golf Packages
FROM $757 (USD)
HALF MOON BAY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at The Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay and 2 rounds of golf at Half Moon Bay Golf Links.
FROM $437 (USD)
HALF MOON BAY, CA | Enjoy 1 night's accommodation at Half Moon Bay Lodge and 2 rounds of golf at Half Moon Bay Old Course & Half Moon Bay Ocean Course.
FROM $437 (USD)
SAN FRANCISCO, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Hotel Kabuki and 2 rounds of golf at Harding Park & Presidio Golf Club.
FROM $527 (USD)
SAN FRANCISCO, CA | Enjoy 4 nights’ accommodations at Fairmont San Francisco and 4 rounds of golf at TPC Harding Park, Presidio Golf Course, and Half Moon Bay Golf Links-Old & Ocean Courses.
FROM $567 (USD)
MONTEREY, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Embassy Suites by Hilton and 3 rounds of golf at Poppy Hills Golf Course, Black Horse Golf Course & Del Monte™ Golf Course.
Now Reading