A view of fairway #6 at Waverly Woods Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
311 Reviews (311)
5 Stars
177
4 Stars
109
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.1
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.2
92.8%
Recommend this course
286 out of 311 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
55 Reviews (55)
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.7
92.7%
Recommend this course
51 out of 55 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
113 Reviews (113)
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
92.9%
Recommend this course
105 out of 113 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7024 yards
Slope 135
Rating 74.0
Book a Tee Time at
Waverly Woods Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1998
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arthur Hills (1998)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
311 Reviews (311)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 7
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 11
Forced Carries 8
Undulating Greens 8
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 13
A Weekend Splurge 8
Locals 7
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 11
Convenient to the City 9
Worth the Drive 8

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0

lovely saturday at waverly

we played this morning at waverly. the course (greens in particular) are in excellent condition. staff and manager was friendly and helpful with getting a group in front of us to skip a hole when they were slow. we enjoyed the bar after the round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0

Rivals High-End Clubs

We had a very memorable experience today. The course itself rivals high-end private clubs (though I do wish people would fill their divots... not your fault!) It was firm and the greens rolled true. IT was a tough test of golf from the tees we played from... we may have bit off more than we could chew. Additionally, the hospitality we received from Joe and Cory at the check-in, Jack on the first tee, as well as Hannah at your restaurant was great. It was our first time playing while in the area, and we will definitely come back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/17/2021

Thank you - we are so glad you enjoyed it!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0

Beautiful Day, Firm Greens

Good round, 5 stars. The course is running extremely firm (but the greens are not fast incidentally, just hard to hold with approaches). Weather was great, and I couldn’t believe we played in under 4 hours having teed off a little after 10 am on a sunday. That is unheard of nowadays. Probably my best experience at a public course in a while, and I had a nice conversation with your pro who worked at a club I used to belong to.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/12/2021

Thanks!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0

other reviews are accurate

this golf course really needs to reconsider its pace policies. I understand that pace of play is a problem at golf courses, but when you're asking a group with seniors to either pick up the pace or let people play through on a 100 degree day, it's totally overboard. there was never a group in front of us from the time we went out, and the group behind was never really ready to play through, yet we received messages that we were behind, and then were approached by two clubhouse employees on the course (who were both perfectly polite and made friendly conversation, but that is totally besides the point). when we left, the parking lot was practically empty. do the people who run this place actually play golf, or are they just running a golf factory with the goal of pumping people through?

Conditions Excellent
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/08/2021

Thank you - we have hundreds of golfers playing every weekend and the vast majority appreciate our efforts to keep pace of play moving along. All the best,

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0

A Great Day Despite a Technical Golfnow problem. Accommodating Staff.

We had an 11:50 tee time on 7/5 booked online with a confirmation email. For some reason, when we arrived, our tee time was not on your reservations. Seemed like a technical issue. (possibly on my end? not really sure) Fortunately, the guy who was the manager or at least in charge, accommodated us without a hitch and squeezed us in anyway. It was a fun holiday round. Had this happen years ago with an online tee time at another course, and the staff was not as friendly, so I appreciate you handling it and getting us on the course anyway.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2021

Thank you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2021

Thanks a lot!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0

All Good

We enjoyed our Saturday, mid-morning, round today. Course is in good shape for the season, staff was friendly and helpful, pace was good for a weekend, and the food after was great. We will be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2021

Thanks!

Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/03/2021

Thank you!!!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Deal watcher

Always have loved the variety of holes and risk/reward of Waverly Woods. I’ve struggled to get out though because of the increased cost. After watching prices, we got out for $54 a great price point. Course was in great shape, rough was lush and was fair but costly. Greens were slow today but that may have been because of the near 100 degree temps.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Amazing public course

Second time playing this course. Layout and course conditions are excellent. Staff was very friendly. Greens are fast - do yourself a favor and watch the video caddie on the course website if you’ve never played here. Fair but challenging layout. Great course - will be back soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/30/2021

Thank you - glad you liked our video caddie

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

2nd Times the Charm

Played earlier in the Spring before the course had greened up. This time the course was lush. We only had two and got paired up with a couple of younger guys. They were fun to play with. Started was helpful. Cart Girl was pleasant. Everything was in good shape: tee boxes, fairways and greens. Nice being back to where you have sand bottles to help fix the course as you play. Will definitely be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0

Fun Friday round

Waverly was great on Friday. Greens were fast. I appreciated Cory, and the other gentleman who may have been a manager or pro shop employee, coming out on the golf course to assist with getting the group ahead to pick up the pace.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/25/2021

Thank you!

Played On
Reviews 14
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor greens

Charged premium price for course trust rough was high and the greens were air raided should have been told prior to booking

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2021

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations Sunday. We cannot contact you if you book on golfnow.com. The rough will always be a bit longer on Sundays as we cannot mow on weekends. The spiking of the greens speeds up the greens and smooths out ball marks, improving ball roll. You actually did receive a discounted rate on Father's Day, as we did not raise rates, which the market will allow and which many courses do. All the best,

Nearby Courses
Ellicott City, Maryland
Resort
3.7143
14
Ellicott City, Maryland
Resort
2.75
4
West Friendship, Maryland
Public
3.3615117647
175
Columbia, Maryland
Public
4.0098352941
370
Columbia, Maryland
Semi-Private
3.963
54
Windsor Mill, Maryland
Public
3.3431176471
16
Windsor Mill, Maryland
Public
3.3431176471
16
Glenwood, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Pikesville, Maryland
Private
2.5980294118
8
Catonsville, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Elkridge, Maryland
Public
3.9073764706
371
Owings Mills, Maryland
Private
0.0
0
Golf Packages
FROM $277 (USD)
LEESBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Lansdowne Resort and 2 rounds of golf at The Golf Club at Lansdowne - Greg Norman & Robert Trent Jones Jr. courses.
FROM $147 (USD)
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at Seaview Dolce Hotel & Courtyard Allentown Behtlehem/Lehigh Valley and 4 rounds of golf at Seaview Pines Course, Seaview Bay Course and Architects Golf Club.
FROM $217 (USD)
ATLANTIC CITY, NJ | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Seaview, A Dolce Hotel and 2 rounds of golf at Seaview Bay & Pines Courses.
FROM $187 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection and 2 rounds of golf at Golden Horseshoe Golf Club - Gold & Green Courses.
FROM $207 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE