GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
763 Reviews (763)
5 Stars
246
4 Stars
371
3 Stars
94
2 Stars
30
1 Stars
22
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.6
85.1%
Recommend this course
678 out of 763 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
42 Reviews (42)
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.6
83.3%
Recommend this course
35 out of 42 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.7
181 Reviews (181)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
33
2 Stars
15
1 Stars
11
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.8
Layout
4.1
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
78.5%
Recommend this course
142 out of 181 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Resort
Par 72
Length 6838 yards
Slope 133
Rating 72.5
Book a Tee Time at
The Champion Turf Club at St. James
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes - "St. James Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #23)

Reviews

3.9
763 Reviews (763)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 11
Course Challenges Include:
Undulating Greens 19
Water Hazards 13
Bunkers 11
This course/club is great for:
Locals 19
Advanced Golfers 13
Seniors 9
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 15
Worth the Drive 9

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

WOw - surprisingly great!

I had never heard anyone say anything great about the course up until recently. I tried the course and it was fantastic. The fairways were well maintained and the greens were fast! Crazy fast! They put some effort and time into this course and it is worthwhile!! Good time! Great round!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Response from on 12/28/2016:
Thank you for the great 5-Star review! We're glad you had a fantastic round--spread the word to your friends & family!
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 43
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sad

Waited for it to reopen, disappointed!! Play there so many times, it’s a shame.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Played On
Reviews 7
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

Hi, pitafrog. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

RG3CE55992008F89BD5E, thank you for the awesome rating! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another great experience, and thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

u108207213, thanks for the amazing review and for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James. We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

Hi, u108207213. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 36
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

michellehoux, thank you for the awesome rating! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another great experience, and thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 15
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

u314160913689, thanks for the amazing review and for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James. We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share your favorite part of your experience and what we can do to earn that last star! Thanks for golfing at The Champion Turf Club at St. James!

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/21/2022

Hello u108207213. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent rating! We really appreciate your business. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future to earn that last star and thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Terrible course, don't waste your money.

Course looked more like a cow pasture than a golf course.... temporary "greens" cut in the fairways about 120 yards short of the green.... 1 MAN BAND at 9 am... no clubhouse, no nothing.... ASKED for a rain check on the 1st tee... was told NO.

Save your money. Or just go cut some holes in a cow pasture.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/23/2022

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. The course is currently under construction for improvement which is why there are currently temporary greens in place (noted at the time of booking and via the confirmation email provided). These types of things are necessary for course improvements for enhanced future play. Due to the construction, we are charging a significantly discounted rate as we understand the conditions at this time are not our standard. With deal tee times, they are not eligible for refunds or rain checks. We hope you understand and can re-evaluate your feedback. We also hope you will check out the course once the work is complete to experience a true round at Champion Turf Club at St. James!

Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Temp Greens $15.

It’s nice of the course to remain open. Temporary grains or an automatic to put. Looking forward to the reopening with new greens and colors at the end of September.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/22/2022

CanadaFlorida, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 205
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/22/2022

Hi, u6854197. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at The Champion Turf Club at St. James!

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Course under construction

Range is open. Small course is available at a good price.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/22/2022

Hello, Tenhdcp. Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at The Champion Turf Club at St. James. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 205
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pretty difficult course

If you want to play fast greens, this is the place to go!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/22/2022

Thanks so much for the great review, JoeNowak. We look forward to welcoming you back to our course soon. Thanks for choosing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 16
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Only the back 9 was open. Course is being sprayed for weeds and greens replacements. Not bad under the circumstances.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/05/2022

Hi, johnrabba. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Played On
Reviews 43
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Shut down back nine

They closed the back nine for the greens but never told me until I was there to pay. Played front nine, twice. Of course when I started on the second nine I had to wait forever since there was multiple foursomes ahead.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/08/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us, warlock22. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting The Champion Turf Club at St. James, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

Hello, German4727810. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit.

We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind.

Played On
Reviews 13
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Hot! Hot! Hot!

We can't control Mother Nature. We can only deal with what she hands us. Blistering hot! The course had a few moist spots, after some previous night's rain, but overall decent. Greens were the best I've played at anywhere recently, from Viera to Port St. Lucie. Nice staff! Facility provides free ice.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, u000002027118! We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Champion Turf Club at St. James.

Nearby Courses
Fort Pierce, Florida
Semi-Private
2.4823529412
17
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Public
4.4884764706
634
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Public
3.6590833333
13
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Private
0.0
0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Private
1.0
1
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Public
4.8333333333
8
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Public
4.6797411765
16
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Private
0.0
0
Fort Pierce, Florida
Municipal
3.7005428571
273
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Public/Municipal
4.1698176471
687
Golf Packages
FROM $397 (USD)
MIAMI, FL | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at JW Marriott Miami Turnberry Resort & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at Turnberry Isle Country Club - Soffer & Miller Courses.
FROM $97 (USD)
ORLANDO, FL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodation at The Fountains Resort Orlando and 4 rounds of golf at Celebration Golf Club, Orange County National, Shingle Creek Golf Club and Falcons Fire Golf Club.
FROM $107 (USD)
ORLANDO, FL | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation at Tuscana Resort Orlando and 3 rounds of golf at Disney’s Magnolia Golf Course, Palm Golf Course and Lake Buena Vista Golf Course.
FROM $157 (USD)
ORLANDO, FL | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodation at The Fountains Resort Championsgate and 6 rounds of golf at Orange County Panther Lake, Orange County Crooked Cat, Omni International, Omni National, Celebration Golf Club and Falcons Fire Golf Club.
FROM $147 (USD)
ORLANDO, FL | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation at Tuscana Resort Orlando and 3 rounds of golf at Bella Collina Country Club, Southern Dunes Golf and Country Club and The Country Club of Winterhaven.
Now Reading