Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club - Lakes/Cypress Course
|Tee 1 M: 73.1/129||377||414||364||188||396||514||530||180||434||3397||397||558||236||367||192||411||403||608||434||3606||7003|
|Tee 2 M: 70.3/125||348||388||337||171||364||486||500||140||403||3137||375||524||214||336||181||381||376||569||402||3358||6495|
|Tee 3 M: 66.5/111 W: 71.5/118||306||348||296||139||332||449||445||116||354||2785||336||486||157||290||154||333||326||482||336||2900||5685|
|Honours M: 64.9/106 W: 69.4/114||304||312||294||130||320||440||435||108||320||2663||301||430||149||284||135||300||319||435||300||2653||5316|
|Tee 4 W: 67.5/110||268||308||260||96||290||418||412||99||315||2466||260||424||124||244||120||291||288||429||295||2475||4941|
Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Alabama
Golf Advisor: Top 25 Course Conditions in the U.S.
Had a foursome. Had a 7:32 tee time and was through 5 holes in 58minutes. Ranger came up to us and told us our pace of play was too slow. We talked to him and he agreed our pace was perfectly fine(Nobody was waiting on us). The next hole someone two groups back drove over and started yelling during someone in my groups back swing.
Gulf Shores, AL has some great golf. Of the 5 courses we played (all top rated), this was the prettiest. The course layout requires good shots be made, but even when off target the course was fair in allowing recovery without blowing an overall score.
This course was challenging but fair. It was in excellent condition - tee boxes, fairways, bunkers, and greens. The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. The food was delicious! All in all, a very nice afternoon on a beautiful course.
(Be certain you play the correct tees for your handicap. Once we moved up one set of tees, the corse was much more fun.)
Excellent value and experience
The Marsh/Lakes combination is a very different set of 9 holes. Marsh greens have recently been totally redone and in time, they will be outstanding. They have meticulously reduced the size of the greens and for brand new greens, they look very healthy and show much potential. Lakes is a fun course, with the highlight of the final par 5 along the beautiful Mobile Bay. You can generally always see the famous eagle in his nest on this hole! The staff is outstanding and always trying to make your experience excellent! Food is very good!!
Not worth 90 bucks
When I called to make a tee time for later the same day, I was told our first nine would be on the Marsh nine. I was told the greens had been redone and "today" was the first day for golfers to be on the nine. I was told the greens would be firm but were in great shape and were rolling true. In reality, the greens were the best part of the nine. Some course employees didn't even know the nine was open and others told us it hadn't been "cleaned up". The story kept getting worse the more we talked to the course employees. There was sand all of the fairways and tire tracks from the big spreader that was spreading the sand (assume a sand and seed mixture). The tee boxes had not been marked and in general you could tell the nine was nowhere ready for play. Reality was a much different story from what I was told when making the tee time. I truly believe they received an influx of tee time request and decided to open the Marsh nine so not to lose out on $$$$.
Our back nine was one the Lakes. A short, challenging layout, but not in great shape at all. Both the greens and fairways need a lot of work. I'm not sure what they were doing in the bunkers, but in several bunkers there were tire tracks as if someone drove back and forth in the bunkers.
All in all, this course, even with a "ready" Marsh nine, is not work 90 bucks. It's a $40 dollar course at best. I will not play this course again in future visits to Gulf Shores!!
Discuss more??? Seriously??
And you are going to refund part of my green fees? Sure you won't!! Thanks, but no thanks! I've wasted enough time and money on The Peninsula while playing golf. I don't need to waste more time telling you something I already have and what you knew before you put paying customers on a nine that wasn't ready for play. Not to mention the poor shape of the other nine. Good luck.
We understand, sir. Again, we thank you for your feedback as we value your opinion. We would love to discuss this experience with you more at length. Please contact us at your convenience at 251-968-2769.
If you knew you were opening prematurely, then why was I charged the full price???? Totally unacceptable. And as I suspected, you were out for the money and completely overlooked the customer experience. We come to Gulf Shores frequently. I will never play this course again, nor recommend to anyone!!! You should charge what the course is worth at the time of play. 90 bucks for that POS is unacceptable!!!! I should have stayed at Kiva Dunes or GSGC. I'll know better next time.
We are sorry we failed to meet and exceed our own expectations. This is not a normal representation of our daily operation. Our excitement for the newly renovated greens led to opening prematurely. Please call us to discuss further and again, we apologize for your experience. Thank you for letting us know of your experience so we can improve in the future. 251-968-2769.
I played the lakes/cypress as that was the only two 9’s open. They are redoing the greens on Marsh which makes sense. Some of the greens on lakes and cypress were terrible with dead spots on them. They said the greens had a mutation. I think with mutated greens you lower your green fee. In the current state the course isn’t worth a $100 green fee. Also, I played as a single and took nearly 3 1/2 hours. I was the 2nd tee time off that morning and we were waiting for the greenskeeper every hole. Either the course is understaffed or they didn’t get started early enough.
Other than those two things the course is a nice course. Some semi blind tee shots, could be it was my first time or the carts don’t have a GPS which is another issue with the $100 green fee. Fairways were manicured nicely and the rough wasn’t too long.
Please know that we appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We are so sorry that your experience with was not up to the standards in which we hold ourselves accountable.You are right; however, that we are investing over $1M to redo the greens so that they are perfect. We invite you to please return after the renovation. We'd also like to discuss this experience with you further. Please contact our Director of Golf, Anthony Vaugh, via phone or email at Anthony.firstname.lastname@example.org or 251-968-8009.
Another Great Round at Peninsula
Got the chance to play peninsula marsh and lakes 2 years ago and played lakes and Cypress this year.
It was another awesome experience. I gave it 4 stars only because I reserve 5 stars for premier bucket list, historic type courses. Still, peninsula is an all around great golf experience. The twilight and week long deals are rough to beat.
Course conditions are always outstanding with smooth , fast greens. Pro shop is full of swag and the staff is extremely friendly. Good bar and restaurant as well.
If you are looking for a great round of golf convenient to the beach, this is the place to go.
I booked the tee time for my cousins and I to get together while I took my wife to Gulf Shores for her birthday. The staff was awesome and very friendly from the parking lot, pro shop and grill. The course was just right for all levels of play in our group. Pace of play was excellent. I highly recommend this course for all plus it was a good value.
Staff did not advise that the greens had been fertilized and had some bad trash grass growing on alot of them. One nine out of three was shut down. 90.00 a round is way to high to play when one nine greens are in terrible shape. Ive played on alot nicer courses and alot more expensive and they have told you before play and knocked the green fee down to accommodate. The layout has always been my favoriate but crowded probably due to one of the nines being closed
Please contact Anthony Vaughn, the Director of Golf at Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club by sending him an email to email@example.com or by calling him at 251-968-8009. We will love to discuss this issue with you further.
Marsh side is not worth your money
Played lake to marsh and greens on Marsh were awful. Very rough greens and dead spots. $97 and played a good nine holes on the lake side but made the turn and the Marsh side was not worth $47-48. I would look else were. Pro shop staff was not concerned about our 8 some complaining about the poor course conditions.
We all question the validity of “reviews” claiming top whatever category in such and such magazine or weoter’s group. The condition of this course lived up to all the hype. The layout is varied form straightforward to challenging but in all instances fair. If we are ever even close to Gulf Shores I likely will not consider playing a different course.
Really enjoyed my round at Peninsula. The course was on excellent condition with a unique layout where each of the holes are memorable and different. The pace of play the day we played was rather slw and I did not se any rangers on the course to move things along our round was close to 5 hrs which is too long. The staff was very friendly and the facilwere first rate. Looking forward to playing again and experiencing the Marsh nine on my next trip to Gulf Shores.
Beautiful course and well maintained
Pace of play was NOT what I expected. Took
4 1/2 - 4:45 hours! Play came to a halt on entire 2nd nine with no Marshall in sight! 3 groups on every hole (overbooked??)