Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
255 Reviews (255)
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
71
3 Stars
51
2 Stars
42
1 Stars
51
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.4
Layout
3.0
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.7
Amenities
2.6
60.2%
Recommend this course
152 out of 255 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.7
42 Reviews (42)
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
14
1 Stars
10
Conditions
2.0
Value
2.8
Layout
2.8
Pace
3.6
Amenities
2.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
40.5%
Recommend this course
17 out of 42 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.9
80 Reviews (80)
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
17
1 Stars
21
Conditions
2.3
Value
3.1
Layout
2.9
Pace
3.4
Amenities
2.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
50.0%
Recommend this course
40 out of 80 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Par 30
Length 2127 yards
Slope 95
Rating 30.3
Book a Tee Time at
Harvey Penick Golf Campus
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2005
Golf Season Year round
Architect PGA TOUR Design Services (2005)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MC, AMEX
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes
Walking Allowed Yes

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2016 #10)

Reviews

3.0
255 Reviews (255)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 12
Water Hazards 12
Thick Rough 11
This course/club is great for:
9-Hole Rounds 24
Beginners 22
Junior Golfers 18
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 24
Near the Airport 13

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Average weather
Used cart

short course

This course was in good shape due to the rain the past week. I like going here to work on my short game and it did the trick.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Awesome day

Had an awesome time as always
Love taking my son out there to learn the game and the conditions are getting better and better

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/13/2021

Hi, ccpartyguy. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Mud and sand

The greens were terrible. They had spots with absolutely no grass and sand put in it’s place. The fairways were muddy in a lot of spots but not from rain,

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/07/2021

Hi, u314162149535! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at Harvey Penick Golf Campus!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/30/2021

Hi, poguet. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Walked

Great for beginners

I took my grandchildren who are learning to golf. The staff was very nice and helpful!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/16/2021

Hi, u314162043147. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Hpgc

Nice place to ⛳ .course getting better ..seen the improvements... Great job guys ..keep it up..
See u next week

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2021

Hi, u314160174581. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/27/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u314161923681! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus!

Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Verified Purchaser

Do not play here. Play anywhere else.

Could barely be considered a golf course. Greens are browns, grass is sand, everything felt like we were on MTV’s ‘Punkd.’ Guy was nice enough, but for real… play anywhere else.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2021

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve and are working diligently to improve the course. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Do not go during the week in summer

Booked this course for myself and a friend for 18 holes. The course was in pretty rough shape . The grounds were hard and cracking in the tee box (broke several tees trying to place them in the ground finally just fit them into the cracked earth) and the greens were muddy and very bumpy. The course itself was ok for the money was much closer to a par 3 course (pitch and putt) than a full course l. The staff was friendly and helpful. The biggest drawback was that apparently they do kids camps Monday- Thursday in the summer so we there were groups of about 10 kids at ever hole. They staff said we should be able to play through but it still didn't make for an enjoyable experience for adults trying enjoy a morning of golf. I would have really appreciated knowing about the camps at the time of booking as I would have made a different choice .

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/17/2021

Hi, jlevings13. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/17/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u314161703868! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus!

Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/17/2021

Hello, u778462276. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

You should get paid to play here.

Completely awful. Don’t ever play here. Horrible layout. Greens are terrible. Unless you like putting in the mud. They have people playing foot golf that slows down the pace. Walked off after the 3rd hole. Complete garbage

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2021

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve, and we are working towards getting things up to par. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We hope to see you again soon.

Default User Avatar
Anonymous
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Muddy Greens

The city of Austin needs to invest in repair of the greens that were damaged in the FEBRUARY ice storm. The signage on the course is poor.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2021

Thank you for taking the time to review and leave your feedback of your recent round with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at the course with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us. It is always our utmost goal to provide our golfers with a fun and enjoyable time and apologize if we missed the mark.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Wet and putting not possible on greens

Wow, I know we have had a lot of rain but course was in bad shape and hard to follow with different signs for different activities and we couldn't follow the path

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/03/2021

Hi, marjrose. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the teams in charge so they can work to make changes. Thanks for visiting Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not bad for the price

This was our first time playing here, the greens are in poor condition, however the fairways are ok. Staff is very friendly and considering this is one of the cheapest courses in the area I think the value for the money is good.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/18/2021

Hello, paulfast. Thank you for visiting us at Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not for real golf

This is not a real course. Greens were unputtable.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/18/2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/18/2021

Hello, rbeels. We appreciate the review. You rated us 3-stars which means there is room to improve on your recent experience at Harvey Penick Golf Campus. Let us know, in the comments, how and where you would like to see changes from the course. Thanks for the feedback!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/18/2021

Hello, u314161534253. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Not good

Course is in terrible shape with no grass on the greens and very poor directions.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/07/2021

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve, and we are working towards getting things up to par. Thank you for playing Harvey Penick Golf Campus. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/07/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u882450414! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Harvey Penick Golf Campus!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Don’t play here if it’s been raining

Lately the greens have been terrible; almost unreadable. I paid $35 on a hot deal and it wasn’t even worth $20. I understand it’s a 9-hole and normally in decent shape, but it seems like it’s only gotten worse the last few times I’ve played here. Wouldn’t pay more than $20 to play here if it’s like this.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/07/2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course over the years but are very sorry to hear your recent experience with us may have been poor due to the course conditions. We greatly value your feedback as we work towards any necessary improvements and hope you will notice some of these improvements during your next round with us. Thank you for choosing our course, and we hope to see you again soon.

Nearby Courses
Austin, Texas
Public
3.7395294118
365
Austin, Texas
Public/Municipal
3.3831285714
68
Austin, Texas
Public
3.7936941176
364
Austin, Texas
Public
3.05555
4
Austin, Texas
Public
3.2774941176
221
Manor, Texas
Public
4.0091588235
914
Austin, Texas
Public/Municipal
3.9257058824
409
Austin, Texas
Public/Municipal
0.0
0
Austin, Texas
Private
5.0
4
Austin, Texas
Public/Municipal
4.2047705882
436
Austin, Texas
Private
5.0
1
Austin, Texas
Private
4.0
1
Golf Packages
FROM $247 (USD)
AUSTIN, TX | Enjoy a minimum of 1 nights' accommodation at Horseshoe Bay Resort and 1 round of golf on your choice of either the Apple Rock, Ram Rock, or Slick Rock Courses.
FROM $197 (USD)
SAN ANTONIO, TX | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at La Cantera Resort & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at La Cantera Resort - Palmer Course and La Cantera Resort - Resort Course.
Now Reading