A sunset view of a green at Monarch Beach Golf Links.
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
161 Reviews (161)
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.2
Value
3.7
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.5
82.1%
Recommend this course
140 out of 161 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
16 Reviews (16)
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.1
Value
3.5
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.8
81.2%
Recommend this course
13 out of 16 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
34 Reviews (34)
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
3.6
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
4.8
82.4%
Recommend this course
28 out of 34 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Style Links
Par 70
Length 6645 yards
Slope 135
Rating 72.5
Book a Tee Time at
Monarch Beach Golf Links
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1983
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Single Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Food & Beverage

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Locker Rooms

Reviews

4.3
161 Reviews (161)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 6
Undulating Greens 6
This course/club is great for:
A Weekend Splurge 6
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 6
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course set up and water features around the greens are beautiful and challenging.

Monarch Beach Golf Links is a very beautiful and challenging course. My wife and I were greeted by a very friendly staff on arrival and throughout the day. The course is well maintained and has very beautiful views of the ocean on holes #3 and #4. After our round , we had lunch on the terrace that over looked the course and veiw of the ocean. The food and veiw was fantastic. This was well worth our drive from Upland. We both thought it was a perfect day.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 19
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 12/03/2021

We appreciate you rating us 5-stars! Though it seems you rated us twice (see reviews). We obviously like this one more than the 4-star review ;)
We hope you can visit us again & enjoy a 5-star experience!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A forgiving beauty

We played on a chilly overcast day but really didn't notice it as the greens were well kept and fairways layer out nicely before you. I'll bet on a usual SoCal type day it would have been awesome playing along the pacific.

The only knick would be that we got behind a scramble tournament which reminded us that it was very chilly (stood around a bit). But still a great course and I will definitely play again...soon!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 11/05/2021

Glad you were able to join us for a round! We hope you can return next spring/summer to catch us on a beautiful warm coastal day!
Thanks again,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thank you for taking the time to rate us 4-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/15/2021

Thank you for rating us 5-stars! Visit again soon,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser

It’s alright

Not worth $280. Cool hole on the water, some bare spots on fairways greens were in great shape. I thought it would have been better

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 10/01/2021

Greetings KyleWalker02840,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We understand your opinion, though we wish you felt it was more than a 3-star experience. We wish you well, and happy golfing.
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 09/24/2021

Thank you for rating us 5-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful Course to Play

Monarch Beach is easily one of my favorite courses. Each hole is unique and challenging. Gorgeous views of the ocean from multiple holes, especially the third hole, which is adjacent to a beach. Kaitlyn in the pro shop also adds a great touch to the experience with her wonderful customer service. She even remembered me from about six weeks ago when she put me in touch with someone who could order a special shirt for my husband. She could recall very specific details of our prior conversation. Very impressive! I can’t wait to play again in two weeks!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 08/27/2021

Greetings!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visits with us! We will be sure to pass along your kind message about our valued team member! We look forward to hosting you many more time!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 47
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing

Excellent course a must play if in area

Primo resort course. As good as it gets for public access golf. Only eclipsed by Pelican Bay according to Zach. The course and greens were in top notch condition. Two cool holes just above beach. This too is a superbly memorable course. Pay a little extra. It’s worth the experience.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 08/19/2021

Greetings simerm,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on GolfAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our conditions and had a memorable experience.
Visit again soon,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First 4 holes were exciting. Design/layout severely drops off after that. Very short course, I couldn’t count the number of straight forward par 4’s. Pretty location, but a pure moneymaker and not for the avid golfer. Good for out of towners.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 08/19/2021

Greetings EricFuller,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.. We wish you had a better experience but thank you for your honest opinion.
Happy golfing,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 07/23/2021

Thank you for rating us 5-stars!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good Choice

Very nice round. Conditions were good. Greens and tee boxes were in good shape. Fairways decent, challenging layout. My round was extra enjoyable due to pairing with sime very nice members. Joy, the starter and Chad and Scott who helped with my car and clubs were very professional.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 07/23/2021

Thank you very much for taking time to review your round with us. We are going to share your kind words regarding our Team Members with them. We hope you have a chance to visit us again.
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Missing Piece

First time playing this course, and it was a nice layout from the back tees, with fairways and greens in really excellent condition. Staff were great, and its so spectacular to play. What's missing is a driving range of some sort to warm up on before play. The four little mats off in the corner of the putting green don't cut it for me at least. And the older we get, the more we need to loosen up and swing clubs before playing. For this kind of money, I expect a place to warm up.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 07/16/2021

Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We understand the frustration of not having a traditional driving range though are happy to see you enjoyed the layout, conditions and our valued team members. We hope you have a chance to golf with us again.
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Day

Had a wonderful time playing this course again. The weather was perfect and the course conditions were up to par. I highly recommend this course to everyone

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 07/16/2021

Thank you, Jmoregon for taking the time to review your round with us. We strive to provide a 5-star experience and glad you felt that! Visit us again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Quintessential Coastal Orange County

Monarch Beach Golf Links is a perfect combination of upscale, beautiful, and relaxed. Just a good vibe all around. So much so that I signed up for their Links card membership today. Super stoked to call this course home!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 06/25/2021

Greetings,
We couldn't agree more! Very grateful for your patronage and looking forward to having you around the Beach more as a Links Cardholder.
Happy Golfing!!
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 06/25/2021

Thank you for rating us 4-stars and we hope you visit again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
675883f1-81ad-5c0f-be3a-45663fa9fa02
Commented on 06/11/2021

Greetings! Thank you for taking the time to rate us 5-stars. We sincerely appreciate it. Visit again soon!
Regards,
Eric Lohman, PGA GM

Nearby Courses
Laguna Niguel, California
Private
0.0
0
Laguna Beach, California
Resort
4.5913529412
132
San Juan Capistrano, California
Public
2.1695705882
566
San Juan Capistrano, California
Private
0.0
0
San Clemente, California
Public
3.0232647059
813
Mission Viejo, California
Public
4.1333235294
15
San Clemente, California
Public
3.9538235294
822
Mission Viejo, California
Private
5.0
1
Aliso Viejo, California
Private
4.8333333333
6
Golf Packages
FROM $377 (USD)
ORANGE COUNTY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Monarch Beach Resort and play 2 rounds of golf at Monarch Beach Golf Links.
FROM $497 (USD)
ORANGE COUNTY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at The Resort at Pelican Hill Newport Beach and 2 rounds of golf at Pelican Hill Golf Club - Ocean North & Ocean South Courses.
FROM $277 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Courtyard San Diego Oceanside and 2 rounds of golf at The Grand Golf Club & Omni LaCosta Resort & Spa.
FROM $617 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, Golf Club & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at Aviara Golf Club.
FROM $147 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Westin Mission Hills and 3 rounds of golf at Westin Mission Hills - Pete Dye Course, MIssion Hills North - Gary Player Signature Course, and Indian Wells Resort.
Now Reading