GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
1769 Reviews (1769)
5 Stars
791
4 Stars
682
3 Stars
171
2 Stars
75
1 Stars
50
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.8
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.1
79.2%
Recommend this course
1547 out of 1769 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.9
30 Reviews (30)
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.4
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.7
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.2
66.7%
Recommend this course
20 out of 30 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
118 Reviews (118)
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.7
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.2
75.4%
Recommend this course
89 out of 118 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public/Resort
Style Traditional
Par 71
Length 6782 yards
Slope 133
Rating 72.2

Ocotillo is a one-of-a-kind golf spot in a state full of top golf spots, and the four-star golf course is suitable for both golf upstarts and old-timers.

Ocotillo's Blue Course is a watery grave; water comes into play on eight of the nine holes. It's not overly long but there's so much water the length becomes irrelevant. The best hole may be No. 1, a 590-yard par 5. Big hitters are faced with the classic risk-reward: Do they lay-up on their second shot or try to fly a tributary that splits the fairway about 50 yards short of the green?

The White Course is the most unique of the three. It has only one par 5, and the water is a factor on just five of the holes. But it also has the best hole on the property -- the 479-yard, par-4 ninth, which used to be an easy par 5 but is now a treacherous finishing touch.

Book a Tee Time at
Ocotillo Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1986
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ted Robinson, Sr. (1986)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt required, no denim

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities, Locker Rooms

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in Arizona (2014 #13)

Reviews

4.1
1769 Reviews (1769)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 104
Patio Dining 95
19th Hole Scenic Views 56
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 228
Bunkers 134
Forced Carries 110
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 116
Locals 97
Playing Multiple Courses 82
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 119
Worth the Drive 104
In the 'Burbs 71

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 18
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Tough track. Slowwwwww.

Ocotillo is not your desert target course. Tons of forced carries and water.
Plenty of tourist trade and those "frozen from the winter swings" and all the water make for a very slow round. We just made it in in just less than 5 hours.
Bunkers are in tough shape as it's been rainy and, of course, few visitors bother raking.
This would be a great Country Club. Experienced golfers who know the course would make the course move well.
For a daily fee course, I would rate it in the lower tier due to the length of their rounds.
Food in the grill was adequate. Patio is relaxing and scenic.
Don't get me wrong, it's a nice venue with some nice holes, but I have 14 courses I would play before Ocotillo.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/22/2023

Terry, Thank you for your review and so glad you had a chance to play Ocotillo Golf Club. Hope to see you next time!

Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/22/2023

Terry, Thank you for your review and so glad you had a chance to play Ocotillo Golf Club. Hope to see you next time!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Give it a try!

I've played this track twice in the past 2 winters. Both times, it was enjoyable.

Greens are fantastic, challenging, undulating, and fast. Only issue, lots of ball marks not repaired. I'm noticing that is a theme down here. Seems like courses don't really care about patrolling that, and if they did, many of these courses would have some of the best greens I've ever played.

Suggestion, use a GPS based app to review your tee shots and even approach shots. Helpful in hitting to correct areas.

Overall, our group loved the course. Challenging and fun.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/30/2023

Thank you for your review, we will see if we can't get some of those ball marks taken care of.

Played On
Reviews 11
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Really appreciate the rating. We’d love to learn more about what we did to earn it!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Geese

This course is full of birds and bird dropping are everywhere! They need to get a dog who follows staff around the course and chases these things away. Excellent course and I would only play it again once they solved their bird problem. I would suggest no one play this until they have resolved this issue!

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Brian, thank you for your review. Unfortunately, we have tried two dogs in the past. With seven miles of shoreline the waterfowl just find another location on property to fly to. We use lasers to annoy the geese and swan decoys to help prevent some of the waterfowl from getting onto the greens. We will keep trying.

Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/30/2023

Thanks for your rating. We will work a little bit harder to get that 4th or 5th star.

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rough greens full of crap

The course fairways were ok for the most part, several of the greens and fairways were coveted with droppings from ducks and geese . The bar/restaurant staff was more interested in talking among themselves then serving the customers. The food was limited and tasted terrible..

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Booked through Ocotillo's site

Hope this will be allowed because I have actually booked through Ocotillo's site rather than Golf Now the last 4 times over the last two weeks. I felt I needed to post because some of the reviews read on here are unfavorable to the pre4sent conditions, I have seen this course great and horrible over the last 20 plus years. But let me assure you that many of the sand traps now have real sand in them making an instant upgrade to the course. Yes, the greens are pelted with fixed divots but that is not the course's fault, that is the lazy golfer's fault. But lastly, I wanted to say the course is beautiful and the layout is almost a one of a kind here in the valley. I would not pay 100 plus for it but that is just me. I play the twilight prices for 45/50 after 2 o clock. Again, the course is playing awesome, especially compared to when Phil Mickelson owned it a few years back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 16
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Sand traps need wor,.was in better shape one year ago!

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ocotillo

The course has a great layout. Very picturesque. Lots of water hazards. But the greens were very pick-marked. Apparently no one who plays here knows how to fix a ball mark. Most of the bunkers were in poor condition: grass 2 inches long in fairway bunkers, rocks the size of golf balls in the sand. For this price level I expected better.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 7
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ocotillo golf course "not what it use to be"

Ocotillo golf course has really fallen off as a premier course. The sand traps had little or no sand in them or were overseeded badly with rye grass. The tee box markers were rusted so badly it was hard to no what color they were. The greens were peppered with unrepaired ball marks and the fairways had many divots as well. I was incredibly disappointed in the condition of this once premier course!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 17
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointing

I really look forward to playing here but for me, it's a bit more than I usually spend...a "treat", right? I was disappointed at the overall conditions... somewhat shaggy fairways and rough, amateurish cup-cutting and repair of old holes on the greens and bunkers that need attention. I paid for prime conditions but that's not what was delivered. I'm coming back but not till the rates drop.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Played On
Reviews 110
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Golf with the Girls

This course is one of my favourites. I like taking my friends that have come down to Arizona for the first time down here to play it. Beautiful scenery and top notch golf course. Great value for your money and excellent staff.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 9
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Chandler, Arizona
Public/Resort
4.0742941176
1769
Chandler, Arizona
Public/Resort
4.0742941176
1769
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Public
3.9833294118
142
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Public
3.9833294118
142
Chandler, Arizona
Semi-Private
4.9120470588
119
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Private
3.0
1
Chandler, Arizona
Public
3.8054764706
1376
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Private Community
0.0
0
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Private
0.0
0
Chandler, Arizona
Public
3.7042470588
611
Chandler, Arizona
Resort
4.2624823529
1039
Golf Packages
FROM $177 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Gila River Hotels & Casinos - Wild Horse Pass and 3 rounds of golf at Whirlwind Golf Club - Cattail and Devil's Claw courses, and Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club.
FROM $157 (USD)
MESA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Home2 Suites by Hilton - Mesa Longbow and 3 rounds of golf at Las Sendas Golf Club, Longbow Golf Club & Ocotillo Golf Club.
FROM $197 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights’ accommodations at a Private Home or Condo rental and 3 rounds of golf at Eagle Mountain, Sunridge Canyon, and We-Ko-Pa (Cholla or Saguaro Course).
FROM $207 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Scottsdale Marriott Old Town and 3 rounds of golf at The Phoenician Golf Club, Westin Kierland Golf Club & Papago Golf Course.
FROM $227 (USD)
PHOENIX/SCOTTSDALE | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Courtyard by Marriott Scottsdale Old Town and 4 rounds of golf at the Phoenician Golf Club, Longbow Golf Club, Papago Golf Club, and Eagle Mountain Golf Club.
Now Reading