View of the 18th hole and clubhouse at The Grand Bear Golf Course
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
315 Reviews (315)
5 Stars
234
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.6
Layout
4.8
Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.5
98.2%
Recommend this course
306 out of 315 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.8
53 Reviews (53)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.7
Value
4.7
Layout
4.9
Pace
4.7
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.9
98.1%
Recommend this course
52 out of 53 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
82 Reviews (82)
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.6
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
4.9
97.6%
Recommend this course
80 out of 82 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 7204 yards
Slope 143
Rating 75.5

Unlike some Jack Nicklaus golf courses that have earned a reputation for being among the world's most difficult, mid- and high-handicappers stand a fighting chance at the Grand Bear Golf Course. Nicklaus offers wide fairways before the sprawling woods take over on either side, most bunkers aren't horribly steep, and greens generally have room in front to run a shot up. The winding Biloxi River helps build Grand Bear to a dramatic finish. The par-3 14th hole plays through a chute of woods to a green guarded by the river below that runs along diagonally, punishing hooked shots left short. After another par 3 on the 16th that plays with the river to the left, the 17th once again plays over the river on the drive, then parallel to the hole. The 18th hole plays long and uphill back toward the clubhouse.

Book a Tee Time at
Grand Bear Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jack Nicklaus (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper Golf Attire Required: Collared Shirt (No Denim)

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

Reviews

4.7
315 Reviews (315)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
19th Hole Scenic Views 10
Brunch 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 45
Undulating Greens 35
Elevation Changes 24
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 37
Advanced Golfers 33
A Weekend Splurge 31
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 49
In the 'Burbs 7
Near Local Attractions 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Best Value Course on the MS Gulf Coast

This Course never fails, luckily I live only about 10 minutes away from this course so I'm a little spoiled but I love this place. It never fails to challenge you and the different pin placements are all pretty tough. If you are looking for a challenge and really nice course this is it. Just a little tip for this course - Stay on the Fairway because the rough is thick and will hurt you.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Wonderful golf course.

One of my favorite courses. Well designed and fun to play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fun and Challenging.

Great Golf Course. It's fun and challenging all at the same time. Always a good time.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Course was in great condition. Greens are mint right now and roll perfect. Never pass a chance to play this track.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

I highly recommend this course to anyone! Very challenging but fun course with a wide variety of holes. Using the Golf Now hot deals made this a wonderful value. The staff was unbelievable greeted us with our cart on arrival and walked us through check to teeing off. We’ve had a lot of rain so it was cart path only but still a great round of golf and I look forward to going back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

Thanks for the 5 star rating, but sorry to see pace of play was not to your standards. We hope that won't stop you from giving us another chance.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Absolutely Beautiful Course

Wow! The course was beautiful and in great condition. From fairways to greens to bunkers, everything was pristine! Definitely had some tough patches of rough to play out of as well. The staff was extremely informative and friendly! Grease missiles were electric as well!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

We appreciate the 5 stars, and the time you took to review your experience at Grand Bear. Sorry we fell short on pace of play, but glad to know you appreciated Grand Bear's course, conditions, and service levels. We are always striving to push the bar higher, and it means a lot when it's recognized. Thank you. See you again next time!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Awesome course!

We were greeted by the friendly staff as soon as we got out of our vehicle. I can not say enough about this course. It was in great condition, the greens are very consistent. The staff is the best we have ever dealt with at a golf course. We have played all over Texas, Louisiana, and Mississippi and this is hands down in our top 3 favorite courses.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did and wow, it's so rewarding to know Grand Bear is among the best golf experiences you've encountered in your travels. We look forward to your next visit to Grand Bear.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

Just 4 stars? Sorry we fell short in some areas, but we hope to have another opportunity to show why Grand Bear is considered one of the best golf experiences in South Mississippi.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great condition

Everything was great the layout, friendliness of employees, coarse was in excellent condition

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We're thrilled to see you enjoyed the Jack Nicklaus signature design at Grand Bear, and the course conditions and service level. Hope to see you again next time.

Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2021

We appreciate the 5 star rating on your experience at Grand Bear. Hope to see you again!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/16/2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! Hope to see you again soon at Grand Bear Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/04/2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating!

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/30/2021

Thanks for the 5 star rating. Re: the challenge, our Jack Nicklaus signature design gets easier the more you play it, so come see us again and get better acquainted with Grand Bear.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/30/2021

We appreciate the 5 stars!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/30/2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Pristine

Greens were flawless. Great layout. Area received tons of rain before we played Donot was cart path only…but even that could not take away from the experience of that course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/24/2021

We appreciate the 5 stars, and the review of your experience at Grand Bear. Glad you enjoyed the Jack Nicklaus signature design, we think it's one of the best designs in the area. Sorry about the cart path only restriction - it just means you should come back and enjoy the full experience at Grand Bear, with unfettered golf car driving.

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Always great

My son and I played and the course, staff and everything was great, as always!!!!
Had lunch and the food was phenomenal as well!!!!
Go to the Bear. You won’t be disappointed!!!
Also, go see Alex at the bar. She’s the best!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/24/2021

Thank you for the 5 stars, and for your continued loyalty to Grand Bear. Glad to know we delivered a great time, from the playing experience to the service and treatment in the grill. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This was a great course and a great price thru golf now. The only complaint I have is it started to rain when we are the 9th hole and of course we had to come in. We waited the rain out and could have finished our round but they closed the course saying it was too wet. However we were the only ones left and I believed they closed it because they didn’t want to wait in just 2 golfers

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/24/2021

Thank you for the 5 stars, and for the review of your experience at Grand Bear. Our apologies that your round was cut short due to the weather. The safety of our guests and staff is the top priority at Grand Bear, and when in doubt we will always error on the side of safety. We hope you will give us another chance, perhaps when the weather is expected to cooperate.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/24/2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating!

Nearby Courses
Biloxi, Mississippi
Public
2.5386857143
98
Gulfport, Mississippi
Public/Municipal
3.0
1
Biloxi, Mississippi
Semi-Private
4.1242294118
155
Gulfport, Mississippi
Semi-Private/Resort
4.4037647059
20
Gulfport, Mississippi
Semi-Private
2.7886058824
196
Biloxi, Mississippi
Military
2.9655588235
43
Saucier, Mississippi
Private/Resort
4.8958333333
10
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Public
3.7859411765
45
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Resort
3.6764705882
6
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Semi-Private
2.3863176471
101
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Semi-Private
4.5761294118
62
Vancleave, Mississippi
Public
4.7058823529
10
Golf Packages
FROM $167 (USD)
GULFPORT, MS | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at Island View Casino Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Windance Golf & Country Club.
FROM $157 (USD)
GULF SHORES, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 3 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, ONE Club Golf Course, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend or Cotton Creek Course).
FROM $167 (USD)
GULF SHORES, AL | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 4 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, Rock Creek Golf Club, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend & Cotton Creek Courses).
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Gulf Shores Golf Around Package
FROM $157 (USD)
Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 3 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, ONE Club Golf Course, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend or Cotton Creek Course).
Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club
Best of Gulf Shores Golf Package
FROM $167 (USD)
Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at ONE Club Gulf Shores and 4 rounds of golf at Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club, Rock Creek Golf Club, and Craft Farms Golf Resort (Cypress Bend & Cotton Creek Courses).
Now Reading