GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
546 Reviews (546)
5 Stars
382
4 Stars
117
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
10
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
93.1%
Recommend this course
512 out of 546 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
59 Reviews (59)
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.1
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
86.4%
Recommend this course
51 out of 59 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
144 Reviews (144)
5 Stars
97
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
92.4%
Recommend this course
133 out of 144 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 7558 yards
Slope 154
Rating 77.8
Book a Tee Time at
Echelon Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2006
Fairways Tifsport Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season November - March
Architect Rees Jones (2006) Steve Weisser (2006)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Available Activities

Swimming, Billiards

Available Sports

Tennis

Accolades

Reviews

4.6
546 Reviews (546)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 8
Forced Carries 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Atlanta Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Elevation change makes Echelon a true test of golf!

This is by far one of my favorite courses in the Atlanta area. Echelon was built in the early-2000's as a private course and suffered tremendously when the market crashed around 2008. They opened it to the public but never even had a clubhouse built by the time the developers had to sell the property in 2013. Since then, the course has begun to thrive and the conditions get better each year. The new owner, in fact, just opened up the newly built clubhouse during Masters week of this year.

On to the course review....The course is set on quite a mountainous piece of property which makes the views spectacular but can also lead to some frightening scores. There are rolling hills throughout the course, so a lot of the course knowledge is just knowing which hill will kick balls back into the fairway. The tee boxes here are so flat and well-manicured and the greens are always in good condition. There is a tee box for every skill level as it maxes out around 7600 yards but I promise with the elevation changes, you'll want to move up a tee. If you're a local or an out-of-town visitor, Echelon needs to be at the top of your must-play list. You won't regret it!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

No communication

Showed up today for a 1pm tee time and was informed that due to a frost delay they could t get us off until 3pm. No call / email to let us know - what a waste of a 50 min drive….

Frost delays happen, I get it, but you need to let people know.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/18/2023

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We would like to apologize for your recent experience.

We're sorry to hear you were less than satisfied at our course. We pride ourselves on our providing great service and the high-quality standards we maintain.

We would like to make things right. Please reach out to our management team at the pro shop.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Cart path Only

Course was a mud hole and cart path only makes for extremely slow pace of play. Not sure when it will dry out, but I would give it a while. I do normally like playing here.

Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/14/2023

Hello! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 168
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 50 Contributor
Previously Played

Still a beast

Not really a course to play when wet and cart path only she’ll eat your lunch for sure. Great food in the restaurant still a great day

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/19/2023

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 168
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 50 Contributor
Previously Played

Good

Great greens the food on the clubhouse was excellent.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/08/2023

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/08/2023

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/24/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Fantastic

A guy named Ed was working in the pro shop when I checked in; every golf course in the world should have “an Ed.” He was so friendly and engaging. I had a late afternoon tee time, 2:00, so I knew I would probably only get in 9 holes. I was very impressed with the course conditions, especially the greens. Due to rain the day before the course was “cart paths only,” which turns out is a challenge on this course. Most of the holes lie in valleys, below the cart path, so on “CPO days” expect to do some aggressive slope walking. I definitely could’ve scored better had I been alongside a member or someone who plays here regularly. Several sharp drop-offs on the backs of greens. This is a fantastic golf course. If you’re using GPS to get there, make sure to type the street address, my Apple Maps took me into the middle of nowhere.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/21/2022

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/14/2022

Hi. We would love to hear more about your 4-star experience on our course. Please tell us what we can do to earn that last star, and thanks for golfing at Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

One of the best Public options

Consistently one of the better public courses you can play, ESPECIALLY in the winter.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/23/2022

Hi. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Beautiful holes in the Fall

Great course. Very friendly staff from bag drop to ranger. Course is challenging, but some holes can be birdied or Par.
Will play again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/10/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Echelon Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/10/2022

We're glad you enjoyed your 5-star experience with us. Please comment or reach out to our team in the golf shop to let us know more about your round at Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Echelon

Nice golf course. Nothing negative in the least way. Everything was good. Had a fun round. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it also.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/05/2022

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 5
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/02/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/26/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Echelon Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 11
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

Cart & Restrooms

This course needs electric carts that stop automatically when you park considering hilly course. It also smell gas burning the whole time.

I also want to see two regular on-course restrooms rather than portable one. They really smell.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Challenging course, yet still pretty great!

Played Echelon on a perfect fall day, and enjoyed the round even though the course kicked our entire groups' tails. We were a 7, 12, and 14 handicap, and all shot in the 90s. It would definitely help to play this course a few times to get a feel for where you can miss, as there are lots of elevation changes and a few blind shots. Course was in spectacular shape and was very well-maintained. The staff were all friendly as well. It's just a very tough course that will frustrate above average golfers if they're not on their A-game.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Echelon Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/17/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/14/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/01/2022

Thank you for visiting us at Echelon Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/30/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Echelon Golf Club!

Nearby Courses
Alpharetta, Georgia
Private
4.338
71
Alpharetta, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.7
10
Alpharetta, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.1362571429
608
Canton, Georgia
Semi-Private
4.3540764706
659
Alpharetta, Georgia
Private
3.5
2
Ball Ground, Georgia
Private/Resort
5.0
4
Ball Ground, Georgia
Private/Resort
5.0
4
Cumming, Georgia
Private
3.1666666667
7
Alpharetta, Georgia
Private
4.5238
10
Woodstock, Georgia
Private
0.0
0
Alpharetta, Georgia
Private
5.0
3
Holly Springs, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.3037142857
398
Golf Packages
FROM $267 (USD)
BRASELTON, GA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Château Élan Winery & Resort (Inn at Château or Villas at Château) and 3 rounds of golf at Château Élan Golf Club - Château, Woodlands, & Executive Courses.
FROM $197 (USD)
GADSDEN, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Hampton Inn - Gadsden and 3 rounds of golf at Silver Lakes Golf Club - Championship & Short Courses.
FROM $227 (USD)
ASHEVILLE, NC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations and 1 round of golf at Maggie Valley Club & Resort.
FROM $217 (USD)
OPELIKA, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Auburn Marriott Opelika Resort & Spa at Grand National and 3 rounds of golf at Grand National Golf Club - Lakes, Links, & Short Courses.
FROM $217 (USD)
TAMPA, FL | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Saddlebrook Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Saddlebrook Resort - Palmer or Saddlebrook Courses. Includes Preferred Golfer experience.
Now Reading