Aerial view from Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
933 Reviews (933)
5 Stars
275
4 Stars
443
3 Stars
142
2 Stars
51
1 Stars
22
Conditions
3.4
Value
3.5
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.6
69.6%
Recommend this course
805 out of 933 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
26 Reviews (26)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.1
Layout
4.0
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.2
53.8%
Recommend this course
14 out of 26 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
67 Reviews (67)
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.3
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.1
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.3
59.7%
Recommend this course
40 out of 67 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7300 yards
Slope 133
Rating 75.6

The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes is a Tom Fazio design that is challenging, but with five sets of tees it is versatile enough for players of all skill levels. Fazio deftly utilized the native wetlands and numerous lakes that are interspersed across the landscape, incorporating them along the expansive fairways and angled greens. The tricky greens have been carefully molded and contoured to offer a variety of pin placements. In addition to the water hazards, there are also numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking throughout. The golf course will test your shot-making skills as well as your creativity. To complement the golf course, Hilton Head Lakes offers an equally impressive 36-acre, double-ended practice facility with target greens, bunkers, multiple practice greens, and even a par-3 short course.

Book a Tee Time at
The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2007
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tommy Fazio

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Proper golf attire.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Grill

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Reviews

3.7
933 Reviews (933)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 19
19th Hole Specials 6
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 90
Water Hazards 84
Plays Long 42
This course/club is great for:
Locals 79
Seniors 60
Beginners 42
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 59
Convenient to the City 37
In the 'Burbs 33

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/03/2022

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Played On
Reviews 30
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/16/2022

Hi. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Very disappointed

Greens were poorly maintained, very patchy weed ridden and the tinting they did to make them look green was sprayed over everything, including the cups. Needed rolling in the worst way, putting was ridiculous

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/14/2022

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, and for the 3 stars. We're sorry to hear the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round. We appreciate your feedback as we work to make any necessary improvements. Thank you for choosing to golf with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Verified Purchaser

No refund

We booked thru Golf Now and had a family emergency shortly thereafter. We had to leave town and miss the rounds. We called the course to get a refund or rain check and they said they couldn't. They claimed it was Golf Now's policy. I am sure that if I had made arrangements directly with the course, they would have given me at least a rain check. I won't be using Golf now again.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/12/2022

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to review the course. We take single-star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thanks for choosing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Played On
Reviews 29
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great day for some challenging golf!

Great day for some challenging golf! Conditions were great and the staff treated my son and I very well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/12/2022

Hello. Thank you for visiting us at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Used cart

Well worth giving this course a go. Very pretty back nine.
Play was a little slow as a foursome was not keeping up with the group in front causing a two hole gap.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 11/12/2022

Hi. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes!

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2022

Hello. Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Lots of potential if you give the greens and bunkers some love. It should be a $30-50 course until the improvements.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/06/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us, suaveron. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good Experience

The course was in excellent condition, the area was clean and well kept, and the staff was very friendly

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/30/2022

Hi, Marauder15. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Needs a little tender loving care

Nice layout. Greens had recently been sanded, but still putted true. Course needs to address clumps of wild grass in otherwise excellent fairways.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2022

Thank you for visiting us at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 26
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Trashy

Should have known better after 20 days of rain. Course was muddy and fairways on the front 9 were not cut. Cart path only

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/09/2022

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve and are working diligently to improve the course. Thank you for playing and we hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

WORST COURSE EVER! 0/100!

Course was in the worst condition I’ve ever seen a golf course. Absolutely terrible. Grass was uneven and the entire course was muddy.

Apparently it’s a golf cart path only course. There were not proper signs to indicate this as me and my friend did not see any anywhere (in fact on one hole it instructed us to keep our carts on the fairway, it had a sign with an arrow that said stay right of the cart path). Some guy came out dropping F bombs screaming at us to get the F off the grass (Hole 2) (again no proper signs instructed us to do so)

Just an overall terrible experience. Avoid this course and you will thank me later.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/05/2022

Mr. Constant,
First and foremost, we would like to apologize for the way you were spoken to on golf course premises— if it was one of my employees, I would love for you to send me an email and explain the incident in further detail. I can assure that our Pro Shop has proper signage stating that the golf course was Cart Path Only. Prior to your arrival we had received 16 inches of rain in 8 days. It’s important that both members and guests alike follow the rules of our course to ensure the playing conditions are at the highest standards we expect.

Thank You,
Justin McFadden
Head Golf Professional
Jmcfadden@hallmarkgolf.com

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Never again

I’ve played a handful of the Hilton head courses, and the only reason I tried this one was because it was on the way home, but I was mistaken.

PLAY SOMEWHERE ON THE ISLAND.

I recommend old south if off the island.

I paid $65 “Hot Deal” and it was a 2 1/2 hour front 9. The fairways were splotched with rough patches which I have never seen before. — in all honesty, this is just no where near as nice of a course as you’ll see on Hilton Head Island. They should change this course name because it’s subpar and doesn’t need to tarnish the Hilton Head name.

Trust me. Also, the lady in the pro shop tried to make me pay $25 for my girlfriend to ride with me. HECK NO. I didn’t and I will not do that especially when the course is as sub par as that one.

Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to play a nice course on the island.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/06/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review and leave feedback on your recent round with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback is extremely important to us. It is always our utmost goal to provide our golfers with a fun and enjoyable time and apologize if we missed the mark. For further resolution in this matter, please feel free to reach out to our staff in the pro shop at (843) 208-5353. We hope to hear from you soon, and thanks for choosing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Pay extra and stay on HHI

First time to the area and I realize there was some rain Monday night, but this course was still soggy wet. Rubber boots would have been the better foot attire. I’m guessing it never dies out. I think this is built on Jasper swamp???
I booked this course in error. I meant to book something closer to our condo for the week.
I wish I had paid a few extra dollars and played one of the nicer courses on HHI, avoided the drive and not soaked my shoes.
Nothing good or bad to say about the staff.
Back nine was better than the front!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/02/2022

Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes!

Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

No Drainage on course

All the houses yards drained to the course. Weeds in fairway, fairways were so wet it was hard to walk on them. Maybe under dry conditions it would be better

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/30/2022

Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve and are working diligently to improve the course. Thank you for playing and we hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

It was okay.

Not a bad course... just nothing stood out about it. About average price for a course around there. I'm sure there are worse courses and better courses to play at. Don't mean to sound negative but nothing about this course makes me go "oh, that's a nice course".

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/31/2022

Hello and thank you for visiting us at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

Thank you for the awesome rating! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another great experience, and thanks for choosing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes!

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2022

Hello, thank you for visiting us at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Good value and conditions!

Alot of time and effort has gone into improvements in the course condition and it shows. Under $60 it's well worth it but if you have to pay more than that i would say there is lots if competition to play elsewhere.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/22/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

I'll go again...

First time playing HH Lakes. Very relaxing day of golf. Hardly any trouble off the tee, fairways are wide. Greens are big bit with a lot of undulations. Course was in good/very good shape, greens were mostly recovered from seasonal aerating . Not sure that the course rating accurately represents the course difficulty - the rating suggested to me that the course would be more difficult than I actually experienced. Since it was my first visit, I played from the White tees, will play from the Blues next time. Maybe the tee boxes were pushed forward? Anyway, will visit again!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/24/2022

Hello, thank you for visiting us at The Golf Club at Hilton Head Lakes. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Nearby Courses
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Resort
5.0
1
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Public
4.25
12
Bluffton, South Carolina
Resort
4.4091
22
Bluffton, South Carolina
Semi-Private
3.7143
7
Okatie, South Carolina
Private/Resort
4.9479166667
17
Bluffton, South Carolina
Private
4.3333
3
Bluffton, South Carolina
Public
3.4213
451
Bluffton, South Carolina
Private
5.0
1
Ridgeland, South Carolina
Public
2.2857
7
Okatie, South Carolina
Public
3.0767235294
1155
Bluffton, South Carolina
Private
4.9487166667
14
Bluffton, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.8598117647
1160
Golf Packages
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $327 (USD)
AMELIA ISLAND, FL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the OMNI Amelia Island Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Amelia River Golf Club, Fernandina Beach Golf Club, and Oak Marsh Course at OMNI Amelia Island.
Now Reading