Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.0
470 Reviews (470)
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
224
3 Stars
70
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
14
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.7
88.3%
Recommend this course
412 out of 470 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
72 Reviews (72)
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.1
83.3%
Recommend this course
60 out of 72 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.9
218 Reviews (218)
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
99
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
9
Conditions
3.6
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.2
82.1%
Recommend this course
179 out of 218 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 71
Length 6432 yards
Slope 138
Rating 72.0
Book a Tee Time at
Hilldale Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1970
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Open: 3/01 Closed: 10/31
Architect Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1970) Roger Rulewich (1972)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

4.0
470 Reviews (470)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 14
Watching the Game 8
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 24
Bunkers 13
Undulating Greens 10
This course/club is great for:
Locals 14
Advanced Golfers 11
Entertaining Clients 7
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 20
Convenient to the City 11
Near the Airport 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

The weather is perfect, the green kind of slow today.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/15/2021

Thank you for visiting us at Hilldale Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2021

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilldale Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you on the course soon for another 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great Greens

Always known for its greens, they were kept a bit slow but it will be very hard to find such a uniformly green set of putting surfaces at any public course in the area.

The course offers a very good variety of holes requiring shots and thinking.

Fun to play and reasonably priced.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2021

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilldale Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you on the course soon for an even better 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 43
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course needs to be maintained a little better, I remember years ago that this was a course you played with much anticipation. Needs to be maintained better, sand traps and fairways need work.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement such as bunker maintenance. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilldale Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you on the course soon for an even better 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/08/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Nice Course that makes you think

Hilldale was in very good shape despite our lack of rain. The course has some challenging holes and some of them truly make you think about placement to avoid things like water. It was a fun, challenging course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2021

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilldale Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you on the course soon for another 5-star experience!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointing to see the course like this

Had a 4:20pm tee time today for a nice twilight round. Perfect time for me because I can usually play in 4 hours. Sunset at 8:24. PERFECT!!

Oh but just you wait...

Overall, I wasn’t impressed at all with how the course looked. Trash everywhere, greens were slow and bumpy (unlike they usually are) and the grass just wasn’t well maintained.

There was a ranger that drove around doing absolutely nothing except keep a cold stare. Never did anything about pace of play (which was fine for how busy it was), but then decides on the 16th green that our day is going to be over after the 17th hole...at 8:15pm. Says there’s a village ordinance about the sunset or some BS, and orders us to head in. Obviously, I’m upset because there is plenty of daylight left, allowing us to play 18 and go on with our night. This fool just wanted to get the carts in and go home, and it was easy as day to see it (pun intended).

Hate to see this course go down the drain, as the layout is fun and the prices are usually affordable. I wouldn’t recommend playing it for more than $35/person.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Alex. Your feedback is valuable and sound like you had an enjoyable outing, so we are not sure you meant to leave 2 stars. Please let us know if this was a mistake. Hilldale Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Do not play here if you have golfed before

The pace of play is beyond awful. Ranger is actually out but does not do anything to improve pace. If you get in a 5 hour round you are lucky. Multiple groups quit after a certain number of holes. Course is very tight, decent layout but if half of the holes if you go slightly off the fairway you're in a backyard. Go anywhere around like poplar, fox run, highland woods and you will enjoy yourself for the same price or less

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2021

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace allowing everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve, and we are glad to see you rated the course conditions to be great during your game. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we are always seeking any honest and sincere feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 71
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

Thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please come see us again soon, and thanks for choosing Hilldale Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Today’s review

Tee boxes are not maintained well and greens are super slow.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/01/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement such as tee boxes and greens. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Unfriendly ranger

I was ready to tee off just after4:00 when the starter announced that we wouldn’t have time to finish. I paid for twilight so that could have been expected. However, the starter told our group to bring the carts back by 8:10. Sunset was 8:15. I didn’t think too much of this strange request. Around the 13th hole the range stopped our group and said that we wouldn’t finish and to bring the carts back at 8:10. We I questioned him he was rude. He said that the staff wanted to get home before 9:00. I said that was absolutely crazy. We paid for twilight and would bring the carts back when we were done or it was too dark. I’ve been playing golf for over 40 years, played around 500 rounds, and have played over 50 courses. I’ve never been told to leave the course because the staff wants to get home early. We finished before the “closing time” so it was a moot point but he really ruined the round. I figured that I paid for twilight and that’s what I expect to happen.
Maybe he was just having a bad day.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We are going to pass this on as this is not the standard. We will make note and we hope to see you back at Hilldale Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we are always seeking any honest and sincere feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we are always seeking any honest and sincere feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we are always seeking any honest and sincere feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we are always seeking any honest and sincere feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Hilldale Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/24/2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your round at Hilldale Golf Club. Please visit us again soon!

Nearby Courses
Schaumburg, Illinois
Public
4.6113428571
42
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Public
4.3272705882
319
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Public
3.9232411765
351
Schaumburg, Illinois
Public
4.5464117647
578
Schaumburg, Illinois
Public
4.5464117647
578
Palatine, Illinois
Private
0.0
0
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Public
4.1400176471
295
Streamwood, Illinois
Public
3.9166411765
99
Barrington, Illinois
Public
4.1987588235
349
Palatine, Illinois
Public
4.2653352941
116
Bartlett, Illinois
Public
4.2794823529
375

Golf Packages

FROM $597 (USD)
LAKE GENEVA, WI | Discover Lake Geneva’s premier must-visit destination at Geneva National Resort & Club. Located off the wooded slopes and shores of Lake Como, the semi-private Geneva National presents 54 holes of legendary golf designed by Arnold Palmer, Gary Player and Lee Trevino, along with on-course lodging at the Cottages & Suites at Geneva National.
Golf Packages
FROM $617 (USD)
Golf Packages
FROM $557 (USD)
Golf Packages
FROM $327 (USD)
Golf Packages
FROM $167 (USD)
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE