#15 on La Quinta's Mountain is laying along the base of the mountains - stay tight to the base and go for this par 5 in two. The green stays snug up against the base and will not be in full view.
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
593 Reviews (593)
5 Stars
331
4 Stars
173
3 Stars
51
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
19
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.2
92.0%
Recommend this course
512 out of 593 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
105 Reviews (105)
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.7
89.5%
Recommend this course
94 out of 105 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
212 Reviews (212)
5 Stars
154
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.7
92.5%
Recommend this course
196 out of 212 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private/Resort
Par 72
Length 6666 yards
Slope 135
Rating 72.9

Formerly known as La Quinta Resort Mountain Course.

Book a Tee Time at
PGA WEST - Pete Dye Mountain Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1981
Fairways Winter Rye Grass
Greens Tifdwarf Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Pete Dye (1981)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared Shirt, Long Pants/Walking Shorts are accepted. No Denim, T-shirt, Tank Top, Athletic Shorts/Cargo Shorts.

Food & Beverage

Snacks, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities, Spa

Available Sports

Tennis

Reviews

4.5
593 Reviews (593)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 24
19th Hole Scenic Views 21
Brunch 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 54
Elevation Changes 51
Undulating Greens 38
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 42
Advanced Golfers 40
A Weekend Splurge 30
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 46
Convenient to the City 22
Worth the Drive 16

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Brown Greens

If you enjoy putting on dirt in 110 degree weather, this course is for you!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/06/2021

Hello, u173682326. Thank you for reviewing the course. We would like to apologize for your recent experience.
We're sorry to hear you were less than satisfied during your round. We pride ourselves on our providing great service and the high quality standards we maintain.
You did play the course the day before we closed it down, please come back when we open it back up!

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Hot

119 degrees. Still enjoyed every second. What a beautiful and tough course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2021

Thank you for your review, Daniel1019656. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
3.0
First Time Playing

Birthday bust 2

Forgot to state in my last post. Let a single join us because of the pace of play. He left after 9 which took 3 hours. A twosome in front of us left after the 10th. And no one behind us for the 10 thru 12. But by the time we got done on the 15th. There were 3 groups that caught up and were now waiting as well. Wouldn't call it a PGA course. More like a municipality course.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2021

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace allowing everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve, and we are glad to see you rated the course conditions to be great during your game. Thank you for playing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Birthday Bust

Took my son here for his Birthday. Alot of Brown patches around and on the green. Very bad pace of play. Took almost 6 hours. Waited on 95% of our shots. Talk to numerous rangers about it. One even stated there was a 2 hole gap. But wouldn't do anything. Sure it's not like this all the time. But very disappointed as waiting so long took away from enjoying and getting into any type of Rhythm. Played a lot of better course for less money. Worst vacation experience ever.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/01/2021

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace allowing everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve, and we are glad to see you rated the course conditions to be great during your game. Thank you for playing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Previously Played

POP was way too slow in 110 degree heat

Normally have a great round here, but today was really rough. I was averaging about 14minutes ahead of POP until I caught up to the groups ahead of me and the entire round stalled. Took 5 hours to play the next 12 holes, which was extremely long in 110 degree heat. The marshal came around and was extremely nice but nothing he could do because the groups in the next 4 holes ahead of us were playing so slow.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2021

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We apologize for the delay of play during your round. This is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We work hard to accommodate everyone who visits our course and to best control pace allowing everyone to finish in a reasonable amount of time. We will continue to look for ways to improve, and we are glad to see you rated the course conditions to be great during your game. Thank you for playing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 34
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Fun Desert Course

I'd always wanted to play this course, so I came out on a Thursday. Only about a 102 so not too bad. As expected, some burned out areas near the green and some bare spots on the greens, but generally they ran true. Honestly, it's just a desert course with a few exceptional holes on the back, but nothing special. Pace of play was awesome at around 3 hours. Staff was very friendly.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2021

Hi, stevenkay5. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Needs some TCL

We went out as a threesome on the Mountain course. This was my first time, but I have played the Dunes course previously. Most greens and fairways had burn spots or just sections with no grass. The layout is great with great mountain views or views down the valley, but the course condition needs improvement.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2021

Hi, u1558682. Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. We are working to get everything up to par. We have projects ongoing to recover the fairways and greens. The current condition is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are going to escalate your feedback to our team so we can make improvements before your next game, and we will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Back 9 is incredible

The Mountain course is the best of the PGA West courses. Front 9 is somewhat pedestrian but the back side is truly incredible. Amazing placement of holes up in steep sided mountainous rocky canyons with superb views. Can’t recommend it enough. It was hard but fair and a lot of fun.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/18/2021

Your feedback is important to us, alistairduck. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/11/2021

Hi, ShannonBStan. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Lisahwilliams07! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Ok, not great

Grass on greens was thin and they were fast. Collars of greens were in some cases devoid of grass with cracked dirt. Front nine was like any other desert course. Mountian view pics were of the last 4 holes, the rest were pretty typical of desert courses. Not my favorite.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

Hi, u139897115! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

The course was in great conditions. The greens were ok. All around excellent course

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/08/2021

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, erickc88. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Please visit again soon. Thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Overpriced for how the day went

Walked in, no help, had to go find my own cart, find my way around, load my own bags. Then had to wait 15 minutes past my tee time because of slow people in front me on hole 1. Marshall should have did something at this point. Nope. Got stuck behind these people all day, had people yelling at us for holding the course up half the day. Never seen such a joke at a place like this. I expect this on a budget course.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2021

That's not who we are! We apologize for the rare lapse here. Please call me at 760-564-7121, I would like to know more about your experience.

Played On
Reviews 14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2021

There are a few holes that could be on any course but, the 9 or so holes against the mountains are unbelievably beautiful (and challenging!) We had a great day on the course (it was really hot) and enjoyed the golf, the views and the service.

Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2021

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences, kellyfox21. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 18
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Front nine has a bizarre and somewhat dangerous routing intertwined with sister course but back nine was lovely

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

Hi, charfu2. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u1841498616! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/02/2021

Hello, u314161097569. Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear your experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for choosing PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course.

Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Hidden Gem

Fast greens. Spacious layout. Friendly staff. Good price.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/25/2021

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, findarlej! We look forward to seeing you again soon at PGA WEST!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/24/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, trm67golf! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing us!

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Moise review

Course in great condition, tee boxes were a bit ragged

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/24/2021

Thank you for the feedback!

Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/24/2021

Thank you for the feedback!

Request A Vacation Quote From La Quinta Resort
Please provide your information below and a staff member at La Quinta Resort will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
La Quinta, California
Private
0.0
0
La Quinta, California
Semi-Private/Resort
4.3481294118
1011
La Quinta, California
Private
0.0
0
Indian Wells, California
Private
4.4117647059
5
Indian Wells, California
Private
0.0
0
Indian Wells, California
Private
4.8823529412
9
La Quinta, California
Private
5.0
3
La Quinta, California
Private
0.0
0
Indian Wells, California
Resort
4.7103176471
311
Indian Wells, California
Private
0.0
0
Indian Wells, California
Resort
4.7928764706
265
La Quinta, California
Private
5.0
3
Golf Packages
FROM $197 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at La Quinta Resort & Club and 6 rounds of golf at Westin Mission Hills - Pete Dye Course, Mission Hills North - Gary Player Signature Course, Indian Wells Resort courses, PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course, and PGA WEST Pete Dye Dunes Course
FROM $177 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at La Quinta Resort & Club and 4 rounds of golf at Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament Courses at PGA WEST, and Indian Wells Celebrity Course and Players Courses.
FROM $167 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at Indian Wells Golf Resort - Celebrity & Players courses.
FROM $167 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, and 2 rounds of golf at Indian Wells Golf Resort - Celebrity & Players Courses
FROM $147 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Westin Mission Hills and 3 rounds of golf at Westin Mission Hills - Pete Dye Course, MIssion Hills North - Gary Player Signature Course, and Indian Wells Resort.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE