GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.0
317 Reviews (317)
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
91
3 Stars
82
2 Stars
51
1 Stars
52
Conditions
2.5
Value
3.4
Layout
3.2
Friendliness
3.9
Pace
3.2
Amenities
3.3
58.7%
Recommend this course
206 out of 317 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
2.7
28 Reviews (28)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
9
Conditions
2.3
Value
3.0
Layout
2.8
Pace
2.9
Amenities
2.9
StaffFriendliness
3.6
42.9%
Recommend this course
12 out of 28 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.0
55 Reviews (55)
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
11
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.3
Layout
3.1
Pace
3.1
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
3.8
56.4%
Recommend this course
31 out of 55 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Executive
Par 59
Length 3216 yards
Slope 84
Rating 57.2
Book a Tee Time at
Newport Beach Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1966
Golf Season Year Round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted All major credit cards accepted.
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Snacks, Restaurant

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Lounge, Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Reviews

3.0
317 Reviews (317)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Work in progress

The new owners and management team have made progress turning this course around. The fairways are greener and the greens are much better. They are in the process of improving the tee boxes, going from mats to natural grass. Hazards are next. It is one of my favorite courses for value, practice and a nice driving range. The great staff makes a difference too. Give them another year and it will be a gem.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/13/2022

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit.

We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind.

Played On
Reviews 1
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/09/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We see you rated the course 1 star and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit. We take single-star feedback very seriously at our course. You are welcome to comment further or reach out to our team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thanks for choosing Newport Beach Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 2
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/03/2022

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear your experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you will give us another try in the future. Thank you for choosing Newport Beach Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

back 9

slow pace and they lat somebody play back9 in frnont of my group

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting Newport Beach Golf Course, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 9
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow slow slow

By the 4th hole there was a 4 group line up waiting to tee off. Just atrocious pace of play and makes for a longer than necessary round.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting Newport Beach Golf Course, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2022

Hello, We appreciate the review. You rated us 3-stars which means there is room to improve on your recent experience at Newport Beach Golf Course. Let us know, in the comments, how and where you would like to see changes from the course. Thanks for the feedback!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Grass Tee Box!

Haven’t played here in more than a decade. They’ve really made it enjoyable. Not every hole has a mat!! Awesome improvement. I think all holes on the back have a grass tee box. Greens were great and I couldn’t believe people had golf carts. I’ll be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Tee times to close together

No control of tee times or starter block. It seems they just pack the course with as many players as possible. I did a hot deal for 18 holes on a Sunday at 4pm and didn’t want to play the back nine because it was talking so long to finish the front nine. Won’t use this app to book a times here again.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2022

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review and leave your feedback on your recent round with us. It is always our utmost goal to provide our golfers with a fun and enjoyable time and we apologize if we missed the mark. Please feel free to reach out to our staff in the pro shop with any additional concerns. Thanks for choosing Newport Beach Golf Course.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Previously Played

Overpriced and always busy

One of the longer executive type courses around here. The greens are in decent shape as well as the tee boxes. I went to go play last week. Had a 6AM tee time and when I went to get I. My car at 5:30 it wouldn’t start so I couldn’t go. But of course I got charged still. Kind of ridiculous. A course that is packed all the time and really because it’s the only one around, charges me for a tee time I so desperately wanted to go to but couldn’t. Disgusting

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2022

Hello. Thank you for reviewing the course. We would like to apologize for your recent experience.

We're sorry to hear you were less than satisfied during your round. We pride ourselves on our providing great service and the high-quality standards we maintain.

We would like to make things right. Please reach out to our management team at the pro shop.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Trash Course

Course is absolute trash... Need I say more? Save your money and go play Meadowlark or Costa Mesa Country Club’s 2 courses.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2022

Hi, Thank you for reviewing the course. Let us first start by apologizing for the poor experience you had during your visit. Your feedback about the course is important to us. We are working to get everything up to par. We have projects ongoing to recover the fairways and greens. The conditions is by no means the standard we strive to achieve. We are going to escalate your feedback to our team so we can make improvements before your next game, and we will continue to work towards an excellent experience by using your comment for guidance. Thank you for playing Newport Beach Golf Course. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Never again!

I’m from Utah and even our worse course is 10 times better than this course...never again!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/19/2022

Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We see you rated the course 2-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve for your next visit.

We take customer feedback very seriously at our course. Please reach out to our team in the golf shop and tell us what's on your mind.

Played On
Reviews 14
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worst customer service experience ever

First thing I get there and there's no putting. There redoing the entire putting greens.. no notice.. then second get to the window to check in for my Teetime that I planned week in advance. The worker tells me there no back 9 there's only the front 9 holes. But you can lope back around and do it again. I had friends coming from as far as 30 miles away to only play a 9 hole course. Then on top of that the place raised there pricing. Could not believe how bad the place is getting. Absolutely terrible experience. I don't think there going to be around much longer. I least for me and the amount of friends that I know, we won't be coming back to often. Get your act together.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/03/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review and leave your feedback of your recent round with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced at the course with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us. It is always our utmost goal to provide our golfers with a fun and enjoyable time and apologize if we missed the mark. For further resolution in this matter, please feel free to reach out to our staff in the pro shop. We hope to hear from you soon!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0

DO NOT PLAY HERE

Do not play here if you want to have fun because you will wait 20 minutes max on tee boxes to hit. People are hitting left and right and can’t hit the fairway. It’s embarrassing and just not a course to recommend to anyone.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/03/2022

Hello,

We’re sorry to hear of your less-than-satisfactory experience and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.

We value our customers' opinions and would like to make things right and determine how we can provide a solution that makes you smile.

Please contact us directly at the pro shop. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Played On
Reviews 4
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course, tee waits

The course it’s self is full of dirt holes and you won’t be able to get a good hit from the fairway unless you move the ball on some grass. Once I got to hole 4 I had to wait 20 minutes just for people to tee off. The wait is ridiculous, people that okay here don’t know how to play. They slice or push the ball far left or right and instead of playing another ball you have to wait for them to look for there ball. Not a good course for those who can hit.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/03/2022

Hello,

We’re sorry to hear of your less-than-satisfactory experience and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies.

We value our customers' opinions and would like to make things right and determine how we can provide a solution that makes you smile.

Please contact us directly at the pro shop. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/02/2022

Thank you for reviewing us! We see you rated the course 3-stars and are interested in learning what we can do to improve before your next round. Feel free to comment on this review or reach out to the team in the golf shop. We always appreciate the feedback. Thank you for playing Newport Beach Golf Course, and we hope to see you again soon.

Nearby Courses
Santa Ana, California
Private
0.0
0
Costa Mesa, California
Municipal/Public
3.7318882353
1488
Irvine, California
Public
3.2473352941
765
Newport Beach, California
Private
0.0
0
Newport Beach, California
Public/Resort
1.0
2
Costa Mesa, California
Municipal/Public
3.7318882353
1488
Newport Beach, California
Private
0.0
0
Costa Mesa, California
Private
4.0
1
Newport Coast, California
Resort
4.5316058824
69
Irvine, California
Public
4.1953352941
392
Irvine, California
Private
5.0
1
Newport Coast, California
Resort
4.7085
94
Golf Packages
FROM $797 (USD)
ORANGE COUNTY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at The Resort at Pelican Hill and 2 rounds of golf at Pelican Hill Golf Club - Ocean North & Ocean South Courses.
FROM $557 (USD)
ORANGE COUNTY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at the Waldorf-Astoria Monarch Beach and 2 rounds of golf at Monarch Beach Golf Links.
FROM $437 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the OMNI La Costa Resort & Spa and 3 rounds of golf at the OMNI La Costa Golf Club (Legends & Champions Courses) & The Grand Golf Club.
FROM $617 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, Golf Club & Spa and 2 rounds of golf at Aviara Golf Club.
FROM $617 (USD)
SAN DIEGO, CA | Enjoy 4 nights’ accommodations at the Fairmont Grand Del Mar and 3 rounds of golf at The Grand Golf Club, Maderas Golf Club, and Aviara Golf Club.
Now Reading