GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
707 Reviews (707)
5 Stars
269
4 Stars
338
3 Stars
69
2 Stars
25
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.1
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.2
88.3%
Recommend this course
638 out of 707 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
137 Reviews (137)
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
10
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.4
85.4%
Recommend this course
117 out of 137 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
261 Reviews (261)
5 Stars
113
4 Stars
108
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
15
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.0
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.5
86.2%
Recommend this course
225 out of 261 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6657 yards
Slope 134
Rating 73.3
Book a Tee Time at
Port Royal - Robbers Row
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1967
Golf Season Year round
Architect George Cobb (1967) Pete Dye (1994) Willard Byrd (1967)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities

Reviews

4.2
707 Reviews (707)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 6
Water Hazards 6
This course/club is great for:
Playing Multiple Courses 7
Seniors 6
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good Course

Layout of course was pretty good. Had a few challenging holes which made it fun to test your skill level. Pace of Play was fast and had rangers out there to make sure things kept moving.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Robbers Row Review

Course was okay except greens were just aerated and sanded so putting was difficult to get a true line.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

This was my first time playing this course. Didn’t know what to expect. Read some not so good reviews. Loved the course. I would play again. I played in the afternoon. Finished in 3.5 hrs. Course was in good shape. A couple of the tee boxes could have been in better shape. There were a lot of doglegs and the par 3’s had water around the holes. Fun to play

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good track. Needs some TLC

A big company owns Port Royal and they put big money into the buildings after a hurricane. They need to put some money into the course. Tee boxes are poor. Water is smelly, dark green and stagnant. Most fairways are reasonably Ok. Greens are mostly good. Green surrounds are strange. Most courses cut so you can putt. Here the fairways are short cut and the immediate surrounds are longer. So if 5 yards short of the green you putt from short grass over longer grass onto the green. Basically the better alternative is chipping. A tougher shot for anyone over a 10 handicap. Cart paths a full of root heaves. The course is attractive but conditions detract from the experience.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

mtaxter,
Thank you for your feedback and review. We're glad you had a good experience while playing Port Royal. To your point, Heritage Golf Group does own Port Royal and we are making capital improvements year over year. We hope you have an opportunity to play again in the future to see our improvements. Thanks again!

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Disappointed

Conditions were well below expectations. Pace of play was terrible

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

u314162759797,
Thank you for your review and rating. Sorry you didn't have a great experience. Hope you will have an opportunity to come back in the future.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Joe Irish

Greens were good… Fairways were reasonable… Tee boxes need a good bit of work.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

Joe Irish,
Thank you for your review and rating. WE're glad to hear you had a good experience while visiting Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. To your point, some of our teeing areas are thin due to shade and tree root competition. That said, we are going to re-sod some areas and limb some trees to promote more sunlight. Hope to see you again after our improvements.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 28
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Good course

not very difficult course to play. Fairways in good condition and greens(couple with imperfections but rolled good) . Tee boxes could be mowed better. Staff all good.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

eagle4ruth,
Thank you for your review and rating. We're happy you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course review

The course was in terrible shape. Tee boxes were bad as well as the greens and fairways. No rough whatsoever. Way overpriced for the course conditions. Would chose to golf elsewhere next time.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

u4874073,
Thank you for you review and rating. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your round at Port Royal. Our Bermuda grass growing season was off to a slow start but I'm happy to say it's growing very well now. I recommend playing in the afternoon when we offer specials rates if the morning prices are higher than you'd like to pay.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Request A Vacation Quote From Heritage Golf Group
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Heritage Golf Group will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.6667
18
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
4.0858941176
715
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.5473529412
415
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.7856470588
259
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.2401705882
1227
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.1330470588
664
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
2.8630588235
385
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
0.0
0
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.2618117647
68
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.4196
245
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
4.1326470588
2592
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.0
4
Golf Packages
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $327 (USD)
AMELIA ISLAND, FL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the OMNI Amelia Island Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Amelia River Golf Club, Fernandina Beach Golf Club, and Oak Marsh Course at OMNI Amelia Island.
Now Reading