GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
743 Reviews (743)
5 Stars
284
4 Stars
352
3 Stars
72
2 Stars
27
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.1
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.2
88.2%
Recommend this course
668 out of 743 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
111 Reviews (111)
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
11
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.8
Value
3.9
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.4
82.0%
Recommend this course
91 out of 111 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
231 Reviews (231)
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
97
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
4
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.5
86.6%
Recommend this course
200 out of 231 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6657 yards
Slope 134
Rating 73.3
Book a Tee Time at
Port Royal - Robbers Row
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1967
Golf Season Year round
Architect George Cobb (1967) Pete Dye (1994) Willard Byrd (1967)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Restaurant

Available Facilities

Banquet Facilities

Reviews

4.2
743 Reviews (743)

What Golfers Are Saying

Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 6
Water Hazards 6
This course/club is great for:
Playing Multiple Courses 7
Seniors 6
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course was in excellent shape. Very friendly staff.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2022

u312417381,
Thank you for your review and rating. We're glad you had an excellent expereince while playing Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We look forward to seeing you again.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 2
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course dried out. Facilities very tired. Needs a lot of updating.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2022

Charles,
Thank you for your review and feedback. Sorry to hear your expereince wasn't as positive as it could have been. We are always trying to improve course conditions through maintenance practices as well as with capital projects. Hope you have an opportunity to play again in the future.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very mediocre

Greens and tee boxes in very poor condition. No starter at first tee. Any question asked of staff seemed like an imposition. No Marshall to be seen and extremely slow round even accounting for it being a resort course-that’s what marshals are for. Cart girl came around a few times and couldn’t swipe credit cards. Had to type in the numbers manually which didn’t help pace of play. Not her fault, but sounded like it’s been this way for a few weeks.

Could be a fun short layout if they took better care of it and ran it like a legitimate course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

u323288377,
Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience while visiting Port Royal. We have had a lot of rain over the last few weeks but our courses are are shaping up nicely. Would you email me the day and time you played? My email is jrusch@heritagegolfgroup.com.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Really enjoy this course

We have played this course for two years when we come to our timeshare and really enjoy everything about it. Thanks for having us.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2022

u1828803029,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We're happy to hear you had an excellent experience while playing Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We look forward to seeing you again next year and thank you for spending time with us.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Nothing special

Ok golf course in average condition. Cart path only which contributed to pathetic pace of play. Rangers we’re present but didn’t/couldn’t do anything to address the situation. This will be the overriding memory of the course. Overall not worth $100 per person.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

u199181452,
Thank you for your review and rating. Hopefully you will be able to play both courses when conditions are drier. I think you'll find them to be a lot of fun. We'll continue to work on pace of play efforts too. We appreciate you playing at Port Royal.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

u8316229,
Thank you for your rating. Is there anything specific you enjoyed most about your visit?

Hope you see you again soon!

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 41
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beware of rain check policy!!!

Played 8 holes before rain and lightning started. There were no alerts for lightning and when we arrived back at pro shop they acted like there was nothing wrong with weather.
They provided course credit which was prorated for the holes we didn’t play. They did not refund the entire green fee. They said there was no limit as to when we could use the credit but the problem is that we are from Canada and not sure if we will be back.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

stripes1999,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We're sorry you had stop playing due to poor weather. Did you enjoy the eight holes you were able to play? Please feel free to contact me via email at jrusch@heritagegolfgroup.com to discuss our raincheck policy and other potential solutions.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course was in excellent shape.

It was a pleasure to see Parker Mulford. You are very fortunate to have such a caring individual and qualified Golf Pro!
Sue and Bill Magnuson

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

Sue and Bill Magnuson,
Thank for your rating and review. We're happy you had an excellent experience at Port Royal. We're equally happy you enjoyed your interactions with one of our golf professionals, Parker Mulford.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course...

My sons and I had a great round at this course...Everything was in great shape.. greens were perfect. We had an awesome time...!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
960fb115-e5b2-53c9-89f9-db896c12883a
Commented on 09/18/2022

smitche102,
Thank you for your review and rating. We're glad you and your sons had an excellent experience while playing Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We look forward to seeing you again.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

smitche102,
Thank you for your rating and feedback. We're very happy you had an excellent experience while playing at Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We look forwrad to seeing you again soon.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

Thank you for your rating and review. We're happy to hear you had a good experience while playing Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We hope to see you again during your next trip to HHI.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Default User Avatar
Anonymous
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Staff

The lady that check me in wasn’t very friendly,I can say this because I work at a golf course

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

Thank you for your rating and review. I'm sorry to hear your check-in experience wasn't as positive as it should have been. That said, it sounds like you enjoyed your overall experience. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have additional feedback. Hope to see you again during your next visit to HHI.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

A little better than average

It was disappointing that some fairways were being mowed and the clippings were all over.. I understand it has to be done but it still wasn’t ideal playing conditions.
Also I thought the tee boxes were substandard. They need to be addressed.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

u314160932789,
Thank you for your review and rating. Glad you had a good experience and we appreciate your feedback. We are working on teeing areas as well as other areas throughout both courses. We hope to see you again soon.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Wide open golfer friendly

Excellent Course had a great time should lower the price war have more hot deals

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

CaptLee54,
Thank you for your review and rating. We're glad to hear you had an excellent experience while visiting Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club. We hope to see you again during your next trip to HHI.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course

Everything was great except the tee boxes may need some improvements.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

“Known Computer Glitch”

Was not allowed to play Robbers Row despite a written e-mail confirmation from the reservation I made a month earlier through GolfNow. I planned my vacation courses carefully with Robbers Row as one of 5 different courses I wanted to play. Imagine my disappointment, as when I presented my receipt to the starter that I would have to play the sister course and not Robbers because Robbers was only open to Members. I had played the sister course 3 days prior. I went to Pro shop to challenge, I was told “computer glitch, sorry”. Subsequent phone call to Heritage Golf I learned that they are aware of this problem with your system (that GolfNow makes courses and times available that are not and GolfNow IT has not fixed it). Please correct the problem. I was very upset I was not able to play the course I expected. Bad customer experience. Booking was easy through Golf Now. Had done it 6 times for my trip without issue.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/29/2022

u314161013170,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvience that we caused you during your visit. That said, please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next visit to HHI and we'll try to make it up to you. Hope to hear from you.

Jay Rusch, PGA
General Manager & Director of Golf

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Robbers Row

Was a rainy am so we appeared to be the first out, pace of play was great 3 hr round, with great course conditions. Port Royal is a great surprise to play and will be back…

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Request A Vacation Quote From Heritage Golf Group
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Heritage Golf Group will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.6667
18
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
4.0733411765
764
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
3.2534823529
430
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.6685058824
259
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.2197705882
1318
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.1147529412
694
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
2.0787352941
385
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
0.0
0
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.4298
69
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.3565714286
245
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
4.1354117647
2696
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.0
4
Golf Packages
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $327 (USD)
AMELIA ISLAND, FL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the OMNI Amelia Island Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Amelia River Golf Club, Fernandina Beach Golf Club, and Oak Marsh Course at OMNI Amelia Island.
Now Reading