Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
974 Reviews (974)
5 Stars
439
4 Stars
413
3 Stars
87
2 Stars
27
1 Stars
8
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.1
91.1%
Recommend this course
879 out of 974 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.2
297 Reviews (297)
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
125
3 Stars
38
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.5
87.2%
Recommend this course
259 out of 297 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
483 Reviews (483)
5 Stars
222
4 Stars
198
3 Stars
44
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.0
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.6
90.1%
Recommend this course
435 out of 483 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Par 72
Length 7018 yards
Slope 137
Rating 74.7

Oyster Reef features elevated tees and lush fairways lined by thick stands of live oak and pine. Numerous doglegs accented by strategically located mounds and fairway bunkers, call for well-planned tee shots. Varying sizes of greens with well-defined tiers place a premium on precise approach shots.

The par-3 sixth hole, which plays 192 yards from the back tees to a green set against a backdrop of Port Royal Sound, is one of the most visually spectacular holes on Hilton Head. Oyster Reef is now a semi-private member-owned club with a limited number of tee times for guest play,

The carefully-maintained facility, designed by noted course architect Rees Jones, continues to be a favorite destination for serious golfers as well as a favorite with locals.

Book a Tee Time at
Oyster Reef Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1982
Golf Season Year round
Architect Rees Jones (1982) Keith Evans (1982)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in South Carolina (2018 #25)

Reviews

4.3
974 Reviews (974)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 22
Water Hazards 15
Narrow Fairways 12
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 15
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 13
Playing Multiple Courses 12
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 14
At a Resort 7
Near the Airport 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointed

Our tee time was bumped four hours prior to schedule. This forced us to change dinner plans with our out of town guest…..not good! Pace of play was unacceptable and the Marshalls did nothing to accelerate play. Small discount in price was a mere token and considering we went off after 2:00 pm was not enough as we finished in semi darkness. Also, no one helped us with our bags at the start or close of play. Love Oyster Reef and have played it many times over the last 25 years but today was a real downer.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cancel without notification

We arrived at scheduled time only to be told there’s at least a 2 hour delay. They never notified us in advance .even though it was known in advance. They made no attempt to accommodate this known change. Really poor treatment of customers

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good day

Nice day. Did not have enough golf carts if singles were paired together. Never saw a ranger.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thanks for the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thanks for the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/22/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thanks for choosing Oyster Reef and the review.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Fader’s Nightmare

Great course! Beware if you play left to right! I can only remember one hole that goes left to right.

Greens are great, firm and fair. Lots of grain so be prepared to account for it.

Awesome beer specials, won’t break the bank!

Super slow though! I mean, SUPER slow.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for choosing Oyster Reef and the review.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Play only if you don’t mind slow pace in afternoon.
Backed up.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course, very indifferent service

Staff was less than nice, acted like they were doing us a favor to let us play. At the turn we were told in a less than polite way that we were 3 minutes behind pace so we really needed to pick it up!! This did not account for the fact that we were sent to the first tee on time but when we got there the group in front of us had not teed off yet.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course layout

I’ve played this course numerous times and it is a great, far above average, course layout.
Conditions may vary in the climate but the conditions in recent years has generally been in very good condition.
I would offer that before teeing off we are always told of the 4 hour 20 minute pace of play and to keep up with the group in front of us.
The course and management seldom if ever say ANYTHING to violators. May admittedly be “mature and/or vacationing “ players but it makes for a long day for players who are likely to return and even bring additional players. I’m not suggesting a police state but 5 hour rounds will keep players from returning. I’ve had some of those and have even walked off. I really enjoy the course but my ratings weren’t all higher because of this and factors related to pace of play. Good luck.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Thank you for choosing Oyster Reef and the review.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great layout.

Had a great of golf.
It’s a shame the bartender and kitchen staff are bad.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/12/2021

Thanks for the review.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Club selection is key

The initial drawback was the range was not open. No warm up cost a few shots on the opening holes. It turned out to be a 5 hour round. Too slow. Club selection is critical. Driver is definitely not to be used on every hole. Course is tight, but playable. The alligator here and there was an interesting touch as well as the scenery. I will play there again.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/12/2021

Thanks for the review.

Played On
Reviews 5
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/12/2021

Thanks for choosing Oyster Reef and the review.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/11/2021

Thanks for the review.

Request A Vacation Quote From Heritage Golf Group
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Heritage Golf Group will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.
Nearby Courses
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
3.5196117647
415
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
3.4173882353
385
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.1049764706
520
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
3.3011058824
256
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.4531529412
245
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
0.0
0
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.6667
18
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
4.1895058824
536
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
4.1403647059
558
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Public
4.1813
2126
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Private
4.0
4
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Resort
3.7662823529
66
Golf Packages
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $367 (USD)
SEA ISLAND, GA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at The Inn at Sea Island and 3 rounds at Sea Island Seaside, Plantation & Retreat Courses.
Now Reading