St. Boswells Golf Club
The original course was laid out by William Park, Musselburgh Open Golf Champion, who wrote in his brief 'the turf is very good and resembles very much the turf to be found on seaside courses'.
The only hiccup in the Club's history took place in 1948 when the river Tweed rose some 1 feet above normal level, once in a century flood, and so much damage was done that the Club was forced to close down. Ten years later the Club was reformed on a temporary lease and was redesigned by John Slade, Duddingston. Play resumed in 1958 and through strenuous efforts by a few members an with financial support from the local community the Club flourished. The fortunes of the Club changed dramatically in 1979 when the course was purchased out right and a few years later in 1985 a new clubhouse was built. Unlike other Border courses the terrain is flat and presents few difficulties other than the River Tweed, which is defined as a 'lateral water hazard'. It is a delightful holiday course with a SSS of 66.
|Red (W)||72||4910 yards|
|White M: 65.2/111||148||161||316||198||425||321||442||370||256||2637||5274|
|Red W: 65.5/110||138||135||286||194||400||298||390||368||246||2455||4910|
Food & BeverageBar
Available FacilitiesClubhouse, Lounge, Locker Rooms
Great little course tucked away, layout, views clubhouse staff fantastic, greens very good , a little slow but true. Anne, made us very welcome and showed us what's what and we feel like we've made a new friend.
Recommend this beautiful, flat course, we will return.
Paul and Angela from Clays Golf in Wales
A wee gem
A lovely 9 hole course tucked along the River Tweed. An easy walk apart from hill back up to car park.
Looks an easy layout but is quite tricky. Greens were very good, as was the whole course.
Clubhouse manned until mid afternoon then honesty box in operation.