GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
909 Reviews (909)
5 Stars
577
4 Stars
261
3 Stars
55
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
7
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.7
Layout
4.8
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.9
96.9%
Recommend this course
874 out of 909 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
74 Reviews (74)
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.7
94.6%
Recommend this course
70 out of 74 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
188 Reviews (188)
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.7
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.7
97.3%
Recommend this course
183 out of 188 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7103 yards
Slope 141
Rating 74.3

Edgewater Golf Club has a peaceful setting tucked away in Lancaster. The course feels completely secluded with a layout that tumbles across rolling hills covered with a blanket of matures trees. The terrain is as scenic as it is challenging, providing the layout with dramatic elevation changes and plenty of water. In addition to the natural hazards, there are numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking along the greensides. An abundance of wildlife also calls the golf course home, so don't be surprised if you see deer or turkeys roaming the course. One of Edgewater Golf Club's most memorable holes is the par-4 seventh. This tricky hole is a downhill dogleg left that forces you to drive right-center of the fairway, followed by a tough approach to a green that sits on the bank above Fishing Lake Creek.

Book a Tee Time at
Edgewater Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2008
Fairways Bermuda
Greens A1/A4 Bent
Architect Bruce Brodsky (2008)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy No
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirts or mock turtlenecks required. Men: bermuda shorts or long pants only. Ladies: shorts, skirts, pants, or skorts. No denim.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

Reviews

4.6
909 Reviews (909)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Brunch 6
Watching the Game 6
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 47
Bunkers 40
Water Hazards 21
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 40
Advanced Golfers 34
Locals 25
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 49
In the 'Burbs 10
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Fair weather
Used cart

Hidden Gem!

Played 12/21/15
Course was muddy in spots but generally in great shape. Greens were excellent & very fast. Great place to play & best value in the area. My second visit, helps to know the course. A few blind shots but nothing unfair. Great staff & a great day!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

My first hole in one!

Probably my 50th(ish) round at this course since ‘22. Never once been disappointed with the course conditions or staff. Made my first ace on hole 11 on January 19th, 2023! Look forward to many more rounds at this one of a kind course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 10
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Always Enjoyable

Really like this course - drive over an hour and a half to meet family and friends to play here but, well worth it. One of the few courses to still have bent greens which I love and they are pretty well taken care of. Plan on returning to play here many times.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 29
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Hi, u000002890183. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 81
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Winter conditions

It's January, so expect dormant fairways; dry today and only 2 holes with cart path only. Greens in good shape and fairly quick. Bunkers have plenty of sand. Housing construction is going to ruin the scenery as trees are clear cut.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Hi, u585344744. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 132
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/13/2023

Hi, chrogr10. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Played on day which had morning rain

We played at 11:30 on a day which had early rain up until about an hour before our start time. We had cart path only for our round but we’re please with how well course has drained - centers of some fairways were soppy but overall conditions were ok. Greens were great

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 13
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course

First time at Edgewater. Staff was super friendly and course was in great shape. some short drivable par 4’s. Every hole was different and lots of elevated tees.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course until you get to the back nine.

Went on a slow day and I can say overall the course was amazing to play on. Definitely better than the ones around rock hill. My only complaint is that the course seems to be well design until you get to the back nine. Besides one hole, these are the longest holes on the entire course and they are back to back. Which is why I think there was a severe back up when I got to hole 10. Which severely increase my time per hole trying to wait or pass the groups in front of me when I realize there were three more groups in front of them. Of course this could be bad luck which is why I will defend return at some point!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First time

Great 👍 first trip to Edgewater. Saw some wildlife, made some birdies and the scenery was fantastic. Would love to come back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

10/10 all around

Bought just a one golfer pass and was paired up with two others. They were a great time and played the course often so I got to learn where not to hit my shank. Beautiful course. Greens are quick. I have already recommended this course to others and plan on going back. Very fun time and very scenic routes from each hole to the next.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 81
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Soft greens still recovering

Played here on Tuesday, uncrowded w great weather. Greens were punched a couple of weeks ago, so they are soft and still recovering. Bunkers have plenty of good sand. Love playing here but too far from home for a weekly trip from Matthews. Clubhouse is limited. Carts are good but no GPS.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great course

People are great here, the staff is very friendly. This
is one of our favorite courses, unfortunately we live
in Charlotte and it is about a one hour drive.
They have just ariated the greens so they were a little bumpy but rolled true.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Terrible pace of play

To be fair, the course conditions were very good it’s and a very nice course, and the staff was friendly, however the pace of play was absolutely terrible, 5 hours for 18 holes is completely unacceptable. We teed off at 8:44 AM on a Sunday morning, So maybe 5-6 groups ahead of us and of course I understand it’s a weekend, but 4.5 hours should be the maximum not 5. It really ruins your round when you have to wait that long after every shot. We got backed up on Every par 3, we drove up to the Teebox and the Group ahead of us were just teeing off. Again, weekend golf is never fast and I’m very aware of this, but come on Edgewater you really need to do a better job than this.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Too Slow -Still Aerated

5-hour golf! Ugh. Golf is a three (3) hour game, people. Not four. Three. But when it gets to 4:30….it’s so bad.
Like most courses, the staff here is clueless about how to make their course a fast-play haven. Not do they understand all the great things that will come from that.
Sad to see bad golfers cranking the tunes in their cart & smothering the ball around the course for hours. Edgewater is a great facility….but…….too…….s-l-o-w

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Nearby Courses
Great Falls, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.0
2
Lancaster, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.4188571429
311
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.7162117647
474
Chester, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.2466857143
339
Kershaw, South Carolina
Public/Municipal
5.0
2
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Private
4.0
1
Winnsboro, South Carolina
Private
0.0
0
Golf Packages
FROM $227 (USD)
ASHEVILLE, NC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations and 1 round of golf at Maggie Valley Club & Resort.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
Now Reading