Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
746 Reviews (746)
5 Stars
353
4 Stars
328
3 Stars
48
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
4
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.3
Layout
4.7
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.0
93.5%
Recommend this course
711 out of 746 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
57 Reviews (57)
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.7
91.2%
Recommend this course
52 out of 57 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.4
127 Reviews (127)
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.7
92.1%
Recommend this course
117 out of 127 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7000 yards
Slope 139
Rating 74.0

Northern California's San Juan Oaks Golf Club is located halfway between the Silicon Valley and Monterey Peninsula off Highway 101 near the historic town of San Juan Bautista in Hollister. Opened in 1996, the 18-hole golf course is Fred Couples' first signature design in California and features five sets of tees for varying skill levels. It's also home to "Club Boom Boom," a popular junior teaching program. On top of the golf course, San Juan Oaks is known especially for its elaborate facilities including banquet rooms and patios for group outings, as well as driving range and practice greens.

Book a Tee Time at
San Juan Oaks Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1996
Fairways Blue Grass
Greens Blue Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Fred Couples (1996) Gene Bates (1996) Kipp Schulties (1996) Steve Wolfard (1996)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared Shirts, Golf Slacks or Shorts required. No denim, cut offs, tank tops, swimsuits.

Available Facilities

Meeting Facilities, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in California (2016 #13) (2015 #15)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Pace of Play in the U.S. (2016 #23)

Reviews

4.4
746 Reviews (746)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 59
Patio Dining 27
Brunch 26
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 77
Bunkers 68
Forced Carries 64
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 94
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 90
Locals 57
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 108
Convenient to the City 12
In the 'Burbs 12

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

No snack cart, no snack bar personel

Everything was great with the exception of their snack cart and snack bar personnel both called in sick??? No back contingencies??? Good thing the course was in great shape and the day conditions was perfect!

Perfect attitude for their starter (Mike) I believe he said he's been there 10 years, informative, sociable and efficient.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/25/2021

Hello, u000002404041. Thank you for visiting us at San Juan Oaks Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u314161626039! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

One of my favorite course

it’s one of my favorite course in Bay Area with little driving but worth it. Greens are in well conditions all time. Loved back nine holes tough but I like the challenges.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/18/2021

Hi, huynhjosh. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 12
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Super slow green, slower pace of play

Green is too slow, as it has been.
Two groups of seniors in front of me left 2+ holes empty & enjoyed their Sunday outing with slow play, taking 5+ hours for 18 holes. The GPS on the cart kept complaining about my pace, but course marshall didn't try to push them.
I will not try this course again in pleasant weekend when seniors can have their loose socializing, which happened to me not just once.
And I wish they could make green faster & pour some sand in the bunker.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/12/2021

Hi, stkim00. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We apologize for the pace of play issue you experienced during your recent round. We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. We will share your comments with our staff and hope you'll give us another try in the future. Thank you for playing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 10/07/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, mattbrotherton! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/24/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, oswold! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/23/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, fredgallop! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/20/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, sacrick! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

very nice course

it's a very nice course though a bit far from home. Liked the view, layout, design and the overall well maintained environment . Love to play there again in the near future.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/14/2021

Hi, u501658031. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/14/2021

Hello, MrNev. Thank you for visiting us at San Juan Oaks Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course!

Great course for a long hitter! Cart paths need work. Cart GPS nice but too intrusive throughout the round. Greens are in great shape! Fun course will play again for sure.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/14/2021

Hi, Sommguy. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/15/2021

Hello, u314160610051. Thank you for visiting us at San Juan Oaks Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 19
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Needs Sand

Bunkers were hard sand. Almost impossible to blast.
Too windy; seriously they should warn players when wind gusts are over 30 mph. If those two issues were addressed, it would rate higher.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/03/2021

Hi, tlauck! Thank you so much for leaving us with your feedback. We value our customer experience, so your review is important to us. We will make note and we hope to see you back at San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course/staff

Nice course and wonderful staff. Extremely slow playing course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/07/2021

Hi, chigger7. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Worth the Drive

Had walked this course many times for junior golf tournaments, but this was the first time our regular foursome played here. It’s almost a 2 hour drive to get to SJO from the East Bay but it was definitely worth the drive down.

We had the 7:10am tee time but the twosome at 7:00am swapped with our foursome as they were still warming up at the range. The range was nice. Nice grass. Roomy and not crammed together just to squeeze in a range.

Pace was really good - typical of what you’d expect for an early tee time. There was a threesome in front of us but we lost sight of them after about the fourth hole even though we made the turn at 8:45am.

Course conditions were excellent. Greens rolled true. Fun layout. We were there in late August so it started getting toasty on the back nine. Would definitely play again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 09/07/2021

Thank you for your review, TheDaddyCaddy. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at San Juan Oaks Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Oaks

Course was in awesome shape. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. I can’t wait to play there again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/30/2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us, u870532351. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. San Juan Oaks Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 39
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Too many cart-path only

I didn’t plan to have to walk this much with a cart.
Several holes had cart-path only. Many area are restricted and could not use the cart. Nice greens.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/24/2021

Hi, Sunti88. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing San Juan Oaks Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/24/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, awmh12! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/16/2021

Hello, u000003701855. Thank you for visiting us at San Juan Oaks Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/17/2021

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, deuxit3! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing San Juan Oaks Golf Club!

Nearby Courses
Hollister, California
Resort
2.8684
242
Tres Pinos, California
Public
3.375
16
Salinas, California
Private
4.6260588235
273
Gilroy, California
Public
3.0862176471
88
Salinas, California
Public
4.1853285714
234
Gilroy, California
Public
3.8572058824
510
Gilroy, California
Public
3.8105705882
208
Royal Oaks, California
Public
3.5447666667
195
Watsonville, California
Public
4.0
4
San Martin, California
Private/Resort
4.8571
7
Watsonville, California
Public
4.0
1
Golf Packages
FROM $257 (USD)
MONTEREY, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Embassy Suites by Hilton and 3 rounds of golf at Poppy Hills Golf Course, Black Horse Golf Course & Del Monte™ Golf Course.
FROM $367 (USD)
MONTEREY, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa and 3 rounds of golf at The Links at Spanish Bay™, Bayonet Golf Course and Poppy Hills Golf Course.
FROM $597 (USD)
MONTEREY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights’ accommodations at Quail Lodge & Golf Club and 2 rounds of golf at Carmel Valley Ranch and at Quail Lodge Golf Course.
FROM $1,037 (USD)
MONTEREY, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at The Lodge at Pebble Beach™ and 4 rounds of golf at Pebble Beach Golf Links™, Spyglass Hill™, Pasatiempo & Bayonet Golf Courses.
FROM $757 (USD)
HALF MOON BAY, CA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at The Ritz-Carlton Half Moon Bay and 2 rounds of golf at Half Moon Bay Golf Links.
Now Reading