GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.6
172 Reviews (172)
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
63
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
16
1 Stars
20
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.6
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.5
70.8%
Recommend this course
118 out of 172 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.2
17 Reviews (17)
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
4
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.0
Layout
4.4
Pace
4.4
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.8
52.9%
Recommend this course
9 out of 17 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
52 Reviews (52)
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
8
Conditions
3.1
Value
3.5
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.7
67.3%
Recommend this course
35 out of 52 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7155 yards
Slope 140
Rating 74.3
Book a Tee Time at
Leopards Chase
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2007
Fairways TifSport Bermuda
Greens L-93 Bentgrass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tim Cate

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

3.6
172 Reviews (172)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Beautiful layout

Great track! Beautiful layout on a challenging course. Fairways were overseeded a few weeks ago and are filling in well. Greens are recovering nicely. Looking forward to playing again in a few weeks when it's 100%.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Challenging Course

My dad and I played this course for the first time. Overall the course was in great shape except for the greens. The pro shop forewarned us about the greens and explained how they were in the process of repairing them; he reduced the cost. There is water on every hole and waste areas on most of the holes. Highly recommend this course and we will definitely be back to play it again!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course layout is excellent. The course is fair for players of all levels. Unfortunately the greens suffered damage earlier in the year and are in the process of recovering. The staff were excellent. My wife and I vacation in Myrtle Beach every year and will definitely play this course again.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Sick Cat

Nice greeter. Course is in horrible shape. Greens are gone.Can’t believe they are still charging what they do. The other cat courses have updated their greens. They appear to have abandoned this track.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/11/2022

We sincerely apologize we were not able to meet your expectations on this visit. Late summer is definitely not the ideal time for bentgrass greens, but we are working hard to provide the best conditions possible during this difficult weather period. We are also in the process of doing some significant upgrades at Leopard's Chase, which will pay great dividends in the immediate future and beyond. We hope you will come back and visit us again and see our continued progress and improvement

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course Conditions

I thought the course was in very poor condition. The greens were in horrible shape and all bunkers were also. This course was not worth the $59 they charge. One thing I liked about the course was the staff was very friendly.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/02/2022

We very much appreciate your patronage at Leopard's Chase and we apologize we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. The late summer months in our region are tough on heat sensitive bentgrass greens and our greatly reduced pricing this time of year is designed to reflect that fact. Bentgrass thrives in the cooler weather and theses putting surfaces will be much better in fall, winter and spring. Hopefully you can visit us again and enjoy the course when it is at its best.

Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Not worth the green fees of $55.00

Green's in horrible shape like putting on a fairway sand traps well you have to see them to believe how bad. If I had to rate between 1 to 10 a 2 might be high

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/28/2022

Thank you for your patronage and we appreciate your feedback very much. The heavy rains of the last couple of weeks have definitely impacted the condition of our sand traps, but we are working daily to refresh and restore them so they will be in very good shape for our golfers as we move forward. It appears you played the course on the day our maintenance department was verticutting the greens, a necessary procedure to ensure they are healthy and full in the fall season. This does make them a little unsightly and less smooth than is typical of bentgrass, but it is a very temporary condition and the greens will be much better as we move through the remainder of the year. We apologize we fell short of your expectations on this visit, but we hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/21/2022

Thank you fro the nice four star review of Leopard's Chase. We appreciate your patronage and we hope you will come visit us again soon and see our continued improvement and progress on all the Big Cats courses.

Played On
Reviews 15
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not what it use to be

For $69 this course is not recommended. Tee Boxes, fairways, rough & sand traps need lots of work.
1. Almost every Bunker has grass growing in them
2. Hard to determine the rough from the fairway
3. Tee Boxes we’re not in great shape
4. Greens were ok
5. No beverage cart (tee time was 10:06 am)

Ocean Ridge Plantation has 4 courses and use to be premier golf courses. They are not even close to what they use to be.

With the other courses within 10-15 minutes from them I do not recommend them until some major improvement is implemented.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/11/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Leopard's Chase. We apologize we fell short of your expectations on this visit. We have experienced a difficult period of an extreme drought followed by torrential downpour. The heavy rains of the last few days were much needed, but also made it difficult to mow greens and prep all the bunkers until things dry out a little. We are doing extensive work on the course at this time, including sodding some weak areas around tee boxes and rebuilding the putting green. Hopefully you made your concerns known to the pro shop staff on the day of play, as they are always willing to work with any group to make sure they have a satisfactory golfing experience. If this was not the case, please feel free to reach out to me at blong@oceanridge.com and we will do whatever we can to help make amends for the shortcomings of your last round.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cost too much $$ for conditions

Great layout but almost every bunker is washed out, greens were shaggy and slow. I realize we played after a storm but these conditions aren’t the result of a single storm, it’s a result of prolonged poor maintenance. For the cost of green fees it should be better. Loved it a few years ago but has gone downhill tremendously.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/11/2022

Thank you for your recent review. We apologize for the conditions you described. Unfortunately, after the type of heavy rainfall prior to the day you played, we were unable to get the mowers on the greens, resulting in the slow putting conditions you described. This was a very temporary situation, as we typically mow the greens daily, unless extreme weather conditions do not allow it. It is also important to note that any course in our area with premium bentgrass greens, such as Leopard's Chase, will not be able to mow them as low as in the cooler months, as the heat-sensitive bentgrass will not survive those playing conditions in the summer months. That is standard practice for bentgrass in our region. Raking the washed out areas of bunkers takes much longer, so it would take about three days to get all 100+ traps on the course reshaped after such a torrential downpour. Again, we apologize that you did not catch us at our best. Hopefully you can visit us again one day and you will find that the particular conditions you experienced are not typical for Leopard's Chase.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Course is not worth $60

First time playing course. I will never return. Once we got to the neighborhood, it took another 40 minutes to reach the course. The first tee box was in poor shape. Then the real shocker was the shape of the greens. Uncut. Weeds growing. Municipal courses have better greens. Wish I could have asked for my money back. Never seen greens in such poor shape. I will never go back. Spend your money elsewhere.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

We apologize we fell short of your expectations on your recent visit. The severe drought conditions in our area have plagued us for the last couple of months, but fortunately we received 5+ inches of rain over the past weekend and everything has greened up quickly. The heat sensitive bentgrass greens at Leopard's were stressed, but they have improved significantly as well. Any invasive grasses have been treated aggressively and will be quickly eradicated. We apologize again, but we want you to know we take your feedback seriously and will take whatever steps necessary to improve our guests' golfing experience. I'm not sure what happened on your drive in to our course, but our entire property is about a five minute drive from one side to the other and Leopard's Chase is easily accessible from all three of our entrances, with drive time ranging from 90 seconds to 5 minutes from entrance to clubhouse parking lot.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/27/2022

Thank you for the awesome Five Star review of Leopard's Chase. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. Please be sure to check out the other three Big Cats courses as well.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Fathers day

All the people from starter to food and beverage people were awesome. We felt welcome by the entire staff and enjoyed our day. Will be back to play again! TY

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2022

Thank you very much for the Great Five Star review! We are so glad you chose to spend your Father's Day with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2022

Thanks for the awesome Five Star Review of Leopard's Chase! We really appreciate it. Be sure to check out the other three Big Cats courses as well.

Played On
Reviews 1
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Just meh

Slow, bumpy greens. Burnt fairways. Bunkers haven’t been raked in awhile. Was the first group out and didn’t not see a single ground keeper all day. Spend your money elsewhere.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/21/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Leopard's Chase. You actually played the course right after we aerated the greens and they likely were a little bumpy for a couple of days. We are charging our greatly reduced summer rates to account for these types of typical summer maintenance. We apologize you did not catch us at our best. We hope you will come back soon and give us an opportunity to better provide you with a great golf experience.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/07/2022

Thank you for your patronage of Leopard's Chase. We apologize you had an unsatisfactory experience on this visit. The course was in a transition period between spring and summer and the extreme drought conditions of the last several weeks had slowed the process of the bermuda grass breaking dormancy. The rains we received in the last few days has helped tremendously and everything has greened up quite a bit. We expect the course to be in much better condition than you experienced as we move through the remainder of 2022 and beyond.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course is in terrible condition

Greens were awful . Spots everywhere. Fairways were hard and in bad shape. We were very disappointed. Architect should be praised. It could be a amazing course if it were taken care of.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/31/2022

Thank you fro taking the time to review your visit to Leopard's Chase. We apologize we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. The recent drought has caused significant problems for many courses in our area. Fortunately, we did receive some much needed rain in the last few days and this will help immensely. We apologize again and we will do everything we can to improve our operation as we move forward.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played

Needs Tender Loving Care

Leopards chase clubhouse is absolutely nothing to speak of and shameful for Ocean Ridge !!!!
The front nine holes fairways are terrible tea boxes terrible greens fungus terrible can easily be taken care of by normal maintenance which they are not doing, merely cutting the fairway lawns is not maintaining a Course.
The back nine fairways were in much better shape compared to the front and the greens Rosso well groomed and lush and I would still recommend it to friends !!
I would love to get on board to get this place in shape the way deserves!!!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/23/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Leopard's Chase. We appreciate the recommendation. We are working diligently every day to provide our guests with a fun and enjoyable playing experience. We hope you will visit us again and see our continued progress.

Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Maui Bob

First off at 7 am. Paired with a local golfer. Great layout. Very friendly and informative staff. Greens were a little thin around some of the edges, but very playable. We’ll definitely return.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/11/2022

Thank you very much for the great Five Star review of Leopard's Chase! We truly appreciate it and we hope you will visit us again soon. Be sure to check out the other three Big Cats courses as well!

Played On
Reviews 6
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course

Leopards Chase was a challenging course with beauty. This course was challenging with lots of water and sand. Precious is as important as distance. The greens are a little rough but the hole placement was picked to maximize the putting surface most importantly the course was beautiful and fun to play

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/06/2022

Thank you for the nice Four Star review of Leopard's Chase. We agree, it is definitely a fun course with beautiful scenery. We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Nearby Courses
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Public
3.9308411765
219
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Public
3.5334411765
149
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Public
3.7152235294
188
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.3343647059
941
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.3343647059
941
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.3343647059
941
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Resort
3.5950470588
282
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Semi-Private
3.6718
213
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Resort
4.0749294118
329
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Resort
3.3877529412
276
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.2540470588
472
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.2540470588
472
Golf Packages
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $247 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
Now Reading