Edgewater Golf Club in Lancaster, South Carolina, USA | GolfPass
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
847 Reviews (847)
5 Stars
540
4 Stars
240
3 Stars
52
2 Stars
8
1 Stars
7
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.6
Layout
4.8
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.8
96.6%
Recommend this course
815 out of 847 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
121 Reviews (121)
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.7
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.7
98.3%
Recommend this course
119 out of 121 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
194 Reviews (194)
5 Stars
123
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
4.7
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.7
98.5%
Recommend this course
191 out of 194 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 7103 yards
Slope 141
Rating 74.3

Edgewater Golf Club has a peaceful setting tucked away in Lancaster. The course feels completely secluded with a layout that tumbles across rolling hills covered with a blanket of matures trees. The terrain is as scenic as it is challenging, providing the layout with dramatic elevation changes and plenty of water. In addition to the natural hazards, there are numerous strategically placed bunkers lurking along the greensides. An abundance of wildlife also calls the golf course home, so don't be surprised if you see deer or turkeys roaming the course. One of Edgewater Golf Club's most memorable holes is the par-4 seventh. This tricky hole is a downhill dogleg left that forces you to drive right-center of the fairway, followed by a tough approach to a green that sits on the bank above Fishing Lake Creek.

Book a Tee Time at
Edgewater Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2008
Fairways Bermuda
Greens A1/A4 Bent
Architect Bruce Brodsky (2008)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy No
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirts or mock turtlenecks required. Men: bermuda shorts or long pants only. Ladies: shorts, skirts, pants, or skorts. No denim.

Food & Beverage

Bar, Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Accolades

Reviews

4.5
847 Reviews (847)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 8
Brunch 6
Watching the Game 6
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 47
Bunkers 40
Water Hazards 21
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 40
Advanced Golfers 34
Locals 25
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 49
In the 'Burbs 10
Convenient to the City 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Best in South Carolina

Best in South Carolina
What a spectacular course, cut in the woods surrounded by water. Very thoughtful and well laid out.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from on 02/22/2017:
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!
Played On
Reviews 2
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great golf course - must try in the CLT region

Once you find the course - what an absolute pleasure to play. Fairway width can be forgiving, yet the golf course challenges you in many other ways. Water plays a role on some of the golf course - the course is well bunkered - and most greens are elevated. The greens are showing amount of play - and not many people fixing their ball marks. The greens seemed a little "shaggy" (not unnormal - in the heat of August). All in all - well worth the drive. I'll certainly be returning.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/10/2022

Hello, tmcculla. Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at Edgewater Golf Club. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/09/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences, Michael9719067. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 10
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Maintance in the way

On the front nine one of the mowers would not stop and let us play. On the back nine we had to skip 4 hole because the greens were being watered.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/09/2022

We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us, u9931179. We are going to pass on your feedback to the team. Thanks for visiting Edgewater Golf Club, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Played On
Reviews 7
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

California Guest With Me

My Southern California Guest rated Edgewater as good as very pricey SoCal courses!

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/09/2022

ArthurLightbody, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Extremely nice course

Was an hour drive for me from Monroe. Well worth the trip. Best course I’ve played this year.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/09/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us, stanleyalexander. Your feedback is valuable, and we appreciate your business. Edgewater Golf Club thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Diamond in the rough

Edgewater is a well kept secret. The course is in excellent shape. Throughly enjoyed my round. I'll definitely play again. Great price to boot.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/05/2022

Shootdaj, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another great experience. Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Edgewater

Love the course. Entire course is always in good shape.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/02/2022

Hi, u314159426029. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/02/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u248921773! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, RG3117579DFE2C96778A! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 37
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great Time

Played a few months back and the experience was not up to par BUT this trip was excellent! Course is pretty much always in great shape, played in a little less than 4 hours and the pro shop was much friendlier this time around. No issues and I will be back soon!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/28/2022

Hi, Golfer6489. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back at Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/29/2022

Hi, mazblufan. We would love to hear more about your positive experience on our course. Please contact us to share with us your favorite part of your experience. Thanks for golfing at Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/26/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Bhinton3150! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/27/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u314163083486! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/26/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, henryfair1! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/13/2022

Hi, u314163039288. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. Thank you for the 4 stars! We aim for a 5-star experience, so we always welcome feedback for improvement. Thank you for playing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 72
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Great layout, worth the drive

Always enjoy this course w good greens and a great layout. Not very busy during the week. Only knock this day was the lack of drinking water on the back nine. The clubhouse is minimal,; range is good. Wish I lived closer to play often.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/26/2022

Hello, ncgolfer03. Thank you for visiting us at Edgewater Golf Club. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/06/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u314163017143! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

There was no ice at the turn..bought beer and it was semi warm..luckliy i had a cooler with ice that i had to take my waters out so i could met the beer chill for a few holes.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/26/2022

Thank you for your review, brazelld30. We will pass along your positive experience and feedback to our team at Edgewater Golf Club. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 8
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

As usual!

Edgewater never lets me down! It’s over an hour from my house. I happily drive RIGHT BY 20+ perfectly fine courses on my way to what is always excellent golf. Clean and tidy fairways and greens blanket a gorgeous course layout that challenges all levels of golfer. If someone asks me about golf in my area this is the first place I bring up for praise. Amenities for practice are excellent. Food is the only area they could improve and even that ain’t bad at all.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

PBoyd79, thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again at the course very soon for another 5-star experience. Thanks for choosing Edgewater Golf Club.

Played On
Reviews 14
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

In great shape!

Fairways and greens were in fantastic shape when we played on June 29. I love the course layout as well. If I had any constructive criticism, it would be about other players and not the course itself. Please fix your pitch marks! The course was busy when I played but it doesn't take much time to repair a pitch mark or three. Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed my round.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/05/2022

Hello, Timmyterrific. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your round at Edgewater Golf Club. Please visit us again soon!

Nearby Courses
Great Falls, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.4285714286
2
Lancaster, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.5232764706
311
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Semi-Private
2.6063764706
445
Chester, South Carolina
Semi-Private
4.3022823529
339
Kershaw, South Carolina
Public/Municipal
5.0
2
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Private
4.0
1
Winnsboro, South Carolina
Private
0.0
0
Golf Packages
FROM $227 (USD)
ASHEVILLE, NC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations and 1 round of golf at Maggie Valley Club & Resort.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
Now Reading