GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
562 Reviews (562)
5 Stars
443
4 Stars
73
3 Stars
31
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
6
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.4
83.1%
Recommend this course
526 out of 562 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.5
46 Reviews (46)
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.9
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
4.8
87.0%
Recommend this course
40 out of 46 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
86 Reviews (86)
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.8
Value
3.8
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.7
77.9%
Recommend this course
67 out of 86 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private/Resort
Par 72
Length 7232 yards
Slope 141
Rating 75.4
Book a Tee Time at
Rams Hill Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1983
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ted Robinson, Sr. (1983) Tom Fazio (2007) Dennis Wise (2007) Jackson Kahn Design (2013)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Beverage Carts

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

Reviews

4.3
562 Reviews (562)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 41
Patio Dining 41
19th Hole Scenic Views 37
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 52
Undulating Greens 45
Water Hazards 38
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 45
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 38
A Weekend Splurge 36
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 53
At a Resort 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

My Favorite Course to Play

As a golf coach in San Diego, I've been able to play almost all of the courses in San Diego, including most of the top private clubs, and I can say without hesitation that Ram's Hill is the finest golf experience in San Diego County and beyond. The course is immaculate, the setting is beautiful, the staff is welcoming and genuinely interested in you having a great experience, and the bar/restaurant is top-notch. What really sets Ram's Hill apart from the rest, however, is the layout and condition of the course. The course is beautifully maintained and the layout is really fun to play, plus you have the option to challenge yourself if you elect to play the gold or black tees. This was the 4th time I've played Ram's Hill and I'm already making plans for my next round, can't wait to get back out there!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
e4fb46aa-6108-5f66-a7ac-8190d69841d4
Commented on 12/27/2017

Thank you jkirschbaum for writing a great five star review. We are pleased to hear that your expectations were met at your recent visit. Hope to see you again in the upcoming New Year!

Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Cold weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Staff

Bob and Carla are absolute top notch staff that deserve recognition. There was another gentleman behind the pro shop counter who was fantastic as well but I did not catch his name. All are very respectful, accommodating, and people any club would want to represent the course whether they’ve played there a million times, or their first.

-Brian Hotka

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 82
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Absolutely worth the money and Drive!!!!

Amazing golf course. Best course I have played in a long time. Tees, fairways, fast firm greens after all the rain. Absolutely perfect playing conditions

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great layout and fun course.

I almost didn't play this because some reviews said not for beginners. I play from the forward tees and this course was very doable for me. In fact, I had one of my better scores. The layout is interesting and challenging. Choose your tees wisely. I played with two guys who hit from the tips. They swere good golfers who knew what they were doing, and hit mostly bogeys and some pars. So know your skill level and play from the right tees. The greens played VERY fast until the last hole, which was really slow. We were lucky with the weather which was perfect and not windy.

There were definitely patches of dirt in the fairways, which was disappointing for a course of this quality. I got a hot deal for $115 less the $10 golfpass credit brought my total to $105. I wouldn't want to pay much more than that because I've played better courses for much less than Ram's HIll full price (e.g., Black Jack's in Texas, Black Mesa in NM, Coeur d'Alene resort in Idaho).

Then there's the Ram Shack at the turn. Only thing better than a good taco is a free taco and these are loaded with enough meat to make 8 tacos. The cookie at the end is a nice touch.

I would play again if I am in the area and got a hot deal. Would not necessarily drive out of my way to play this course.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thank you for the wonderful review. Very nice to read your nice comments about Rams Hill. The tacos are epic and something we get great comments about all the time and they never get old. Come back again soon.
Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 8
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thanks for the nice 5 Star review and your recommendation. I hope you come back again soon.
Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 2
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thank you very much for the 5 Star review. I hope you return to Rams Hill again soon.
Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thanks so much for the great review and recommendation. I hope to see you again soon at Rams Hill.
Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Near Mystical Experience

Enchanting day.
Weather great wind perfect.
Layout outstanding.
Only negative range balls not clean.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 9
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Hidden Gem in Middle of Nowhere!

Course had a few rough spots, but the layout is as good as the PGA West courses. Played gold tees and had a lot of 180-210 yard shots into the greens. A good challenge, but nothing impossible. Greens are multi tiered, but so wide that you can’t really short side yourself. Tee shots required precision as there were lots of strategic fairway bunkers. Fun course, but out of the way for most people. Still think it’s worth the price (and travel)!

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thanks so much for the nice review and comments. Your recommendation of Rams Hill is appreciated. I hope your will come back again soon.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 34
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thank you so much for the nice 5star review. I hope you join us again soon at Rams Hill.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great course

Played Rams Hill for first time: exceeded high expectations. Very relaxed but efficient service on arrival. Excellent practice facilities with ProV1 ballls.
Course has been set up beautifully by Tom Fazio with challenges for higher and lower handicap players.
Course was in excellent condition when we visited in December. Tees and fairways were great to play from. Bunkers were properly filled and properly raked by green staff. Greens were well contoured with plenty of challenging pin positions and the playing surface was true, consistent and fast.
Complete your visit with a couple of glasses of the Rams Hill Golden Ale.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

So very glad to hear that we exceeded your high expectations. I hope to see you again soon and thanks for the very nice comments and review.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thanks for the great review. I'm very glad you enjoyed your experience at Rams Hill. Please come back again soon.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the drive

Course was recommended by a friend and Amazing as described. Staff was great and course and greens were in Great condition. Will definitely be back soon and bring my Son to play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

Thank you very much for your nice comments and great review.

I hope to see you at Ram Hill again soon.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played

Five hour round

Pace of play is horrible. Few fairways need work.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

u748930068,

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We never like to hear about 5 hour rounds and they are rare at Rams Hill but do happen on occasion. The tacos at the RamsShack are very popular but the stop or in some cases two stops for them do add a few minutes to the round. Hopefully when the round seems long you can enjoy the views and serenity of Rams Hill. I hope to see you back soon and we will always do our best to provide a great experience and do it under 5 hrs.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 4
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Best staff, great layout that never gets old

The entire staff from the pro-shop, greeters, grounds keepers, starters, ram shack folks and everyone else all make for the best experience imaginable. When it comes to the track and its surroundings, every hole has its own personality, challenge and pristine view. Course conditions are good have improved since last season. Its a must play course!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 01/20/2023

u314159598524,

Thanks for the very nice review. Your review and recommendation are appreciated very much. I hope to see you again soon.

Harry Turner
GM/COO
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 7
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Lovely Course, Perfect time of Year

Folks who stopped for tacos pushed in front of us and were very rude and aggressive. We were already waiting 5 minutes for the group in front of us to tee off.

Really put a negative spin on our experience. There need to be some guidelines on proper etiquette if one pulls out of sequence for tacos.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 12/24/2022

Jim thanks for the nice review and the recommendation for the course. Sorry for the incident at the Rams Shack with the tacos. We recognize that it can add a couple minutes to the round, but they are so darn good we can't give them up. Hope to see you again soon.

Harry Turner
COO/GM
Rams Hill

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Pace Of Play Was Simply Horrific

Have been playing here for over 10 years and has always been good in terms of pace of play - this time, it was horrific and they simply could not marshall the course. +5 hour round, groups thinking they were PGA players ligning up 6 inch puts, people teeing off brom tee boxes they had no business playing, etc. The really disapointing part was that the staff simply didn't seem to take it seriously. Really going to have to think about going back here if this is the new management style.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Borrego Springs, California
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Borrego Springs, California
Public
4.0833333333
4
Borrego Springs, California
Private
4.3333
21
Warner Springs, California
Resort
1.2605058824
101
Golf Packages
FROM $177 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 4 nights' accommodations at La Quinta Resort & Club and 4 rounds of golf at Stadium and Nicklaus Tournament Courses at PGA WEST, and Indian Wells Celebrity Course and Players Courses.
FROM $197 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at La Quinta Resort & Club and 6 rounds of golf at Westin Mission Hills - Pete Dye Course, Mission Hills North - Gary Player Signature Course, Indian Wells Resort courses, PGA WEST Pete Dye Mountain Course, and PGA WEST Pete Dye Dunes Course
FROM $167 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at either Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa or Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells, and 2 rounds of golf at Indian Wells Golf Resort - Celebrity & Players Courses.
FROM $167 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at either Miramonte Indian Wells Resort & Spa or Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells, and 2 rounds of golf at Indian Wells Golf Resort - Celebrity & Players Courses.
FROM $197 (USD)
PALM SPRINGS, CA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Westin Rancho Mirage and 3 rounds of golf at Westin Rancho Mirage - Pete Dye Course, Mission Hills North - Gary Player Signature Course, and Indian Wells Resort.
Now Reading