Lanier Islands Legacy Golf Course in Buford, Georgia, USA | GolfPass
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
445 Reviews (445)
5 Stars
325
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
7
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
4.8
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.7
93.1%
Recommend this course
415 out of 445 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
62 Reviews (62)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.3
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.8
90.3%
Recommend this course
56 out of 62 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
92 Reviews (92)
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.3
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.8
92.4%
Recommend this course
85 out of 92 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6580 yards
Slope 141
Rating 72.7
Book a Tee Time at
Lanier Islands Legacy Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 2009
Greens MiniVerde Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Billy Fuller (2009)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire

Accolades

Reviews

4.7
445 Reviews (445)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Watching the Game 13
Drinks 12
Patio Dining 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 24
Forced Carries 21
Elevation Changes 18
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 22
Entertaining Clients 20
Advanced Golfers 19
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 20
At a Resort 14
In the 'Burbs 13

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Nice place to play

Enjoyed a great round. Staff did a great job as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 5
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

fantastic place

Fantastic place with astonishing view and holes to play.The staff is really great and always try to help.
A place to visit and come back

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 9
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 12
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great views of Lake Lanier.

Would like to play again when it’s not cartpath only. Beautiful layout. Lots of bunkers/water, bring your A game!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not worth for $70+

Paid over $70 for this course and we went there with high expectations. While they provide free food, soft drinks, and range balls, we were disappointed with the course. Many tee boxes had bald spots, uneven surfaces, and hard. Greens were slow with longer usual cuts, and fairways were not that great. I think the most of green fee was for views around the lake. I would rather play at Reunion or Chicopee with much less damage on my wallet and in my opinion, those course are in better condition. I would not play for $70+.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great experience

Course was tough but fun. Staff was amazing!! Definitely will be back

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Review

Played it on Memorial Day. Played 18 in 4 hours. Course was in great shape. Hard course. Will definitely come back .

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Price versus worth

It was upsetting that the GPS didn’t work in either cart and they didn’t do anything about it. The complimentary sandwiches were not anything worth it. I would have rather paid less for golf and bought sandwiches.

For $265 for 2 people the equipment should work and the advertised sandwiches should be actual sandwiches.

Good course but not worth the money.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/25/2022

Thank you for the review. Most feedback on the complimentary food and beverage we offer such as 6 different kinds of blimpie sandwiches, nathan's famous hot dogs on vienna buns, assorted chips, muffins, danish pastries bagels, sausage egg and cheese biscuits made freshly at our Legacy Lodge, assorted fruit juices, bottled water and a range of other items is generally positive. Our golf rates are set dynamically based on demand and the food and beverage is not a factor in determining price.
We hope you will give the course another try again and thanks for the feedback.
Regards,
Legacy Golf Pro Staff

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
First Time Playing

Great Views but Nothing Else.

Great scenery but it is a joke otherwise.

$120 to play which is fine, but an executive muni course would be embarrassed to be in that bad of shape.

No rangers. 5 hours to play.

4 different carts and none of them had GPS that worked. Every single hole asked me if I was on hole 3.

Just not good. Go someplace else! It

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 04/23/2022

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately our Tagmarshal GPS system was entirely down today. The company is still working on a fix so apologies for that. Also sorry to hear the course conditions were not the standard you were expecting. Please email our.Head Golf Professional as we genuinely would like to hear more specific details about the course conditions you were not happy about. We did have ranger staff today but it's a very busy day with lots of players that have not played the golf course before. We strive for a maximum of 4:30 but sometimes we do see 5 hour rounds at the weekend.
Thanks again for the honest feedback.
Regards,
Gary Clarkson
PGA Head Golf Professional
gclarkson@lanierislands.com

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Lanier Island Golf Course - brilliant

Our day started by having to kit ourselves in new golf gear due to the airline delaying our luggage. The staff in the pro shop were absolutely superb, took time with us, showed us where everything was and took good care of us.

We then headed out to the range, hit a few balls, couple chunks, thins and a few lucky shots off the middle. Tony the starter again took care of us and made sure we kept to time and showed us on our way.

Course is brilliant fun, greens roll so nice. Hole 1-3 are a tough intro but chance to get a score, three can be a drive 5he green shot, although might need to load up on the golf balls.

Setting is incredible, the views are absolutely stunning and the atmosphere generated by the staff makes you enjoy your day.

Staff are good at monitoring the speed of play to try ensure everyone enjoys their day.

Coming from the home of golf, this place is great fun, tests your game but you can get a score. Would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Well done and thanks for making us welcome

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Stunning from tee to green

Was in the greater Atlanta area the last month and played Lanier Islands twice. This course is amazing from tee to green and the entire staff was warm and welcoming. I could not be happier with how well I was treated. If you are in the area, play this course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 7
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

A Gem near Atlanta

Great golf course. Really nice layout. An all inclusive plan with food and beverage. Great staff. Really enjoyed to play here and I will comeback when I’m back near Atlanta.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great day of golf

Look forward to coming back when the grass is growing. Love to come out for a few days and do a stay and play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Public/Municipal
3.7444941176
1038
Cumming, Georgia
Private
1.8571428571
12
Suwanee, Georgia
Public
4.0968941176
698
Suwanee, Georgia
Private
3.1429
7
Cumming, Georgia
Semi-Private
3.8848588235
566
Cumming, Georgia
Public
4.3380411765
1014
Suwanee, Georgia
Private
1.7619142857
7
Suwanee, Georgia
Private
4.6571428571
7
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Semi-Private
4.2417411765
646
Hoschton, Georgia
Public
4.2789647059
945
Dacula, Georgia
Private
4.6274470588
9
Gainesville, Georgia
Public
4.4581529412
1261
Golf Packages
FROM $267 (USD)
BRASELTON, GA | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at Château Élan Winery & Resort (Inn at Château or Villas at Château) and 3 rounds of golf at Château Élan Golf Club - Château, Woodlands, & Executive Courses.
FROM $227 (USD)
ASHEVILLE, NC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations and 1 round of golf at Maggie Valley Club & Resort.
FROM $197 (USD)
GADSDEN, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Hampton Inn - Gadsden and 3 rounds of golf at Silver Lakes Golf Club - Championship & Short Courses.
FROM $217 (USD)
OPELIKA, AL | Enjoy 3 nights' accommodations at the Auburn Marriott Opelika Resort & Spa at Grand National and 3 rounds of golf at Grand National Golf Club - Lakes, Links, & Short Courses.
FROM $217 (USD)
TAMPA, FL | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Saddlebrook Resort and 3 rounds of golf at Saddlebrook Resort - Palmer or Saddlebrook Courses. Includes Preferred Golfer experience.
Now Reading