Thistle Golf Club - MacKay Course in Sunset Beach, North Carolina, USA | GolfPass
GolfPass Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.7
454 Reviews (454)
5 Stars
329
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
5
1 Stars
11
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.6
96.6%
Recommend this course
431 out of 454 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
56 Reviews (56)
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
4.6
94.6%
Recommend this course
53 out of 56 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.7
116 Reviews (116)
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.7
96.6%
Recommend this course
112 out of 116 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 9
Type Public
Par 36
Length 3547 yards
Slope N/A
Rating N/A
Book a Tee Time at
Thistle Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens TifEagle Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Tim Cate (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Food & Beverage

Bar

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

Reviews

4.7
454 Reviews (454)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 17
Patio Dining 12
19th Hole Scenic Views 11
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 26
Water Hazards 26
Forced Carries 25
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 21
Locals 19
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 15
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 26
Convenient to the City 6
In the 'Burbs 6

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course in great condition!

The facilities are top notch and there is no shortage of helpful “old golf guys in purple shirts” hanging around to assist you. The course was in great shape. Tee boxes were well groomed. Fairways were in great shape, never had a bad lie. The greens rolled true and the speed was perfect for my game. I’d play here four times a week if I had the time and money. No regrets choosing this track.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 6
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great resort course. Excellent conditionsz. Generally wide open for driving but challenging approach shots

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/12/2022

Hello, u092335306. Thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your round at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course. That's what we like to hear! We hope to see you again soon!

Played On
Reviews 15
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/12/2022

We love hearing about our golfers' experiences, u000005709722. Please tell us more about what you enjoyed during your round. Thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 15
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Awesome Course

Thistle is one of the nicest courses in Brunswick County. It seems a little pricy to me considering some of the courses around it are almost as nice and in as good a shape and are appropriately priced. With that being said the layout, Tee Boxes, Fairways & Greens were terrific. Pace of play was great. Bag-Drop personnel, Starter and Pro shop personnel were top notch. Will definitely be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/10/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, u000005709722! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/03/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, u000001132562! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 08/01/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, chrisstetler! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth it

Gorgeous course, thankfully came about 2.5 weeks after they aerated and the greens were great! Fast though! Only negative response I have was that we almost felt rushed to match their pace of play; even when the group ahead would still be on the green it would turn yellow as if it was our fault. Overall absolutely satisfied with my round! Hope to play again next summer.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/25/2022

Hello, Matt2352263. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the pristine course conditions. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it's very satisfying to hear from golfers like you who appreciate our efforts. We will inform the entire team so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/15/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, kcschneider2! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Second time this week, great course, great people

Played Stewart and then Mackay. Truly a fun course but a second time around reminded me how challenging the track is. But despite the challenge, something to respect is that regardless where your ball lies, you're not having to move it or alter your lie due to course conditions, even after 3" of rain in the last 2 days. I don't recall feeling any soft spots, even in the rough. A few select bunkers had standing water (perhaps 2 total), but all the ones I hit in did not have standing water and were well-playable. Greens, despite seeming to have been punched within the last week or two, were recovering incredibly well and were starting to roll at a level proportionate to the cost of the round. Would really love to play the course with greens dialed up for tournament play to truly appreciate the contours. Staff were friendly, pace was great. I think we finished our round in 4 hours or less, which is great for a 3 some all with mid to high handicappers. Fun to putt on bermuda having been used to bentgrass for a long time, especially immaculate bermuda. I'll be back again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/14/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, u5770608! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Used cart

Great Course, Rude Staff

Awesome course layout. Greens were either aerated or not cut/rolled that day, which made putting almost a waste of time. Bunkers are fun, most tee boxes in good shape except those in the shade. Staff was as rude as others had indicated. Standing in the area of the bag drop it was confusing when I was supposed to get in a golf cart and one person in particular yelled at me for taking a cart to the marshall, which admittedly I did do but only after being 15 minutes late on my tee time and nobody having given me instructions on how to start my round. Chipping area was very cheap. Driving range was trying to be fantastic but I'm guessing this place gets used and abused all the time. Anyway, remove the rude staff, and put more time into the driving range and chipping area (perhaps half as much attention as they did into the practice putting area), and you have an amazing course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/11/2022

Hi, u5770608. We appreciate you taking the time to review the course and rate us. We are sorry to hear your experience was not up to par. We understand that folks often have a difficult time understanding a triple tee with 27 holes and are not used to receiving services such as staff loading bags when it’s their time to be loaded. It’s especially challenging when you have groups as they are used to all jumping on their carts and heading to their tee. We are working on the best ways to communicate this to our guests as they arrive. Thanks for playing and we hope you'll give us another try in the future.

Played On
Reviews 5
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Fantastic

Even after a tropical storm had dumped lots of rain the days prior the course was still in great shape. Kudos to the maintenance staff. Other courses within a couple miles were horrible.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/12/2022

Hello, Achoplin. We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the course conditions. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it's very satisfying to hear from golfers like you who appreciate our efforts. We will inform the entire team so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 23
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Can’t wait to come back

Amazing course. Truly a great track. Wish I could have done all 3 courses!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 07/07/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, u544360663! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Tough but fair

Excellent course in prime condition. It’s a difficult test with a lot of water and forced carries. My guess is that older golfers with less than 180 off the tee may not enjoy it so much. But great staff and good value otherwise.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/22/2022

Thank you for taking the time to review us, u314162921943. Your feedback is valuable, and we look forward to delivering you excellent service again soon. Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course thanks you!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Never going back

Just played here Saturday for Father’s Day with my dad. They paired us up with another nice Tucson father and son the dad was 80 years old. Now I’ve played this course five times, and this was the most expensive round by far at 120$ a man. I don’t mind paying extra for this course because it is kind of the nicest courses in the area. The reason I’m giving it a one star review, and never going back is the way we were treated by the Rangers on the opening nine. After the second hole we were told to pick up our pace, no big deal. After the fourth hole we were told again to pick up our pace. In the middle of the fairway on the 5th hole we were told for a third time that we needed to play faster because the group ahead of us was now opening up an entire hole. When I told the Ranger that the group behind us hasn’t had to wait all day, he said that didn’t matter because we were backing up the rest of the course. After we finished the seventh hole the Ranger came up to us again and said if we didn’t pick up our pace that we would have to skip nine and play it again at the end of the round. We ended up playing the front nine in two hours and 15 minutes and the entire round in four hours and 30 minutes. If you’ve ever played golf in the Myrtle Beach area in the middle of the summer when it’s 90° outside you know that a 4 1/2 hour round is a rare blessing. Imagine how much faster we could have played if we hadn’t been told to speed up on four separate occasions in the span of seven holes. there is absolutely no excuse for that Ranger to abuse his power and ruin our day of golf. When you pay 120$/man for a round of golf you want to enjoy your time on the course, not be harassed by the staff. My father and I, and the two men they paired us with will NEVER go back to Thistle.

Conditions Excellent
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/28/2022

We apologize that you did not have a great experience at Thistle Golf Club. Unfortunately, we had to address the pace of play very early due to complaints from groups behind noticing the open holes in front of you and our GPS notifying us of the backup. We never have had to make any group skip a hole; it was offered that if the pace was not corrected you could play the hole after finishing the 18th. We thank you for taking the time for your feedback and we encourage you to contact the Head Professional as how we could have handled the situation better. Thank you again and we will work on a better experience using your feedback as guidance.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not for Casual Players

My brothers and dad were here for vacation and wanted a relaxing round of golf. Unfortunately we did not get that. First off the address on the app took us to the wrong place about 10 minutes down the road. When we told the course we were gonna just make it on time the starter met us with hostility instead of understanding. We had a group of three and two and we’re told if we were anywhere near each other the ranger would immediately kick us off the course. We were told the rules differently by almost every member of staff. We were interrupted about 5 times throughout our round with a new staff member telling us something different about us all wanting to play. No one was consistent. Except for an unpleasant attitude. We overheard staff mentioning “they haven’t done anything yet so we can’t kick them out” as if they were looking for a reason to get rid of us. It’s unfortunate because the course was nice. Wish the staff would match.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Stewart Course

The course was fair and challenging. Need to play it a couple of times to have a better understanding of the course.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/09/2022

Your feedback is important to us, CTMilGolf. Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience. We look forward to seeing you again at the course soon! Thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

Best Ive played in MB

5 Star everything. The staff was very friendly. The cart attendant from London, UK could not have worked harder to get us out just as a shotgun came in. The starter was polite, hilarious, and obviously loved his job. The course ws in great condition, very scenic, and tough but fair. Best golf experience I have had in MB area!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2022

Hi, Scott2631691. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very enjoyable

Course in great shape. Bag staff very helpful for first time players

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 06/14/2022

Thank you for your review, rCMPzdPHE6I81MiendIC. We will pass along your positive experience to our team at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/31/2022

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, ERIC4475165! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course!

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

A high bar for resort golf

From the moment you pull into the entrance at Thistle you know it was worth the price of admission (probably even more) A gorgeous drive seeing some of what the course has to offer and it’s pristine fairways, bunkers, and greens line the path to an incredible clubhouse and restaurant. A convenient club drop and incredibly friendly and helpful staff from curb to curb will make this one of the best rounds you will play all year. The practice facilities are top notch and well thought out. The courses are well designed, well maintained, well thought out and executed. From someone who has made the mistake of taking the bargain round and being disappointed… don’t. Just don’t. Play here. In an area where you can hit a mid iron and land on a golf course, Thistle soars above the rest. They set the bar high for Resort Golf.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Avatar
Commented on 05/27/2022

Wow! We are so happy you enjoyed your round, mouk411! We look forward to seeing you again soon at Thistle Golf Club - Cameron Course.

Nearby Courses
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.6992058824
454
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.6992058824
454
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.2856647059
450
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.2856647059
450
Calabash, North Carolina
Semi-Private
2.2669058824
442
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
3.6122823529
92
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.2856647059
450
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Resort
4.0663588235
288
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Resort
3.6427352941
272
Calabash, North Carolina
Public
3.887
33
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.3446882353
924
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Public
4.3446882353
924
Golf Packages
FROM $267 (USD)
ISLE OF PALMS, SC | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodation in a Oceanside condo at Wild Dunes Resort and play 3 rounds of golf at Links Course and Harbor Course.
FROM $167 (USD)
CHARLESTON, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations at The Francis Marion Hotel and play 4 rounds of golf at the Links at Stono Ferry, Dunes West GC, Charleston National Country Club & Rivertowne Country Club.
FROM $177 (USD)
KIAWAH ISLAND, SC | Enjoy 5 nights' accommodations in a Resort Class Villa at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and play 4 rounds of golf at Osprey Point, Turtle Point, Cougar Point and Ocean Course.
FROM $237 (USD)
HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC | Enjoy up to 5 nights' accommodations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa and and up to 4 rounds of golf at Palmetto Dunes Golf Club (Fazio, Hills & Jones Courses) and the Country Club of Hilton Head.
FROM $247 (USD)
WILLIAMSBURG, VA | Enjoy 2 nights' accommodations at Kingsmill Resort and 2 rounds of golf at Kingsmill Resort - Plantation & River Courses.
Now Reading